We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodfords Inn

Woodfords Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Markleeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodfords Inn
20960 State Route 89, Markleeville, CA 96120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Markleeville
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is a great value! It is clean, friendly, and a stunning view. The owner even gave us wood for a bonfire so the kids could have more of a camping style experience. There is a bit of road noise but it is not too bad. Also, we appreciated the free wifi.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was very surprised at how clean and comfortable the place was. Our room was ready when we arrived and they even had a small refrigerator placed in our room as per our request. Everyone was very nice. I would not hesitate for a moment to stay here again. Yes indeed, a very nice place!

Room Tip: Noticed the WI-FI range extender was in room 5 so that might be the best room for optimized interne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Made a trip up to Markleeville last year and stayed here while under different owners. At that time the owners were remodeling the rooms, bathrooms and sprucing up the motel. This past weekend I made a trip back up to train for the Death Ride with a group. The rooms are nicely updated with new carpets, paint, furniture and baths with granite vanities. While our group received a great room rate, my room was lacking a few amenities such as a television and coffee maker that were in some of the rooms my friends occupied. There is a microwave and some coffee and tea available near the front desk, but would have been nice to have available in the room. There is a freezer locker underneath the stairwell, but would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room for drinks or leftovers from dinner. The wifi worked well for about the first hour of arriving, but was pretty much useless for the remainder of the weekend. My carrier, AT&T was spotty on both cell and data at the location, so pretty much needed to go into town to check emails from the library or one of the local cafes. I plan to come back up for more cycling and fishing in a few weeks and will probably stay here again, but hope to get a room with a television and have the wifi functioning.

Room Tip: If you want a television make sure to ask for a room with one, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first time visiting Woodfords Inn. The rooms have been nicely remodeled - flat screen TVs and the wifi is good. Small refrigerators are available just ask Ron the owner or his wife. They are very accommodating. The rooms are reasonable, just under $100. Located 6 miles from Markleeville.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a great place we stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. The people who run the inn are very friendly. The rooms have been nicely remodeled and are very clean. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise no tub but a big shower. In room coffee maker and the office has a microwave you can use. I have at&t cell phone service and was able to get about 2 bars worth of cell reception. If you ask they do have wi-fi but it doesn't always work. Markleeville and Grover Hot Springs state park is about 6 miles down the road. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

After trying to book in the area for a getaway and no vacancy available for our date,It was recommended to give Ron a call at Woodfords Inn. He booked us immediately for the weekend and the room rates were very affordable! A friendly greeting when we pulled up to check in,and after seeing 4 ladies with all our suitcases, offered to set us up with a connecting room ! Newly remodeled, Clean and quiet, central to which ever direction you want to explore in the area, I will be staying there again when I am up that way : )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My girlfriends and I spent two nights recently at the Woodfords inn. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. All of the rooms are newly remodeled and very clean. Beautiful mountain views and comfortable beds. Exceptional value! Would stay again in a hot minute!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodfords Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodfords Inn

Address: 20960 State Route 89, Markleeville, CA 96120
Location: United States > California > Markleeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Markleeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the historic Woodfords Inn located in beautiful Alpine County home to a wide variety of recreation and fun. The Woodford Inn is centrally located with access to all of Alpine County's mountain passes including Ebbits, Monitor, Carson and Luther pass putting you right in the middle of your vacation fun. Whether its fishing, road biking, mountain biking, Nordic and downhill skiing or snowmobiling make the Woodford Inn your base camp for fun and adventure. The Inn is located at the junction of Highway 88 and Highway 89 overlooking the Carson Valley in relaxed setting in beautiful Alpine County. We have 20 rooms and all have been reconditioned from top to bottom including new decor, furnishings and flat screen TVs so when you're not out playing you can be relaxing. Join us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodfords Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Woodfords Inn to your Saves list