We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place for oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marshall Store

The Marshall Store
19225 State Route 1, Marshall, CA 94940
(415) 663-1339
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Although there are plenty of places to eat in Point Reyes Station, we prefer to head a little further out of town and guzzle oysters at the The Marshall Store . This is a roadside spot serving fantastic oysters, crab, mussels and loads of other delicious things like their fabulous clam chowder. This is not a fancy restaurant so if you’re looking for that experience, this isn’t the place for you. If you want to eat amazingly fresh, magnificent oysters and seafood this is the place. You can buy a bottle of wine to enjoy with your oysters, then sit out on the roadside benches with other seafood lovers, taking in the tranquility of the bay and feeling extremely grateful for the life you are living. We love this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    47
    24
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Totnes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious seafood chowder and heavenly views...also great place to buy delicious sour dough bread, local cheeses and win”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved the laid back relaxed vibe and the top quality of the food. The seafood chowder was out of this world and we loved sitting sipping our drinks on the back deck and watching the sea otters playing on the rocks below

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

You can't get oysters fresher than this! They have an oyster farm. I love dives. This place isn't fancy, but the food is great and the road side bar is better. Grab a big bottle of beer and some oysters. Head outside and sit at the bar. Just enjoy the view of the water and the eceltic mix of people that flock here. Its a place for out of towners and locals alike.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BBQ Clams and Clam Chowder Overlooking Tamales Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stopped at the Marshall Store since it was listed in the book "RoadFood" by Jane and Michael Stern. We ordered six BBQ clams which were served with sourdough bread. We also shared a large cup of clam chowder. We sat overlooking Tamales Bay with the sound of lapping waves and a view of docked sailboats. It was a very pleasant lunch. It is definitely worth a stop on our next trip up the California coast.

The restrooms were a series of porta-potties. But they did include a washing station controlled by a foot pedal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Awesome Oysters....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I love the Marshall Store for Oysters. I have been there twice now, had oysters and chowder. The raw oysters were great but I totally fell in love with their BBQed oysters. My hubby ordered a steak sandwich once- it wasn't all that great, a little on the greasy side (u can get that anywhere, we came for oysters). They sell wine & beer for consumption outside. They have a decent selection. Bring a wine opener and your own cups or glasses, this place is simple not fancy. For 2 dozen oysters, 1 large chowder, 1 beer and 1 soda we spent $77.75. Cash only but they have an ATM.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marshall Store also viewed

 

Been to The Marshall Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marshall Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.