We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good bet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Yokneam, Israel
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A good bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I read some nasty reviews about the place, made a bet and won.
The Inn had all the ammenities you would expect from a more expensive and better hotel.
Breakfast was fine, room was okay, not too spacy but I've seen smaller.
Pool was clean Jacuzy was so/so but the company was great.
One thing I would recommend to this place manager is to dress the staff up, they looked so unprofessional that I had second thoughts, however they turned out to be professional.
The price is good compared to the other options,
The location is somehwat far, and required driving into the park, but not that bad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Just 32 miles from Yosemite National Park West Entrance, we're glad you found our prices good and amenities usually found in more expensive hotels. Guests comments at check out, "My bed was so comfortable, I had the best night's sleep so far on this vacation," and "We stay here every year because we feel so comfortable." Thank you for staying at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    104
    70
    33
    21
See reviews for
79
117
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice hotel in Mariposa off the main streets. Hotel was quiet and room was nice and clean. Not to far from Yosemite. Hot breakfast every morning which was nice, food was good and seating area was clean. Room was on the second floor but felt like third floor having to walk up three flights of stairs to get there. Biggest surprise was sitting outside the room in the morning having a cup of coffee and seeing four wild turkey's walking through the parking lot. Staff was very friendly and helpful, giving all kinds of information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of your stay with us. Guests enjoy our nice, clean rooms and our welcoming breakfast! Front desk staff are available to help guests 24 hours a day. Glad you got to see the wild turkeys that come through here some mornings. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is an older property, but appears to be well maintained. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Internet connection was good and staff was very helpfull. If you are handicapped, be carefull since there is no elevators to 2nd and 3rd floors. Good value overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Our well maintained property on a hillside above Mariposa is quiet and welcoming. Friendly front desk staff are available 24 hours a day to assist guests. Be sure to make special room request at the same time you make your reservation if you need a ground floor room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We will not stay at this hotel again. Poor quality and poor value for the money we spent.
Pros:
We like the town of Mariposa. Everybody, including the hotel staff was very friendly, kind and knowledgeable about the area. We have no complaints at all about the people. The free breakfast was adequate and good. The breakfast lady worked very hard everyday to keep the area clean and well stocked.
Cons:
2 star hotel: The sheets and the towels were old and almost grey. The hotel needs renovations. No refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms. The room was clean but the furniture was old and showed its age.

Overall:
GOOD, FRIENDLY and EFFICIENT STAFF !!!!!
The owners of this hotel need to invest in updating the rooms, furniture, sheets, towels,..........

Room Tip: The rooms need updating. Needs new furniture, towels, sheets,.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely room-clean, comfortable, airconditioned! Front desk called within 10 minutes of our arrival to make sure everything was ok with the room. Great breakfast! Nice to come home to after a day in Yosemite National Park. Right on the edge of town so we were able to explore Mariposa. Be sure to eat at the Red Fox restaurant-great food & great service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Front desk staff make it a point to welcome you and make you feel comfortable so we call your room after check-in to be sure you have everything you need. So glad you enjoyed your clean, air conditioned room and deluxe hot breakfast buffet. Mariposa is a great place so come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

First the good news: the linens were clean as was the bathroom, the pool area was spotless, and there appears to be a effort by the management to add solar panels and an irrigation system to be envirormentally responsibile. On the other hand, the carpet was filthy and the bedspeads had questionable dark spots on them. The two queen beds were a tight fit and the furniture itself was a mismash. The breakfast was not too bad except the scrambled eggs were cooked to death. (Observation, when does a free breakfast mean a free lunch. Saw people walking out with the makings of lunch, snacks, etc. for the rest of the day. Certainly not the motel's fault but you see this abuse too often)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We've spent quite a few nights at a variety of Comfort Inn locations. This time it was 3 nights; we drove 3 times from it to Yosemite. While not directly related to our experience with the hotel, if you plan to drive to Yosemite, the drive might be a factor that should be considered in selecting where to stay. This is because the road between Mariposa and the park is perpetually under construction, causing delays of 15+ minutes on top of the "normal" 45-60 minute drive to Yosemite.

The desk clerks were friendly and helpful. There are vending machines for soda near both buildings; an ice machine is adjacent to the main building.

We stayed in the south building (not the one with the lobby) in a corner room. The room was quite large and nicely appointed (including a king size bed, full-size sofabed and flat screen TV). There were 2 mirrors in the room, in addition to the one in the bathroom. The A/C worked reasonably well, but tended to blow the curtains (which we ended up holding in position with a pillow).

The room and bathroom were clean, the bed comfortable, but the pillows were like small marshmallows tucked into their pillowcases, and it was difficult to find a good sleeping position with them. The towels were large, but on the stiff side...definitely not soft. Housekeeping was perhaps a bit overzealous to us. A box with leftover pizza we'd planned to snack on disappeared from the coffee table one day.

Wifi (as well as 4G and phone service with our carrier, AT&T) was awful. We noticed at one point that there were 2 networks at the motel...but neither had a strong enough Wifi signal in our room to be useful. There were sufficient outlets for charging our various gadgets, including outlets on the bedside lamps.

Breakfast was quite decent, although the selections really didn't vary from day to day. Scrambled (powdered) eggs and sausage, yogurt, fruit, small muffins and pastry, breads, juices and coffee. We were pleasantly surprised to find the juices were full strength, not diluted, and the coffee was passable. (The coffee in the room, however, could best be described as brown water).

If the motel were located significantly closer to Yosemite or we had other reason to be nearby, we'd definitely consider staying there again. But for us, given the price of gas and the amount of time lost in commuting, we will likely choose a place in either a town closer to the park or in the park itself next time...assuming we plan our trip further ahead.

Room Tip: If Wifi reception is important to you, ask for a room near the router.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.