We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Pine Cafe

Sugar Pine Cafe
5038 Hwy 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
209-742-7793
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 restaurants in Mariposa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Classic american comfort food,from fresh baked pastries and pies to soups and chili, all made from scratch daily. Great burger, fries and shakes too.
Erial, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We came for dinner, and are glad we did! The Chili and cornbread were awesome! My husband's Jerk Chicken with Habanero/Mango Sauce was fantastic! (SO glad he shares ;) I will have to take my son's word that his cheesburger was good too. My only regret is that I didn't get one of those Apple Maple Scones I saw people buying by the box full. I was stuffed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    117
    57
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Mariposa you would not expect to find somewhere so vintage to have a cooked breakfast, but this typical american diner is fab! Great hash browns and eggs served.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Ok, you are in a very small city, and all in a sudden you find that little diner.
Good food. Very vintage!
I just thing prices are a little high, and staff could be somehow a little bit more friendly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Adorable little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate here three times while staying in Mariposa. We had breakfast twice - huge pancakes and great spinach omelettes. The waitresses were so friendly and made you feel like you were at home. Lunch was great too - real comfort food!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midpines, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, fresh home made and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice little home town cafe, the food is fresh, tasty, prepared to order. I was disappointed in the slow service, but in their defense they were extremely busy. It was at least fifteen minutes before we were given menus and water, they had plenty of employees, but they seemed to be busy doing other things. Again in their defense it was worth the wait.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Pine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Pine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Pine Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.