We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Campbell, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It is what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I wanted to go visit Yosemite National Park in the snow, so we decided to head up there on a Friday night and stay in Mariposa to be closer to the park in the morning.

The room was clean and looks to have had a cosmetic renovation in the not too distant past. However, somethings certainly were not upgraded during that time. One is the the air conditioner/heater. It is very old and loud. When the fan cycles on and off, it is way too easy to wake up from a sound sleep. My wife woke at 4:30 and was unable to get back to sleep.

The bathroom could have had more money spent on it as well. The first issue is the toilet. It is probably one of the smallest toilets I've ever used. They definitely could have spent money on an elongated seat toilet.

The other issue in the bathroom was the shower. First off, the shower head is a low flow head (1.6 gallons per minute). It reminded me of that old Seinfeld episode. It took a while to wet and rinse my body. Also, the shower head was only about 5 feet 1 inch from the ground. This is very low and I had to bend over quite a bit to wash my hair.

We did get to go to Yosemite and arrive fairly early before the Bay Area traffic arrived. It only takes about 35 minutes from the hotel to the gate. This depends on the wait time at the one lane bridge detour by passing the land slide.

If staying in Mariposa, I'd probably stay at another place before trying this one again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway in Mariposa. We are very sorry the air conditioning unit in your room was not quiet, but we're very glad glad you enjoyed your clean room. Being so close to Yosemite is wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    93
    64
    31
    21
See reviews for
74
108
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Affordable option for a stay close to Yoseminte National Park. Takes less than two hours to get to the Park. The room was simpe but clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. We left some some of our thing in the hotel and the staff took care of them until we got back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We're glad you found your room clean, comfortable, and close to Yosemite National Park. Just 32 miles from the West Entrance, Highway 140 is the most direct route to Yosemite Valley Floor. A deluxe hot breakfast is just what guests need before spending the day in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overall a very nice Comfort. Friendly helpful staff. Hotel on several levels due to terrain makes moving luggage into rooms a challenge. They do have handicapped rooms on ground level. Very large well stocked breakfast area with large refrigerator for guest use. (no refrigs in rooms; at least not in mine) Rooms well appointed and quite large. New 37 inch? flat screen TV. Great location in quieter area of town off the main thoroughfare. Terrific location for day trips to Yosemite; about 1.25 hours east. Seemed very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: third floor rooms can be a challenge for heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway has a sweet location on a quiet hillside overlooking the historic gold mining town of Mariposa, California. We are so glad you enjoyed your large, well-appointed room and new TV. Although we DO NOT have elevators, just be sure to request a ground floor room when making reservations and we are glad to accommodate. Our handicapped rooms on the ground floor are very convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I spent two nights at this Comfort Inn last weekend, and the overall experience during my stay was fine. However, the evening after I checked out, my back and arms began to itch, and I discovered that I had at least 50 bed bug bites! When I called the hotel to notify them of the problem, the manager was out, and the employee I spoke to was left speechless. My doctor says that the itching may last up to two weeks -- yikes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam, Israel
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I read some nasty reviews about the place, made a bet and won.
The Inn had all the ammenities you would expect from a more expensive and better hotel.
Breakfast was fine, room was okay, not too spacy but I've seen smaller.
Pool was clean Jacuzy was so/so but the company was great.
One thing I would recommend to this place manager is to dress the staff up, they looked so unprofessional that I had second thoughts, however they turned out to be professional.
The price is good compared to the other options,
The location is somehwat far, and required driving into the park, but not that bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Just 32 miles from Yosemite National Park West Entrance, we're glad you found our prices good and amenities usually found in more expensive hotels. Guests comments at check out, "My bed was so comfortable, I had the best night's sleep so far on this vacation," and "We stay here every year because we feel so comfortable." Thank you for staying at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice hotel in Mariposa off the main streets. Hotel was quiet and room was nice and clean. Not to far from Yosemite. Hot breakfast every morning which was nice, food was good and seating area was clean. Room was on the second floor but felt like third floor having to walk up three flights of stairs to get there. Biggest surprise was sitting outside the room in the morning having a cup of coffee and seeing four wild turkey's walking through the parking lot. Staff was very friendly and helpful, giving all kinds of information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us. Guests enjoy our nice, clean rooms and our welcoming breakfast! Front desk staff are available to help guests 24 hours a day. Glad you got to see the wild turkeys that come through here some mornings. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is an older property, but appears to be well maintained. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Internet connection was good and staff was very helpfull. If you are handicapped, be carefull since there is no elevators to 2nd and 3rd floors. Good value overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Our well maintained property on a hillside above Mariposa is quiet and welcoming. Friendly front desk staff are available 24 hours a day to assist guests. Be sure to make special room request at the same time you make your reservation if you need a ground floor room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.