We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariposa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast
5218 Crystal Aire Drive, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights to spend a time in Yosemite National Park and can confirm that the Highland House website and the Tripadvisor reviews about Mary-Ellen's B&B are accurate. The lovely house is quite secluded in the woods about 15 minutes from the restaurants, museums and facilities of the town of Mariposa and a lovely 36 mile drive from the main gate to Yosemite Valley. It is also conveniently located for visits to the wonderful Glacier Point (the star feature of the national park for us) and the magnificent Mariposa Grove of redwood trees. It is easy too to take in many of the towns of Gold Country along Highway 49.

We were in the attractive and scrupulously clean Poppy Room, armed with electric and ceiling fans to supplement the air conditioning and triple aspect windows to ensure air flow on our hot September nights. Downstairs there is a sitting room and, after a warm welcome from owner, Mary-Ellen, plentiful supplies of cheese and biscuits, cookies and cake, tea and coffee between arrival and setting off for dinner. When we got back later that evening there were bottles of red and white wine as well and we were able to sit out on one of the decks to admire the stars. Sharing the house were 2 other couples and we quickly made friends and enjoyed conversation and laughter over evening wine and the very good breakfasts prepared by Mary-Ellen's helper.

Outside the bedrooms upstairs, there is a kettle and fridge stocked so that early risers can make themselves a drink before breakfast.

All the extras provided in this comfortable home make Highland House excellent value for money as well as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I wanted a base from which to stage an early-October, two-day introduction to Yosemite NP, and based on sketchy reviews of motels in the vicinity, we opted for the highly and uniformly praised Poppy Hill B&B. The proprietor, Mary Ellen, greeted us on arrival and at our request provided the two of us Yosemite novices with much useful and needed advice and recommendations on how to approach our visit. She also provided a complementary glass of wine, cheeses and crackers, and later in the day, a decadently chocolate cake! Our room, the Iris, was nicely appointed in antique furnishings, the bed provided an excellent night's sleep, and the bathroom/shower provided for all the necessities quite nicely - all was exceptionally clean. An excellent and substantial breakfast greeted us both days we had the opportunity to enjoy it at the Poppy Hill. If we could change a thing about the Poppy Hill, it might be to make it a bit easier to find, but then we might also miss the opportunity to see the flock of wild turkeys that visited the Inn each morning of our stay. Great place - given the opportunity, we'd stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The stairs to the second floor rooms may be a challenge for some guests; however, a room is availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our party of four had spent a memorable but exhausting day touring Yosemite Valley and we were hoping that Poppy Hill would live up to all the glowing reviews seen here. Within a few minutes we knew that it would exceed all expectations. It is a lovingly created home which greets you along with a gorgeous chocolate cake and a pot of tea (we're English).
We ate out at an excellent local restaurant in Mariposa ('Savouries') recommended by Mary Ellen and later relaxed in the sitting room with a glass of wine. The rooms were more than comfortable and on a very warm night we were cooled by fans so after a good night's sleep and a wonderful breakfast we headed into Mariposa and onto San Fransisco.
Anyone wanting to tour Yosemite would be hard pressed to find anywhere better than Poppy Hill for a base.

Room Tip: All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent a night travelling aroun the National Parks (Kings Canyon and Yosemite). We arrive in the evening and a beautiful cake was waiting us on the living room table, with two bottles of wine. we were a party of 8 and so all the house was at our disposal. The rooms are warmly furnished, with big beds and beautiful old-fashioned forniture. Everything is painstaking and nice!
A wonderful breakfast, with French toast, bacon, jams, juices, coffee and tea, gave us the ggod morning!
It's a pity that we spent only one night, because it has been the best rest in 15-days tour ever!
Thanks to Mary ellen and her doughter for the warm welcome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I couldn't have asked for a nicer start to our eight day motorcycle tour of Calif. than to spend our first night at Poppy Hill. Although we were happy but tired when we arrived in the early evening, the charm of the house, the beauty of the setting and the warmth of our host Amy revived us. After a leisurely glass of wine in the garden, I ran down to Mariposa to bring back dinner. I would have been content to eat from the take-out containers, but Amy had set a beautiful table (china, cloth napkins), for us on the second floor balcony! Everything was just fantastic - the Poppy Room, the bed, the breakfast. Would definitely return and spend an additional night or two.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Over the years I've stayed in a lot of B&Bs, and I can honestly say that the combination of setting, accommodations, food, and hospitality at Poppy Hill are at the top of my list. The property is visually appealing and well maintained in a quiet setting. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were delicious and featured something different each morning. The hosts and other guests were enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Traveling solo and hate being isolated in a sterile (or not) hotel? Have a quiet, peaceful night's sleep. Try this proper all-American B & B that makes you feel like a welcome guest. The cozy home and peaceful flower gardens are eye candy. I saw deer and numerous birds. The home is tastefully decorated and furnished with antiques throughout. There are helpful vacation books in the living room. The Iris room 2nd floor was available when I stayed (5 days, 4 nights). It had a connecting door to the upstairs patio that allowed cool air to come into the room. The bed can be a little squeaky. The private bathroom has a shower, no tub. no T.V., central A.C. available but won't be used in lieu of room fans. Outdoor seating areas are quaint and restful.
Mary Ellen is the long-time owner/operator and is a very hospitable, charming, precious, and sweet-reminds me of my elderly auntie. Mornings others make and serve breakfast either 8 or 9 a.m. and it is satisfactory. My style of eats. I had yogurt, granola, a variety of fruit, tea, juices, coffee, or a light, hot breakfast with eggs picante, egg souffle, croissant french toast.
Evenings when I arrived from 10-11 p.m. not only was the house delicately lit up like Christmas inside and out, but light refreshments were presented on the table with wine, and my fav-hot water for my tea.
Poppy Hill B&B is affordable, romantic, and located in a very nice, rural location 5 miles from Mariposa (tourist town) and about an hour outside of Yosemite via 41 through Oakhurst, a proper town w/ Starbucks. Take Rt. 41 to Yosemite or Fresno Airport. FYI remember to always gas up, pick up a foam cooler, and fill it for everywhere you go. Along the way to Yosemite on 41 visit the awesome Railroad train ride attraction, smell the forest trees, and enter the Yosemite entrance to see the Sequoia trees right off or drive up, up, up to Glacier Point. Next take 41 to Tioga Road to visit Olmsted Point, a viewing area off of the Tioga Road which, like Glacier Point, offers a spectacular view into Yosemite Valley. Keep going 5 minutes more to beautiful Lake Tenaya for a picnic and swim. Next time out, head for Yosemite valley for Degnan's pizza and a walk in the meadows. Don't miss Tunnel View or the 3 Falls. .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5218 Crystal Aire Drive, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Poppy Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list