We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Inn

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yosemite Inn
5180 Jones St., Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Large room, clean, freshly painted, with fridge, really nice owner/manager. Breakfast room was tiny and very warm but other than that, your typical breakfast you'd expect at a cheaply priced place. It was quiet, no traffic noise. Wifi was free but we didn't have a great connection. I imagine the swimming pool would be inviting on a summer's day but it was a bit fresh for us!

We didn't use Mariposa as a base for visiting Yosemite. We stayed closer to the park. Otherwise it'd be too long a drive, so be warned! It was an ideal place to spend the night to break up the drive a bit between Yosemite and San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    14
    14
    17
See reviews for
22
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed there while visiting Yosemite. They have large and clean room with good air conditioning. Nice breakfast with Tasty Waffles.
The town by itself is very close to Yosemite which is very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Large room and good fascilities – large fridge and microwave. Ice machine in hotel. The bed was of a good size and comfortable and room was very clean. Had a separate settee to sit on. The range of free channels in the room was excellent and TV screen was flat and large. WIFI was free and worked very well.
There were a number of restaurants nearby as well as a supermarket and carry out food establishments.
The breakfast was very continental but this suited our purpose.
The air conditioning as mentioned in a number of reviews is noisy but VERY effective. During our stay the outside temperature was 39 degrees C every day but the room cooled down remarkably quickly when the air con was turned up to the maximum.
The main reason for staying was a Yosemite National Park visit and we would have preferred to be a bit nearer the gate entrance. Although the drive there was quiet and the scenery spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The owner/manager rips you off. Was told a price on website and information centre but when we arrived the price had gone up $30! When some young lads arrived shortly after us we happened to be at the computer and he told them an even higher price of $50 over the top!! No coffee in the room and I wouldn't say "breakfast" I would say "snack".

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After a long, hot drive, we arrived at this Inn. We checked in and went to the room. The only 3 positive things I can find to say about this room was it was big, it was clean and the air conditioning was good.

The windows have a view directly onto the car park, so the curtains have to remain closed whilst you are in the room, but they are blackout curtains, so you have to have the lights on too.

We were told that the "continental breakfast" was served in the "breakfast room." The choice of things available for breakfast was very limited, waffles or toast. The room where breakfast was available was small, hot and messy. It was almost as if it had been added as an after-thought.

The shower was powerful and welcoming, and the air conditioning was excellent after a hot day in the park. We even stood our bottles of water on top of the unit over night, ready for our journey the next day, and it was like they had been in the fridge!

The location for Yosemite was good, but we wont be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have never written a review before, but feel it is my duty to pass the word on to fellow travelers. I stayed at this hotel for two nights. When I left, I had over 50 bed bug bites all over my neck and arms. The headboards in the room are attached to the wall. Bed bugs live behind the headboards and in between the mattresses. I called management to tell them about the problem, but the man yelled at me and hung up the phone on me. I have been in the most excruciating pain for the past week and even had to get a steroids prescription to bring down the swelling. I am a law student and am considering filing a lawsuit. Please contact me if you have had the same horrific experience while staying at this hotel. elizabeth.hart@live.com

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 108 OR 109---BED BUGS. Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed there on our way to Yosemite. It was nicely decorated, clean, recently painted. Comfortable beds and good air conditioning. It was well priced for the location and included a basic continental breakfast.
We were happy with our short stay there and would stay again, IF we were going to enter the West gate to Yosemite! That was our only disappointment we thought we were closer to the Redwoods and the South gate. So nothing to do with the hotel, just our lack of looking at the map correctly.

Also the photos online don't seem to be of the recent rooms which are much nicer in person!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Inn

Address: 5180 Jones St., Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Ownership and Management, Yosemite Inn has under gone an extensive remodel this year in January of 2011. Yosemite Inn is located across from the Visitor Center and only 45 minutes to the Yosemite Valley. The small and beautiful town of Mariposa provides a variety restaurants, shops, and live entertainment with-in walking distance. The Yosemite Inn also is also proudly known for having the largest and cleanest rooms in town. Come visit us and our friendly staff on your way to Yosemite and you will be glad you chose Yosemite Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yosemite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel Mariposa
Ec Hotel Mariposa
Ec Hotel Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.