We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo's Mexican Food

Castillo's Mexican Food
4995 5th St, Mariposa, CA 95338
+1 209-742-4413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Mariposa
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

All 8 of us enjoyed our dishes. The service was great and the wait staff was very friendly. The restaurant was a little warm but they had fans that kept the air circulating. The patio area was closed - but it looked really neat and would be fun to dine there when it's open.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rock Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good authentic food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went on a night when the patio was closed. The inside of the restaurant was a little cramped and stuffy, but the food was excellent and the service great! Good portions, tasty food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Small restaurant but good service and fantastic food. As visitors to Yosemite and Mariposa we (me, my wife and 10 year old daughter) wanted a quick dinner. This was quick but not in any way rushed. My wife and I had a chimichanga and both the beef and chicken were very good. As we're the sides of rice and beans, and my daughter's chicken enchilada.

All the food tasted fresh, was served quickly and hot and there was plenty of it.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Yummy! Good Service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. The Mexican food was of an excellent quality and the girl who served us was very friendly and attentive. It was evident that most of the other people eating were locals which gives an indication to the quality of this restaurant in a touristy town – the locals know where the good places are! If I were to be in Mariposa again I would be sure to eat here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Freshest ingredients, great home-made salsa and warm chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is small and unassuming, perhaps a tad run down...Its located half a block off the main drag...Parking is dear...But the food is very good and provided truly excellent value...We had burritos, enchiladas and fajitas - all served with sides of rice and beans - you can tell the kitchen cares about its food and its presentation...Taste the Love! A lot of fun for us and our three kids...Service was genuine, friendly and very polite...water always full....Would eat there regularly if we were local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo's Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Castillo's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo's Mexican Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.