We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, bright” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Bay Area, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, bright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The rooms were clean and the bedding comfortable. The bottom sheets were actually fitted which I thought was a real plus.

One of the reasons we booked this motel for our stay is that it is pet friendly and we travel with a dog and a cat. There were a lot of other people checking in with dogs as well; and, as people came in for the night, there was a reasonable amount of barking in the parking lot. However, we did not hear one yip from any critters in any other rooms!

In short the rooms were extremely quiet. We heard no voices, televisions or pet noise from our fellow travelers (Communist or not).

The complimentary breakfast was adequate. I always love to get to make my own Belgian waffle anyway: So I was happy.

The one draw-back was the room lighting. The overhead canister lights were designed with incandescent soft floods in mind. They have been replaced with those @#$!ing money-saving, environmentally-conscious, glaring fluorescent "pigtails". These get into the edges of your vision and leave little yellow spots floating about. Still, this is a minor problem that was solved by only using the bedside and wall lamps.

Oh yes, the pool and spa were well maintained and clean. Since I am responsible for the upkeep on a commercial spa and pool myself, this is something I really appreciate. Good Job, guys!

Well... hope this review helps others seeking a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    221
    153
    48
    24
See reviews for
171
221
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

When we booked this hotel, we didn't think it was so far from Yosemite national park.
But ti was not so expensive in relation to the hotel in the park...so I advise this hotel if you don't want to spend too much money.
Breakfast included.
There is also a pool.
Confortable and clean room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
1,069 helpful votes 1,069 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed 1 night before entering the Yosemite NP. Hotel is actually a motel-style Best Western, with limited services, but with pool, free parking and free wifi. No lift to go to our room on the back.
The room 332 was given to us and it was not bright, quite dark. Cleanliness was just ok. There was no fridge and aircon was noisy. Bed ok.
Price paid was 160 USD in July which was quite high for the quality of the hotel. But there's only limited choice in Mariposa.

We didn't try breakfast as the room was fully packed from 7am. We just crossed the street and eat at the Pizza place (where they serve goog breakfast).

For dinner, we ate at the Charles Street Diner restaurant and it was great.

Hotel is about 1 hour drive from Southern entrance of the park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Nice to walk downtown. Room smelled. Bedding nice. Pool really small. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Here is the good news: Mariposa is a great little town located in about 45 minutes to an hour from Yosemite with lots of great little shops and restaurants. We wanted to stay in Yosemity but everything was booked up, and the hotels / cabins / motels closer to the park in Midpines and El Portal were fully booked. So we ended up getting a night at the Best Western Yosemite Way Station.

I would have to say that most things about this hotel are average. Our room was good sized, bathroom was okay, but nothing was truly nice about it. Old TV, stained carpets, and an okay breakfast with weak coffee awaits those who stay there, and the broken ice machine has a warning not to fill your ice chest, even though there are no fridges in the room. Not exactly first class in my book.

So when you add it all up, we paid $160 with taxes to stay at what is a distinctly average BW a fairly long distance from the park. We don't feel ripped off, and we are not elated with the value, either.

Next time through town we'll give the Super 8 a chance, its just up the road and tends to have better value rooms. Since there isn't anything particularly special about this place, we don't really feel the need to come back especially given that it is fairly pricey being so far from the park.

And for some reason, the place is crawling with Europeans. Now i know Yosemite is a really big attraction for people visiting the area, but the fact there were so many there made me think that perhaps it owes its existence to tours and aggressive booking overseas. No matter... I think next time we'll try one of the other motels in town and see just what you can get for $150 bucks in Mariposa!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite National Park. The hotel is about 1 hour from the valley floor of Yosemite and it is a beautiful, scenic drive. This Best Western has been recently renovated, but it seems the renovation was completed hastily and rather shoddily. The bathroom in our room was not completely painted and when my husband went to put the chain on the door it fell off in his hand. Outside of our room in the breezeway there was a pile of closet racks. The décor of the room was pleasing and the bedding was comfy. My family enjoyed the pool and hot tub. In the morning, there was a fairly average hotel breakfast. Like previous reviewers mentioned the in room coffee was horrible!!! The second morning we put 2 coffee filter packs in and this tasted better than one. The staff was friendly and helpful and brought extra towels to our room when we requested them. This was a decent hotel but I have stayed at better Best Western hotels

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exile in Utah
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

After a very long drive through the UT/NV/CA desert areas and then a beautiful ride through Yosemite we were ready for a good night's rest. We found it at the Mariposa Best Western. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and found a good clean, and pet-friendly, room. We enjoyed a walk with our dogs along the creek parkway before going to bed for the night. Very quiet and a good night's rest! The continental breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Address: 4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.