We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mother Lode Lodge

Mother Lode Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mother Lode Lodge to your Saves list
Mother Lode Lodge
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not the best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

After a very long day on the road I pulled into the Best Western in Mariposa. They were full but recommended the Mother Lode Lodge down the road. The best that I can say is that the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower was hot. .... A lot better than sleeping beside my motorcycle for the night. Let's face it, when you are staying in a fifties style motel you should condition your expectations accordingly but even then I felt that the Mother Lode Lodge came up short. the day was hot and it took the air conditioning unit almost three hours to coole the room down. From there the very old and noisy unit cycled on and off about every fifteen minutes all night long. The room was too small for a chair so I dragged in a white plastic chair to sit in while I watched television on a set older than I took to the dump a couple of years ago. One thing to worry about if you travel by motorcycle is that the units are on a very steep slope and you must make sure to park with turning around in mind. It would be very easy to get trapped in this parking lot with no room to maneuver to get out. The price was comparable with most Best Westerns or modern Motels. In all .... Like I said ... The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water in the shower hot. Better than sleeping beside my motorcycle therefore two stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
5
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The place is very basic and the staff was pretty friendly. Mariposa lodge provides good lodging for travelers willing to stop by on their way to Yosemite. We didn't expect nothing apart from a good place to stay for a night and it's just what we got.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

After traveling for 12 hours, I was looking for somewhere simple and clean to stay. This place was great. Nice, basic, clean place. Reception was helpful and friendly. The person at the front desk stayed late to allow me to check in. Seems to be a family business and I was happy to have stayed there. Wi-fi worked great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

When we phoned we found that the #1 rated Miner's Inn was full but they recommended the Mother Lode Lodge. They must have relatives who own the Mother Lode Lodge. We needed 3 double rooms. We were told they were available but the cancelation period had already ended. We gave our CC number and continued our drive to Mariposa. OMG, no one (upon seeing this place) would pay more than $59/nt. With tax we paid $145 for a large, ill-equipped, room. The beds need replacing. Bring your own soap. The air conditioner was so noisy that we couldn't listen to the tiny TV. Don't stay there until you have exhausted all other possibilities in Marisposa. When we went to the office to complain at 8:30PM we found that it was closed and wouldn't reopen until 1PM the next day. We were long gone by then!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a lucky find. Mariposa is a very nice little town, the perfect place from which to stage day trips to Yosemite and the surrounding area. There are lots of hotels in Mariposa, and this is the kind I like the most: A clean, well-kept hotel with comfortable beds, owned and operated by a nice person who's onsite, staffed by helpful, friendly people, close to town but tucked away just enough to provide quiet, privacy, and security. Loved the swimming pool. Once you're there you don't have to drive; you can walk to everything you're likely to need from town. Highly recommend the Mother Lode, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were going to stay here, but hearing how the owner spoke to another guest, we went elsewhere. The lady who runs the place must have learnt her skills from Basil in Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Quiet location. Easy walk to restaurants. Family owned and operated which was nice. Good swimming pool. Free wifi. Coffee making facilites.

This is really a hotel not a BB or homestay!

Not to far too national park. Be sure to stop at information centre as the old lady in there is a wealth of information!

We must have has the same room as previous reviewer as our air con was noisy too!

The pizza shop in town (Pizza factory??) makes awesome pizzas and delivers to hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mother Lode Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Lodge

Address: 5051 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Mother Lode Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother Lode Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.