We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel Near Yosemite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel Near Yosemite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was worried about this hotel after reading the reviews. We had a nice clean room. It was basic, but we were not there much. The bed slept well. The breakfast was fair. The biggest problem wass that the wi-fi did not work well. I will stay here again when I come to Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    97
    67
    33
    21
See reviews for
76
112
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I can't believe anyone would give this more than one star. Im easy to please and have rated most everything 4-5 stars.. However this place is the PITS. There was a big Stain on rug, couldn't they at least shampoo this? Clearly the floor had not been vacuumed because there was unwrapped sticky hard candy on it. Pillows were tiny square things... They couldn't spring for standard sized pillows? Dirty and gross. We sucked it up and stayed because we just needed to be here one night.. Although my husband (who is not picky about anything) wanted to sleep in the car. Looking back, I think I wouldve been more satisfied in the car. Don't stay here!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We made reservations at the Comfort Inn intending to spend 3 days while sightseeing Yosemite. The hotel is very small and not very clean. The room was tiny without any convenient way to use computer. When we checked in, we told them we would be staying only one nite but they refused to issue credit. We cancelled thru Hotels.com and they billed us anyway for all 3 nites. Not very happy with the situation. Ruined our trip to Yosemite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our stay here was above average - staff were helpful and pleasant, room was clean and spacious but nothing fancy, free wifi, and advice for dinner was reasonable. Breakfast was an extended continental and was adequate, but it was a chore to get what we wanted with a crowd in the area. I would advise to go early or late, not around 8:30 or 9am. We stayed two nights and would stay again, given the choices in the town.
Drive to Yosemite was about 45 minutes with a short detour around a rock slide that must have happened some years ago. The park was beautiful, but crowded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
So glad you stayed at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway - where guests are happy with our pleasant, clean, spacious, reasonable accommodations and helpful staff to make your vacation more enjoyable. We recommend eating breakfast as early at 6am, and then heading to beautiful Yosemite National Park, just 32 miles away, so you have as much time in the park as possible. Please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here only for one night on our Yosemite Trip.

We found the entire property very well maintained and our room to be recently remodeled and very clean - in short: in great shape.

The staff was cheerful and helping, which made us feel welcome.

We especially loved that the location is far enough from the main street to be very quiet, so we could even sleep with the window open without hearing any street noise.

The only downside is that this location is about 45min drive (without traffic) from Yosemite. That being said, the closer you stay to Yosemite, the more you pay.

Additionally also please mind that currently (and as it looks like for a few more years), there is a serious hill slide issue, on Hwy140 between Mariposa and Yosemite, which creates a one lane traffic signal regulated bottle neck. We left very early in the morning, so we did not have a long wait, but I believe this could cause some serious wait time during busier hours of the day.


Never the less, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This Comfort Inn near Yosemite Valley offers straight forward rooms, nothing fancy, but cool in the Mariposa summer heat. Complete breakfast is satisfying too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Good location to go to the park. Breakfast is simple but good. Rooms a little bit old fashioned and not very big. For staying a couple of nights is a good option. Our room was for 4 persons and didn't have the option for a 5th. (no extra bed possible).

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteTravelTips, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We really appreciate you posting your comments. Many guests find Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway a great hotel! On a hillside above Mariposa, it's is nice and quiet here, and the front desk staff are friendly and helpful. After a day in Yosemite National Park, our pool and spa are refreshing and welcome. Come again and stay longer to explore Yosemite's 1,200 square miles of deep valleys, grand meadows, ancient giant sequoias, and a vast wilderness area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.