We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of quiet and comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn the Country

Inn the Country
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariposa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn the Country
Save
You added Inn the Country to your Saves list
3853 Highway 49 South, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Oasis of quiet and comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were guests for a short weekend and found Judy to be a gracious host. We had traveled a good many hours to get to Mariposa, to visit Yosemite over the weekend. Most of the accomodations in Mariposa are expensive and we didn't see anything at a decent price that wasn't a bit run down. This Inn is an affordable bit of civilization for the weary traveller who wants peace, quiet and, well, "normal" home like accomodations. The rooms are extremely nice and though the breakfast may not be gourmet, Judy provides a bountiful amount of seasonal fruit & other continental breakfast foods, that are fresh.....not low quality like most hotels provide. Judy is attentive to the needs of her guests and helpful in steering you toward area restuarants and activities. Our only suggestion would be that she might provide window fans for the rooms, for those lovely summer nights. For those who like soft pillow top like beds, go for the queen size. For those who enjoy a firmer bed, go for the twin beds !

Room Tip: The queen beds are super comfy and the twin beds are nice & firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We came for some hiking in Yosemite. We started by reserving 2 nights at Judy's B&B and ended up spending 4 nights. The breakfast was really great, the location was a bit remote, but it made it more affordable to us. Judy is a great host, we really enjoyed staying at the B&B. Everything was spotless clean and comfy, made us feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden. Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I can only agree with the other reviews. Judy was a great host and made a really nice breakfast.
Everything was clean and comfortable. We missed wifi access.
It was a little hard to find; no signs off the road and our TomTom was not accurate enough to get us there. But we did find it after asking someone for directions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The perfect home away from home (and a much needed break from hotel chains). Was a little hard to find from the road without any signs but once we found it - it was great! The room was a really good size and Judy couldn't have been more hospitable and helpful. The room and bathroom was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great too. It's still an hour out of Yosemite but a great gateway to the park and the little town of Mariposa.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Inn the country is in a quiet location close to the small village of Bootjack, about 6 mlies from Mariposa., It is around 75 minutes drive to the El Portal entrance to Yosemite. Accommodation is limited and expenive in the park, and most people appear to stay in towns some way from the park. Mariposa is probably one of the better places to stay. This is an excellent budget b&b, if you are Ok without television or internet access in the rooms. The bedrooms are nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The b&b is run by a lovely retired lady who provides an excellent breakfast. Altogether a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We reserved it online as a stopping place to spend one night. on our way from Yosemite to San Francisco, just based on the photos and the quick and nice response of the owner.
And we had a wonderful surprise.
We found ourselves spending a night in a new and carefully decorated country-themed home.
Our room,the Bird Room, was exquisitely decorated and very pleasant.
Judy is a wonderful host .and she prepares an excellent continental breakast..
I had been in many bed and breakasts in Italy, Spain and France and can say without doubt that this is one of the best b&b I have been!!.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Hi. I was in "inn the country" in September 2010. The bed & breakfast is very nice. Is a small house, couple of miles far from Mariposa, with 3 rooms available.
It is really nice and clean. The bed is very confortable, and the area is very quiet (good to rest...).Jody, the owner, is very friendly and pleasant. The breakfast is really good (coffe or te, different kinds of cereals, some fruit, juice, and muffins / baggels).
It is good communicated (as said, couples of miles from Mariposa), and a little bit less than 1 hour trip to Yosemite Village.
I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
13.5 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mariposa
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
8.7 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Country

Address: 3853 Highway 49 South, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn the Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.