We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have EVER stayed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Lode Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mother Lode Lodge to your Saves list
Mother Lode Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mother Lode Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Johnstown, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst place I have EVER stayed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

In 30 years of traveling this great country of ours this is the #1 WORST place I have ever stayed. The room was dirty, the door had a quarter inch crack all the way around the frame. The lock would not have kept a three year old out.
The A/C made the most terrible noise.
The bathroom is 30" wide (no kidding) and the shower was TINY and dirty. There were ants all over the bathroom.
No breakfast and no phone available.
internet was slow as hell.
I have stayed elsewhere in Mariposa but would NEVER (I mean EVER) stay here again and recommend you don't.

Room Tip: The photo shown on the website is NOT a good representation of what you will find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped here for one night en route to Yosemite. It offered a nice pool, which we used on that hot summer day (Aug. 15).
The room was hot too and the aircon took some time to cool it down.
It had a fridge, coffe maker and nice TV plus wi.fi. It was quiet
At 109.89$ and no breakfast it was worth more than it offered.
Clean, neat and an attentive person at the front desk (who gave us good tips for making the best of our day at Yosemite). Located in central Mariposa it was good for what we needed: a place to rest.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a 12+ hour drive. This was probably the 5th or 6th motel we attempted to get a room at. The people were nice and they had 1 room left for $100. Beats $459 in El Portal. Room was clean, no mold in the shower, and the place was quiet. It was nothing special but all 7 of us were happy. Kids loved the pool. Never noticed the noisy a/c, then again, I sleep like a rock. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean room (#8) but tiny, suspect this is a converted tool shed, leftover from mining days. Bathroom is a converted CLOSET with Smallest Stall Shower in California. Had to go outside to change your mind. NO PHONE ! Lost remote for (old)TV and Had to move nitestand climb up to operate Air conditioner WEDGED above coat rack, makeshift joint.
Did I say the room is SMALL ? Damned small. One Bar of soap (Small) left for two people.
Water pressure failed when we checked in, later learned incompetent staff person left two hoses running to irrigate some plants,
Sleep in your car...or on the street, Rooms not worth $50....they charge over $130 and look you straight in the eye! We checked out day early, couldn't make it back to S.F. that afternoon.
My duty as an American is to warn you good people....before it's to late......stay away.

Room Tip: Stay away from failing places liike this use "Trip Advisor.com" to get reviews, or AAA, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We were denied breakfast at 8:45!!! and there are mice. DO NOT COME HERE, it's a rip off.
They totally take advantage of their clients.
I can't believe they charged me 50$ for sharing a two beds room with three people.
Also the building gets terribly heat up during the day and the air conditioner takes forever to cool down making a terrible noise.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After a very long day on the road I pulled into the Best Western in Mariposa. They were full but recommended the Mother Lode Lodge down the road. The best that I can say is that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower was hot. .... A lot better than sleeping beside my motorcycle for the night. Let's face it, when you are staying in a fifties style motel you should condition your expectations accordingly but even then I felt that the Mother Lode Lodge came up short. the day was hot and it took the air conditioning unit almost three hours to coole the room down. From there the very old and noisy unit cycled on and off about every fifteen minutes all night long. The room was too small for a chair so I dragged in a white plastic chair to sit in while I watched television on a set older than I took to the dump a couple of years ago. One thing to worry about if you travel by motorcycle is that the units are on a very steep slope and you must make sure to park with turning around in mind. It would be very easy to get trapped in this parking lot with no room to maneuver to get out. The price was comparable with most Best Westerns or modern Motels. In all .... Like I said ... The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower hot. Better than sleeping beside my motorcycle therefore two stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The place is very basic and the staff was pretty friendly. Mariposa lodge provides good lodging for travelers willing to stop by on their way to Yosemite. We didn't expect nothing apart from a good place to stay for a night and it's just what we got.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mother Lode Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Lodge

Address: 5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Mother Lode Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Lode Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.