We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False representation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Yosemite Inn to your Saves list
Yosemite Inn
5180 Jones St., Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“False representation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The owner/manager rips you off. Was told a price on website and information centre but when we arrived the price had gone up $30! When some young lads arrived shortly after us we happened to be at the computer and he told them an even higher price of $50 over the top!! No coffee in the room and I wouldn't say "breakfast" I would say "snack".

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    17
    14
    18
See reviews for
22
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After a long, hot drive, we arrived at this Inn. We checked in and went to the room. The only 3 positive things I can find to say about this room was it was big, it was clean and the air conditioning was good.

The windows have a view directly onto the car park, so the curtains have to remain closed whilst you are in the room, but they are blackout curtains, so you have to have the lights on too.

We were told that the "continental breakfast" was served in the "breakfast room." The choice of things available for breakfast was very limited, waffles or toast. The room where breakfast was available was small, hot and messy. It was almost as if it had been added as an after-thought.

The shower was powerful and welcoming, and the air conditioning was excellent after a hot day in the park. We even stood our bottles of water on top of the unit over night, ready for our journey the next day, and it was like they had been in the fridge!

The location for Yosemite was good, but we wont be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have never written a review before, but feel it is my duty to pass the word on to fellow travelers. I stayed at this hotel for two nights. When I left, I had over 50 bed bug bites all over my neck and arms. The headboards in the room are attached to the wall. Bed bugs live behind the headboards and in between the mattresses. I called management to tell them about the problem, but the man yelled at me and hung up the phone on me. I have been in the most excruciating pain for the past week and even had to get a steroids prescription to bring down the swelling. I am a law student and am considering filing a lawsuit. Please contact me if you have had the same horrific experience while staying at this hotel. elizabeth.hart@live.com

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 108 OR 109---BED BUGS. Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed there on our way to Yosemite. It was nicely decorated, clean, recently painted. Comfortable beds and good air conditioning. It was well priced for the location and included a basic continental breakfast.
We were happy with our short stay there and would stay again, IF we were going to enter the West gate to Yosemite! That was our only disappointment we thought we were closer to the Redwoods and the South gate. So nothing to do with the hotel, just our lack of looking at the map correctly.

Also the photos online don't seem to be of the recent rooms which are much nicer in person!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This Inn is not right in the national park but it is well located and a pleasant drive to get to Yosemite. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful and whilst we only intended staying one night we ended up staying two. Hapy to recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We wanted to get early and drive to YNC. Checked in at arnd 9pm, room was very spacious and nice. But 2PM in the night I feel that I am in a pool bed bugs :(. Couldnt sleep the entire night. Had to get up at 5 amanddrive to YNC.

Was very tired with lack of sleep and tons of bugs arnd sucking blood. Poorly maintained I don't recommend to anyone or stay there again.

Motel is so so one,but they charge you for a exotic resort price and added advantage of having some suckers ( bed bugs ) all night.

Very disappointed, wanted to punch the manager. Stay away ....,

Room Tip: Stay away from 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Recently I stayed two nights there. We traveled in Yosemite. Our tour group is relatively big.(6 people).

Location is good / facilities are average but people are very kind (Thanks, manager Haness).
Good service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Inn

Address: 5180 Jones St., Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Ownership and Management, Yosemite Inn has under gone an extensive remodel this year in January of 2011. Yosemite Inn is located across from the Visitor Center and only 45 minutes to the Yosemite Valley. The small and beautiful town of Mariposa provides a variety restaurants, shops, and live entertainment with-in walking distance. The Yosemite Inn also is also proudly known for having the largest and cleanest rooms in town. Come visit us and our friendly staff on your way to Yosemite and you will be glad you chose Yosemite Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel Mariposa
Ec Hotel Mariposa
Ec Hotel Yosemite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.