We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
holland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights to visit Yosemite Park. Mariposa in the winter is a quiet place, nothing much to do. The distance to the Park was okay, it took us about not quite an hour to get there. The hotel is clean and nice. We had a double queen room. For 2 large suitcases we had just about enough space. The bathroom had a leaking sink, but after we reported this to the receptionist it was fixed. It had nice fast WiFi connection. Breakfast was okay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfotInnYosemite, Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Fast WiFi and clean, quiet rooms are part of what makes guests so happy here at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Thank you for reporting the leaking sink so we could fix it right way! Come back and staty with us again on your way to Yosemite National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    94
    65
    31
    21
See reviews for
75
108
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found this place extremely good accommodation & close to Yosemite. We had enjoyed a good drive down from Vacaville by quiet roads & really enjoyed our trip through old mining towns ....arriving in Mariposa we found yet another historically interesting town with many attractive businesses....the staff at the hotel were wonderful, happy & helpful.
Our room was perfect with the car parked right outside it was easy to move our stuff!
....& a great drive to Yosemite from there!
Breakfast was better than the average Comfort Inn & the Hershey's Kisses at reception added a little je ne sais pas !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfotInnYosemite, Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Extremely good accommocations! Thank you. We do have wonderful, happy and helpful staff! Yes, you can park right outside your room and we are quiet, off the main road. Our better than average breakfast is one of the many ammenities that help make a great vacation to Yosemite National Park. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Come back and stay with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed there in late May 2011. Good place to stop on the way from Sequoia National Park to Yosemite. Still about 45 miles to the Park, but much better than driving in from one of the larger cities for a couple hours or more. Hotel has multiple buildings, ours was a family suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths which was great with 2 teenage girls. A large living area was shared with other rooms in the building- could get the whole building with 5 or 6 rooms if you had a larger group. Rooms were small but clean. Pool was right out side our room and the girls enjoyed the heated pool. Check in and Check out were easy, and we were able to park right next to our building. It is a mountain town, so the nights were chilly but heat worked fine. Not a 5 start hotel, but certainly suitable for a good night sleep on the way to Yosemite, or perhaps on the way back. Room rate was reasonable for a 2 room, 2 bath suite, we just called and made arrangements the day we traveled there.

Just a block or so away are some restaurants, though Mariposa is small and stretched out. Grabbed Subway sandwiches for our lunch in Yosemite. Good grocery store though you'll need directions, not on the main road. Smaller store, part of liquor store, is just south of the hotel. Also has a drug store on the east end of town.

Room Tip: If you have a large group, ask for the family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review of your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves! We are just the perfect place to stay while visiting Yosemite National Park. Mariposa is a great place, so come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I wanted to go visit Yosemite National Park in the snow, so we decided to head up there on a Friday night and stay in Mariposa to be closer to the park in the morning.

The room was clean and looks to have had a cosmetic renovation in the not too distant past. However, somethings certainly were not upgraded during that time. One is the the air conditioner/heater. It is very old and loud. When the fan cycles on and off, it is way too easy to wake up from a sound sleep. My wife woke at 4:30 and was unable to get back to sleep.

The bathroom could have had more money spent on it as well. The first issue is the toilet. It is probably one of the smallest toilets I've ever used. They definitely could have spent money on an elongated seat toilet.

The other issue in the bathroom was the shower. First off, the shower head is a low flow head (1.6 gallons per minute). It reminded me of that old Seinfeld episode. It took a while to wet and rinse my body. Also, the shower head was only about 5 feet 1 inch from the ground. This is very low and I had to bend over quite a bit to wash my hair.

We did get to go to Yosemite and arrive fairly early before the Bay Area traffic arrived. It only takes about 35 minutes from the hotel to the gate. This depends on the wait time at the one lane bridge detour by passing the land slide.

If staying in Mariposa, I'd probably stay at another place before trying this one again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway in Mariposa. We are very sorry the air conditioning unit in your room was not quiet, but we're very glad glad you enjoyed your clean room. Being so close to Yosemite is wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Affordable option for a stay close to Yoseminte National Park. Takes less than two hours to get to the Park. The room was simpe but clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. We left some some of our thing in the hotel and the staff took care of them until we got back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We're glad you found your room clean, comfortable, and close to Yosemite National Park. Just 32 miles from the West Entrance, Highway 140 is the most direct route to Yosemite Valley Floor. A deluxe hot breakfast is just what guests need before spending the day in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overall a very nice Comfort. Friendly helpful staff. Hotel on several levels due to terrain makes moving luggage into rooms a challenge. They do have handicapped rooms on ground level. Very large well stocked breakfast area with large refrigerator for guest use. (no refrigs in rooms; at least not in mine) Rooms well appointed and quite large. New 37 inch? flat screen TV. Great location in quieter area of town off the main thoroughfare. Terrific location for day trips to Yosemite; about 1.25 hours east. Seemed very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: third floor rooms can be a challenge for heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway has a sweet location on a quiet hillside overlooking the historic gold mining town of Mariposa, California. We are so glad you enjoyed your large, well-appointed room and new TV. Although we DO NOT have elevators, just be sure to request a ground floor room when making reservations and we are glad to accommodate. Our handicapped rooms on the ground floor are very convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I spent two nights at this Comfort Inn last weekend, and the overall experience during my stay was fine. However, the evening after I checked out, my back and arms began to itch, and I discovered that I had at least 50 bed bug bites! When I called the hotel to notify them of the problem, the manager was out, and the employee I spoke to was left speechless. My doctor says that the itching may last up to two weeks -- yikes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.