We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Of The Mill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Run Of The Mill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is what it is. It'a a basic cheap motel on the edge of Yosemite. We had to stay here because the tent at Curry Camp was too dirty to stay and we had to find a nearby alternative. It was friendly enough but the rooms are rather 1970's and the aircon is noisy. It is located in a bit of a ghost town but having said that, we did find a reasonable bar nearby and luckily we found a great restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    150
    114
    38
    14
See reviews for
100
145
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

All in all a good place to stay while visiting the area. The staff is nice and the rooms clean and modern. The breakfast is pretty good but the same every day, something you notice when staying multiple days. After listening to traffic noise on the front side I'd say try for a room on the backside in the 200s where there are no stairs to climb with luggage and quieter. For some odd reason our room didn't have a closet, just an ironing board leaning against the wall. A closet would have been very nice for that 5 day stay. They say everything is higher in the mountains and this place can be included in that saying with the room prices.

When there are milk crates in the back parking lot you can be sure a tour bus will be soon arriving sharing the hotel with you. Those folks are up early and in the breakfast room. It is large but can get crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are tons quieter and with no elevator the ground floor 200s are the ones to pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Do not recommend. The room had ants, the internet was unusable. The night manager blamed it on the owner being asleep. The next day when trying to solve the ant problem, the day manager lied and said the manager was out running errands. When we finally saw him, he apologized for oversleeping. For his part, he was nice (our car was broke down and he offered us a ride), but he didn't seem to have any clue about our issues with the room. We had a reservation for the second night, but cancelled. Oakhurst is neaby and has nicer accomodations--look there instead.

Room Tip: Go to Oakhurst--the Comfort Inn is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this motel. Very clean, comfortable and convenient to the park. The pool and hot tub were beautifully arranged with flora and fauna. The breakfast was very good and the staff was really accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a one night stay as it was on the way to Yosemite. This was not a good Best Western but the problems could easily be rectified.
The room was OK clean but had a musty smell and could do woth some re-decoration. Sound proofing was not good but bed was comfy.Had everything you need but old & worn.
The problems came around Reception, one rather stressed lady was left to answer the phones, take bookings and look after the amenities. As there was no local information sheets in the rooms, i.e. where to eat , how to operate the TV etc guests were ringing with questions as she was trying to book people in. She also had to deal with people ringing to make reservations which also kept the que of guests waiting. There was no way we could get complementary coffee as there were no cups & no one to get any. Small things that could so easily be put right with some organisation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the National Parks. The location was extremely good for our purposes. The room was fairly modern and clean. Minimal noise was noticed. The hotel staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was the same we've seen at all the Best Westerns except one. This is a large hotel for Best Western & we found the price somewhat higher than others we've stayed at.

Overall very good & we recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteFall, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for choosing our hotel. Price in our area is little high due to National Park location. So please forgive us for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Like many, the Best Western Yosemite Way Station was our "base camp" for the Park. The decor has been updated (sorry forgot to take pics of the room). Modern linens and flat screen TV. Rooms are large and have lots of room for luggage. Breakfast was OK, better than a lot of places (they have eggs, sausage, waffle maker, breads, pastries, cereals, usual breakfast bevvies, and apples/oranges. The hot tub is not super hot but was nice after long hikes (closes at 10 PM).

There are a few restaurants in the Mariposa, we ate at Salvador's and Charles Street Dinner House. Both were tasty, but not OMG yum. Mariposa is a small town with small-town hours. Most things are shut tight at 9 PM, while only a couple are open until 11 PM. After that, all that is available is credit card gas at the pump.


By staying in Mariposa, you are about a 45 min to an hour drive from the North Gate. However, the services and value of staying at the Best Western far out weigh the drive to Yosemite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteFall, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Nice to have guest like you staying with us & help us guide to achive our goal to better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel

Also Known As:
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel
Best Western Yosemite Way Station Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Hotel Mariposa
Best Western Mariposa
Mariposa Best Western
Address: 4999 State Highway 140, PO Box 1989, Mariposa, CA 95338-1989
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.