We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather pricey given its so far away from the park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Cupertino, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Rather pricey given its so far away from the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Here is the good news: Mariposa is a great little town located in about 45 minutes to an hour from Yosemite with lots of great little shops and restaurants. We wanted to stay in Yosemity but everything was booked up, and the hotels / cabins / motels closer to the park in Midpines and El Portal were fully booked. So we ended up getting a night at the Best Western Yosemite Way Station.

I would have to say that most things about this hotel are average. Our room was good sized, bathroom was okay, but nothing was truly nice about it. Old TV, stained carpets, and an okay breakfast with weak coffee awaits those who stay there, and the broken ice machine has a warning not to fill your ice chest, even though there are no fridges in the room. Not exactly first class in my book.

So when you add it all up, we paid $160 with taxes to stay at what is a distinctly average BW a fairly long distance from the park. We don't feel ripped off, and we are not elated with the value, either.

Next time through town we'll give the Super 8 a chance, its just up the road and tends to have better value rooms. Since there isn't anything particularly special about this place, we don't really feel the need to come back especially given that it is fairly pricey being so far from the park.

And for some reason, the place is crawling with Europeans. Now i know Yosemite is a really big attraction for people visiting the area, but the fact there were so many there made me think that perhaps it owes its existence to tours and aggressive booking overseas. No matter... I think next time we'll try one of the other motels in town and see just what you can get for $150 bucks in Mariposa!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    221
    153
    48
    24
See reviews for
171
221
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite National Park. The hotel is about 1 hour from the valley floor of Yosemite and it is a beautiful, scenic drive. This Best Western has been recently renovated, but it seems the renovation was completed hastily and rather shoddily. The bathroom in our room was not completely painted and when my husband went to put the chain on the door it fell off in his hand. Outside of our room in the breezeway there was a pile of closet racks. The décor of the room was pleasing and the bedding was comfy. My family enjoyed the pool and hot tub. In the morning, there was a fairly average hotel breakfast. Like previous reviewers mentioned the in room coffee was horrible!!! The second morning we put 2 coffee filter packs in and this tasted better than one. The staff was friendly and helpful and brought extra towels to our room when we requested them. This was a decent hotel but I have stayed at better Best Western hotels

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exile in Utah
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

After a very long drive through the UT/NV/CA desert areas and then a beautiful ride through Yosemite we were ready for a good night's rest. We found it at the Mariposa Best Western. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and found a good clean, and pet-friendly, room. We enjoyed a walk with our dogs along the creek parkway before going to bed for the night. Very quiet and a good night's rest! The continental breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed here in June, and perhaps that was why the price was $150 a night with the tax. The place is pretty basic for that amount of money, and that was a special internet rate. There is no refrigerator in the room, and the rooms are accessed by an outside door. If you request first floor access, your second floor room requires no stairs if you park in the back and use the breezeway. Having the hotel on a hillside makes that an easy fix. On the upside, the room was extremely clean, and the staff was very cordial. The coffee provided is THE WORST, both the room coffee and the coffee provided in the free breakfast. No hot food at breakfast, and a toaster that didn't work made me sorry I didn't find another spot for breakfast. Dinner at Savouries was elegant/upscale... right off the main street in this charming little town. The 45 minute drive to the El Portal entrance to Yosemite was extended by a 15 minute wait at a detour set up because of a rock landslide across the road next to the beautiful Merced River. An hour away from Yosemite is really too far to drive if you are visiting for more than a day. It looks as though this landslide will not be fixed for a long time....just add in a 15 minute wait at the detour light both coming and going between Yosemite and Mariposa.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Maybe not the most luxurious of places but this little Best Western made up for it in genuine hospitality and great value. On your way to Yosemite this is a perfect location because it is less than an hour to the La Porta gate and to the Southern Gate nr. mariposa grove - - the little town it is in Mariposa is attractive with its own goldmining history and some good food - especially the Smith Street Dinner Restaurant and good breakfasts at the Sugar Pine. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is our second stay at this Best Western. First time was in Jan 2009. Both times we were on our way to Yosemite, stopping in Mariposa to visit friends. Since our first visit, the room has been updated with nice touches.
The rooms are large with comfortable beds, there are coffee makers in the rooms, ( coffee packets are provided, however we travel with our own coffee and coffee filters). Our room was freshly painted and carpeted as well as a new shower curtain and bedspreads. There was a round table with 2 comfortable chairs,( if you felt like eating in your room or playing cards). The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean.
We faced the road, there was a bit of road noise, I would recommend a room in the back of the hotel.
Breakfast consisted of cold cereals, make your own waffle, hard boiled eggs, apples, toast, english muffins, sweet rolls, juices and especially weak coffee.
The front office has a computer for guest use.
Everyone who works at this hotel is especially nice. Actually the people of Mariposa all seem to be friendly.
The hotel is dog friendly. Special rooms are set aside for those who bring their furry friends along on their holidays. (No need for those who are allergic to animials to worry.)

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
2,442 reviews 2,442 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 447 cities Reviews in 447 cities
1,405 helpful votes 1,405 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Best Western.

First, I must admit the person who wrote about the stairs in the disabled post below is incorrect. These stairs in the photo are not the ones that you use to go to your room. There are many first floor rooms - if you need one, let the hotel know when you book. If not, there is a short stair case to the rooms on the 2nd floor. We had one on the 2nd floor and it was quite easy to get our luggage to and from the car.

The room we had was a corner room with two nice windows. The room itself had a comfortable couch and bed, table, dresser, TV. Perfectly fine for a one night stay. The one thing I would suggest however is to add a chair in the room as it makes it easier to do work and also to use the computer. The table had no chairs - and there were none in the room.

The location is good to get to town for several restaurants. Continental breakfast at the hotel was good - make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, bakery goods, juice, coffee, and more. Large room by the outdoor swimming pool and spa area.

Price to value for the room was excellent. Two miles from the California Mining Museum.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Address: 4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.