We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Pine Cafe

Sugar Pine Cafe
5038 Hwy 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
209-742-7793
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Classic american comfort food,from fresh baked pastries and pies to soups and chili, all made from scratch daily. Great burger, fries and shakes too.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Sugar Pine is consistently the best food in Mariposa. I really haven't had any bad food here. The bleu burger is so good. They also have a very good wait staff. Overall it is a wonderful little cafe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    85
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place has a great atmosphere! The decor/theme is like a 50s diner and the food was fantastic. We stopped here after getting into Mariposa after a flight from the east coast and a drive from San Jose. It was a good way to end a very long day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“LOVED it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Breakfast and a show. Be sure to save some room and get a scone for the road. All baking is done on premises and everything is wonderful. If it's Anthony at the grill, he's like a one-man symphony. It's wonderful here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great local diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Found this on our breakfast hunt. Great service, clean. Reasonable prices. A definite stop. Would recommend. Unsure about other meals, only saw breakfast menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice diner for breakfast and dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We called in here for breakfast before spending a day in Yosemite. The food was very nice. I actually had 'cheesy grits' with my bacon and eggs. Being English I have never encountered this type of food before. For the uniniciated it comprised of boiled cornmeal with cheese and is not disimilar to Pollenta. It was quite pleasant but I doubt whether I would order it again for brekkie. The following day we called in for dinner. I had a 'Jamaican Jerk Chicken' special. Having been to Jamaica and eaten Jerk before I can report that what I had wasn't the same as Jamaica, nonetheless it was very nice and tasty. The wine list was limited but the quality of the wines available was very good.

On both occasions the staff were very good, cheerful and helpful and took a genuine interest in us. The Cafe has a warm, friendly feel to it. A lot of the customers in there were clearly locals, which I always consider to be a good sign. If the waiting staff here could go next door to Savourys you would probably have the perfect combination.

I would reccommend Sugar Pine for its welcoming, friendly service, and its down to earth, no frills, tasty, wholesome food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Pine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Pine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Pine Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.