We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable rates.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable rates.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a good place in proximity to Yosemite's western entrance. The clerk was friendly and helpful, and gave us a good recommendation for dinner. Our king bed room are quite roomy, the bed was comfortable enough, and it was clean. We thought since it was right on the main road into or out of town it might be noisy, but by night time it was quiet enough that we were not distrubed. There is a pool and hot tub and a breakfast room. The breakfast was mediocre, but enough to get you started for the day. We always bring our own coffee and brew it in the room, so can't comment on the coffee quality. The rates are reasonable and it is only about 27 miles from hotel to Yosemite. It's a convenient, no frills palce, but clean and adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    206
    139
    44
    22
See reviews for
149
210
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is what it is. It'a a basic cheap motel on the edge of Yosemite. We had to stay here because the tent at Curry Camp was too dirty to stay and we had to find a nearby alternative. It was friendly enough but the rooms are rather 1970's and the aircon is noisy. It is located in a bit of a ghost town but having said that, we did find a reasonable bar nearby and luckily we found a great restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

All in all a good place to stay while visiting the area. The staff is nice and the rooms clean and modern. The breakfast is pretty good but the same every day, something you notice when staying multiple days. After listening to traffic noise on the front side I'd say try for a room on the backside in the 200s where there are no stairs to climb with luggage and quieter. For some odd reason our room didn't have a closet, just an ironing board leaning against the wall. A closet would have been very nice for that 5 day stay. They say everything is higher in the mountains and this place can be included in that saying with the room prices.

When there are milk crates in the back parking lot you can be sure a tour bus will be soon arriving sharing the hotel with you. Those folks are up early and in the breakfast room. It is large but can get crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are tons quieter and with no elevator the ground floor 200s are the ones to pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Do not recommend. The room had ants, the internet was unusable. The night manager blamed it on the owner being asleep. The next day when trying to solve the ant problem, the day manager lied and said the manager was out running errands. When we finally saw him, he apologized for oversleeping. For his part, he was nice (our car was broke down and he offered us a ride), but he didn't seem to have any clue about our issues with the room. We had a reservation for the second night, but cancelled. Oakhurst is neaby and has nicer accomodations--look there instead.

Room Tip: Go to Oakhurst--the Comfort Inn is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this motel. Very clean, comfortable and convenient to the park. The pool and hot tub were beautifully arranged with flora and fauna. The breakfast was very good and the staff was really accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a one night stay as it was on the way to Yosemite. This was not a good Best Western but the problems could easily be rectified.
The room was OK clean but had a musty smell and could do woth some re-decoration. Sound proofing was not good but bed was comfy.Had everything you need but old & worn.
The problems came around Reception, one rather stressed lady was left to answer the phones, take bookings and look after the amenities. As there was no local information sheets in the rooms, i.e. where to eat , how to operate the TV etc guests were ringing with questions as she was trying to book people in. She also had to deal with people ringing to make reservations which also kept the que of guests waiting. There was no way we could get complementary coffee as there were no cups & no one to get any. Small things that could so easily be put right with some organisation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the National Parks. The location was extremely good for our purposes. The room was fairly modern and clean. Minimal noise was noticed. The hotel staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was the same we've seen at all the Best Westerns except one. This is a large hotel for Best Western & we found the price somewhat higher than others we've stayed at.

Overall very good & we recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteFall, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for choosing our hotel. Price in our area is little high due to National Park location. So please forgive us for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Address: 4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.