We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Little Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Valley Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3483 Brooks Rd, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerpen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Personal touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in this inn during our Visit to Yosemite NP. It is conveniently located between both South entrances of the park. Christine is a warm and welcome hostess that gave us plenty of tips about the parc and restaurants we could visit. The room is nice and spacious and bear-themed. Quit a nice touch. Our room had a private balcony overlooking the garden.

Breakfast wasn't anything special but it kept us going for a few hours. Compared to other inns it was ok.

All in all we would recommend this inn for people looking for a quiet place with a personal touch and to be close to Yosemite without paying the premium prices of the hotels inside the parc.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suncatcher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
21
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Surely everyone has an opinion based upon their own particular likes and dislikes and what they come to expect when visiting elsewhere. Our expectation were neutral, we came with an open mind because we really did not know what to expect with any of this portion of our trip. We (all five of us) enjoyed our stay from our more than adequate breakfast, homemade muffins, bagels, toast, HB eggs, fruit, juice, coffee and cereal, to our very comfortable bed, large bathroom with a great shower. It was so pleasant to return to our little deck welcoming sundown. Great weather does play a huge part and we were very fortunate for that. We would stay there again because of its uniqueness. Anybody can stay in a chain motel, which by the way, also request that you conserve energy. Christine offered sound advice which was very helpful since I had said before we did not know what to expect. I read previous reviews and did not find problems with what they were talking about. We did not need the AC in the evenings and we were gone all day. We could not have been any happier or more satisfied.

Room Tip: The cabins are strategically placed so privacy is a maximum and other people visiting a minimum. Sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in the Suncatcher room for two nights and were quite comfortable. Christine was a friendly and gracious hostess and helped us plan our limited time in Yosemite. We would happily stay at Little Valley Inn again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Little Valley Inn at Mariposa on 11/12/13 May 2012. We really enjoyed our three nights. Christine, the innkeeper gave us a wonderful welcome and provided us with some great tips of places to visit whist we were in the area. She also helped immensely with the planning of our visit to Yosemite. Our room, which was of a cowboy theme, was very nice. We will definitely stay at the Little Valley Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We liked our cottage at the Little Valley Inn. Having the kitchen, especially the refrigerator, was helpful for packing lunches for our days in Yosemite. The flower gardens are pretty and fit the setting. The back property is very serene. Christine was extremely helpful in planning our days. We especially appreciated her alerting us to a road closure one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite Dreams cottage and liked it. It was spacious and a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The only thing to recommend this place is that it is quiet. There, that's it. It isn't particularly scenic. It was HOT and the air conditioning is a joke. It might have cooled off, but the innkeeper rushes in as soon as you leave and turns it off. The "breakfast" was a selection of stale toast ore dry bagel or a bit of cereal. Yeah, the decor is out of date, but who cares?

Plan on being out of touch. There is no cell service. But if you sit in just the right spot, you can get a weak wifi signal.

Plan on driving 20 miles for dinner. Or just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVI, Owner at Little Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
So let me see if I understand what you are saying. You waited 8 months, then decided to write a negative review. You complained it was hot weather and that I turned off the air conditioning after you left for the day. Well, I do not cool guest's luggage all day long. That is ludicrous. I cannot control the weather, sometimes it is still warm in September.

Breakfast is continental which means toast, bagels, cereal, etc. I always at EVERY breakfast also include fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, juice....I guess you forgot to mention all of the more then 10 choices I have each day.

If you drove 20 miles for dinner, that is your own fault. Mariposa is only 7.5 miles and is loaded with great restaurants; PLUS there is a great diner 1 block away from my Inn.

This is a rural, mountainous area and cell phone coverage is quite sporadic; which is to be expected. I do not have cell service here, which is why I have a pay phone outside.

I have added an extender for my WIFI, because the furthest room from the house received a weak signal. Sorry you were inconvenienced and had to find the "right spot."

I wrote every word that is on my website and I do NOT overstate anything. I have never claimed to have wonderful vistas. My property is in a "little valley", not on top of a mountain. There are over 100 fabulous, towering Oak trees and they contribute to my wonderful park-like setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The reviews on this lodging are very diverse. I booked Little Valley Inn mostly from descriptive information on their website, which I think is more than a little exaggerated. Unfortunately it was very hot and dry in the country, their trail was overgrown and no creek to be found. To be fair, the front garden was nice and watered. After spending long days in Yosemite, we just didn't really need the natural setting of the lodging. Although our room was clean, it was quite outdated. One thing we really liked was having the mini refrigerator available in our room and a small sitting area other than the bed.

The host does have good information on Yosemite if you need it, but we came with lots of information of our own and a plan for our time in the park. She gave very helpful suggestions on getting around traffic when a wildfire closed the Arch Rock entrance to the park.

The Inn location states Mariposa, but it was further out of town than I expected. A great spot for stargazing, peace and quite, but If you want to be close to restaurants, groceries, or shopping, you might choose to stay in town at Mariposa or in Oakhurst which is closest to the park South entrance.

Room Tip: The full size cabin might be an economical choice for a family, but couples looking for a litttle ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Valley Inn

Address: 3483 Brooks Rd, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Valley Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 6 room bed and breakfast where every guest room has a private bathroom and balcony with seating including all the comforts of home; while being conveniently located between 2 entrances of Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Little Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.