We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Yosemite Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4501 Bridgeport Drive, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Alameda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved the cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a delightful stay here in early November. Rented the 2 bedroom cottage. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Really enjoyed the deck as well -- in the mornings and at dusk. Saw deer, quail, wild turkey, and red tail hawks. Would stay there again in a minute. P.S. Breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Looking for somewhere to stay for a visit to Yosemite can be trying and like many others we spent time carefully searching for a bed and breakfast which would suit us - look no further! The hosts Clay and Joy were very welcoming and staying at their B&B was a great choice. The accomodation was spacious, clean and quiet with a few added extras - the sweetie treat jar, not forgetting to mention the deer and hummingbirds adding a sense of peace and tranquility to everywhere. Being invited into such a beautiful home for a lovely breakfast is a great way to start your day. Although this B&B is an hours drive to the park, it is a very scenic drive and really is just part of the experience of Yosemite itself - don't let this put you off. Mariposa is a quaint little place, worth a visit as you are passing through.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After tons of research on where to stay for our visit to Yosemite we decided on Yosemite B&B in the quaint town of Mariposa. Let me just say our expectations were surpassed!! We arrived to this B&B despite the "Google Map" directions sending us driving down "OLD HWY" which was quite the scary drive however eventually got us to the B&B and we later found there was a much easier and safer way to arrive to this beautiful place. Wow Joy & Clay have sure found a little slice of paradise that they are willing to share with their guests. We stayed in the Sierra room which was all we needed for myself, my husband and our 9 year old son Gavin. The room was very welcoming and large enough for a roll-away bed for our son and the bed was comfortable . There was a TV, Coffee Maker and a nice touch was a jar of M&M's and trail mix. We arrived late afternoon and planned to get up very early in order to avoid the traffic entering Yosemite park the next morning. So we threw on our bathing suits and enjoyed some time in the pool, it was so hot, what a wonderful amenity that was! Because we left so early the next morning we missed the breakfast that Joy prepares... however the next morning we were able to have breakfast with Joy and Clay who really go all out. Homemade french toast with 3 different types of syrup that Clay bragged were homemade by Joy...delish! It was wonderful. We sat at the table enjoying the other guests company and it was quite the experience. One of my favorite things at this B&B was the deck in the back of the house that had to have 100 hummingbirds buzzing around ... it was magical. Not mention their "pet deer" that came up to feed in their back yard each evening, a fawn & a buck! It was an easy drive to the Park and we couldn't imagine there be a better place to stay for a visit to our beautiful National Park! If you decide on Yosemite Bed & Breakfast you will NOT be disappointed. A GREAT BIG THANKS TO JOY & CLAY FOR OUR AMAZING STAY!

Room Tip: Sierra room was perfect for us, however they do offer larger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This bed and breakfast is worth the hour drive to get to the park. Clay and Joy renewed my faith at staying at a bed and breakfast. The location is quiet and secluded. Every morning and evening wild turkey, deer, doves and quail come to the deck. There are endless hummingbirds to enjoy. Clay and Joy make you feel welcome upon arrival. Our room was clean and spacious. There are hammocks to relax in and seating to enjoy the views. That is just the outside....Joy prepared delicious breakfasts and nothing repeated the three days we were there. We drove from San Francisco and I would recommend GPS, because this location is a little tricky to find. This is definetly a great place to relax before and after a day of traveling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ahhhhhhh....That is what we have to say about Clay and Joy’s heavenly Yosemite B&B! If you are looking for the Ritz...it’s not here (thank God!) What you WILL find here are two fantastic people that make you feel at home like family! When we arrived, they invite you into their modest but welcoming home! They are so down to earth, you just want to hug them!
We stayed at their B&B for 3 nights, June 9-12, 2012. The first night we stayed in the main house because the unattached “Sierra” was unavailable. The “Sage Room” was charming, but small, which was ok, because we only spent the night there, then left early for Yosemite for a long day of hiking.
Upon our return, Clay had moved our bags over to the Sierra for us, ready to finish moving in!
The Sierra is quite roomy! We loved the feel of the room, windows could open to get the great cool night breeze! We need to mention that the toiletries in all of the rooms, are of the quality of a fine hotel/spa, and we felt pampered!
We had breakfast 2 of the 3 days that we were there, (due to the early departure the first morning) and it was outstanding! Joy loves to cook (she glows while doing it!) and it was such a treat, with fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juices, omelets and sweet breads! They will visit with you as much as you would like, but not intrusive at all!
On the last day, we had already spent a lot of time in Yosemite, and the temps were soaring into the low 90’s, so we went back mid-afternoon to the B&B, and took advantage of their great pool!
As others have mentioned, their love for nature is obvious! Several humming bird feeders keep the resident birds busy! At night, Clay would turn the lights off on the deck so that we could star gaze, and what a magnificent sight! We cant recall the last time we have seen such a dark night sky, unobstructed by streetlights! (We even saw a HUGE shooting star!)
Yes, it is an hour from either entrance into Yosemite, Yes, it is out in the country, and YES, we would go back in a heartbeat (Only, we would stay longer!)

