We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and relatively close to Yosemite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Lode Lodge

Mother Lode Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mother Lode Lodge to your Saves list
Mother Lode Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean and relatively close to Yosemite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This was the least expensive place we could find within an hour or so from Yosemite. We booked it the night before we arrived. The room was dated but clean. The staff was nice. We didn't use the pool. We walked to the shops and eateries in town. The office has limited hours and doesn't open until 1 pm. There is a number to call for emergencies. It took is about 1.25 hours to get to Bridal Veil Falls. I would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
5
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Welcoming, but dated accommodation and very pricey, but you are within an hour of Yosemite NP.
The lady in reception was most helpful and very polite. Our room was very old school and is in need of refurbishment, as is the pool. It was adequately equipped and the air conditioning was effective. No breakfast option, but we had a fridge and microwave so we catered for ourselves. The town is very pleasant and compact. Plenty of eating options within a short walk. I enjoyed the Prospectors microbrewery round the corner.
Pity about the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In 30 years of traveling this great country of ours this is the #1 WORST place I have ever stayed. The room was dirty, the door had a quarter inch crack all the way around the frame. The lock would not have kept a three year old out.
The A/C made the most terrible noise.
The bathroom is 30" wide (no kidding) and the shower was TINY and dirty. There were ants all over the bathroom.
No breakfast and no phone available.
internet was slow as hell.
I have stayed elsewhere in Mariposa but would NEVER (I mean EVER) stay here again and recommend you don't.

Room Tip: The photo shown on the website is NOT a good representation of what you will find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night en route to Yosemite. It offered a nice pool, which we used on that hot summer day (Aug. 15).
The room was hot too and the aircon took some time to cool it down.
It had a fridge, coffe maker and nice TV plus wi.fi. It was quiet
At 109.89$ and no breakfast it was worth more than it offered.
Clean, neat and an attentive person at the front desk (who gave us good tips for making the best of our day at Yosemite). Located in central Mariposa it was good for what we needed: a place to rest.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived after a 12+ hour drive. This was probably the 5th or 6th motel we attempted to get a room at. The people were nice and they had 1 room left for $100. Beats $459 in El Portal. Room was clean, no mold in the shower, and the place was quiet. It was nothing special but all 7 of us were happy. Kids loved the pool. Never noticed the noisy a/c, then again, I sleep like a rock. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean room (#8) but tiny, suspect this is a converted tool shed, leftover from mining days. Bathroom is a converted CLOSET with Smallest Stall Shower in California. Had to go outside to change your mind. NO PHONE ! Lost remote for (old)TV and Had to move nitestand climb up to operate Air conditioner WEDGED above coat rack, makeshift joint.
Did I say the room is SMALL ? Damned small. One Bar of soap (Small) left for two people.
Water pressure failed when we checked in, later learned incompetent staff person left two hoses running to irrigate some plants,
Sleep in your car...or on the street, Rooms not worth $50....they charge over $130 and look you straight in the eye! We checked out day early, couldn't make it back to S.F. that afternoon.
My duty as an American is to warn you good people....before it's to late......stay away.

Room Tip: Stay away from failing places liike this use "Trip Advisor.com" to get reviews, or AAA, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were denied breakfast at 8:45!!! and there are mice. DO NOT COME HERE, it's a rip off.
They totally take advantage of their clients.
I can't believe they charged me 50$ for sharing a two beds room with three people.
Also the building gets terribly heat up during the day and the air conditioner takes forever to cool down making a terrible noise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mother Lode Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Lodge

Address: 5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Mother Lode Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Lode Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.