We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Light B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariposa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One Light B&B
3526 Highway 49 South, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful B&B. Our room was absolutely perfect, especially the bathroom which was huge and had both a shower and a bath tub. Theresa, who owns the place, was very nice, she prepared a homey breakfast for us and was more than willing to guide us around. The location is ideal, as it is close to Mariposa, where you can find everything you are looking for and also close to Yosemite park entrance. I highly recommend it for a peaceful and romantic getaway close to the nature.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresacatlin, Owner at One Light B&B, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Efthymia,

It was a pleasure to have you and Alkiviadis stay at One Light at the end of December. You were lovely guests.

I hope to see you again if you visit Yosemite in the future.

Warmly,
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the One Light bed and breakfast in October of 2012. The bed and breakfast is located near the charming small town of Mariposa which is centrally located near two entrances to the Yosemite national park. We found that Mariposa was a great location to stay when planning on visiting the Yosemite park.

The bed and breakfast has two rooms with their own private entrances. We stayed in the serenity room which is incredibly large and has a private large bathroom with tub and shower. The room was very clean and the king size bed was quite comfortable.

One Light is situated in a very quiet area which makes it the perfect place to get away and relax. We enjoyed our two nights in this bed and breakfast and the owners ensure we felt quite at home.

In the morning, breakfast is served in the main house. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We visited several bed and breakfasts but this one was truly the best we’ve ever had.

If you are looking for a place to stay when visiting the Yosemite park, I would highly recommend One Light. The owners Theresa and George will do their best to ensure you are properly settled and that you have everything you need.

Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay near Yosemite (it will take you about 45 minutes to the entrance El Portal), your search should end here. We are travelling a lot and this charming B&B is one of the best we've chosen on our trips to the US. The rooms are absolutely clean and incredibly huge. I would recommend to stay at least 2 nights, so that you can enjoy the nice pool and have enough time to enjoy the delicious breakfast. So don't hesitate to contact Teresa and George (the very nice owners). Thank you for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had the pleasure to witness the gracious hospitality of the hosts at One Light B&B for a wonderful relaxing weekend in July. A peaceful location both inside their lovely home and outside along the rolling California hills surrounding the property that simply beacon you to hike or sit in meditation. Top quality, healthy food was also a delight and a dipping pool for cooling off on those warm days. A perfect location for Yosemite as well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It was a great stay at this place. The B&B had just started and was recommended to us by another B&B that was full. That was great luck! My grandma loved it so much that she wanted to stay here all the time. She liked it even better than the Hyatt in Carmel where we stayed first. The self-designed natural stone pool is a great experience.The breakfast was amazing (especially the special bread and the fresh fruits.) The bathroom made us feel like princesses. Theresa and George are doing a great job here and are really nice people. The landscape here was of course amazing too. Thanks to Theresa and Geroge for all the helpful tips!!! Anna, Andrea, Christa (84 years)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

With Yosemite close by and walking/hiking trails, fabulous swimming pool built in the rocks and many lovely places to just relax located on this beautiful property, we found the One LightB&B perfect for our four day vacation. Organic food from their very spacious garden and delicious recipes make Theresa and George the most gracious hosts. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Beautiful King downstairs our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place just got started. The property is spectacular and there's a gorgeous spot where young and old can swim, dabble in the little pools, and lie out on the rocks. It's a world away from TV and cell phones. The rooms are large and sunny and we came away refreshed and ready for the next adventure.
Faith and John G

Room Tip: Ask Theresa if the :Budda room" is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One Light B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Light B&B

Address: 3526 Highway 49 South, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Light B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added One Light B&B to your Saves list