Room Tip: We loved the Sierra, which was unattached from the main house, quite large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It is about an hour and 20 minutes to the Yosemite Valley Floor. That's the only con I can find about this place and as this stay was a part of a 2500+ miles roadtrip we were used to the driving and most of the drive is very scenic along the Merced River.

The pros were countless.
Clay and Joy made us feel like family. Breakfast was served in their kitchen one day and the living room the other. It was a mix of fresh fruit, pastry, sausage, ham, and eggs the two mornings my girlfriend and I had staying here.

The pool was still nice as the sun was going down and the pool was in the shade. The patio was the most calm place I can remember sitting. It had the sunset and it overlooked the hills. You could sense how much Clay and Joy enjoyed the wildlife as they cared for birds as well as deers. There was a lot of hummingbirds, turkeys, and in the evening we saw families of deer both evenings we were there. The experience of staying here is unlike anything I can remember and I would recommend the place in a heartbeat.

It is a 5-10 minutes drive to Mariposa that has grocery shopping and a variety of dining opportunities. The town is nice and we met only nice people there.

We went to Yosemite both days we were there but I could see how you could spend a whole day relaxing at the B&B.

I could go on praising this place but I'll just finish by saying that I would recommend everyone to make this place the stay of their trip to Yosemite or just a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Five minutes drive from the center of Mariposa yo will find Clay and Joy and the Yosemite B&B. We (I and my wife) stayed there for two nights at the beginning of this month (July 2012) and we remember with pleasure the nice and welcoming people that they are, the spacious room that was decorated in good taste, the relaxing 'feel at home' atmosphere and that every tiny detail had been thought of and every item a guest may need put in its right place. They have a nice swimming pool that we did not have a chance to use (our purpose was to visit Yosemite National Park) and the breakfeast was delicious with home baked pastry. And did I mention the fields pastures and West Country scenery that surrounds you there and brings up memories from old Westerns?....but this really depends on your immagination, something your hosts can't supply and yet you may freely use...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4501 Bridgeport Drive, Mariposa, CA 95338
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Bed and Breakfast is gently hidden down a country lane, nestled in the oaks and pines. It is located just five miles west of the historic gold mining town of Mariposa, and 45 minutes from Yosemite National Park. Leave the city with it's noise and lights and enjoy a night where you can gaze at the brilliant stars in the sky and experience a different kind of quiet, only to be ocassionally interrupted by the song of a bird, the chirp of a cricket or the croak of a frog. Wild life watching and our resident humming birds remain star attractions. Our facilities include an independant, fully furnished 2 bedroom cottage and 2 individual rooms each with their own private bathroom. The cottage sleeps 2 couples or 4 people very comfortabley. It is possible to sleep 6 with the sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Hotel Mariposa
Yosemite b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.