We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Mariposa, Ca.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Lodge to your Saves list
Mariposa Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay in Mariposa, Ca.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mariposa Lodge for two nights on August 6 and 7, 2013. We were very pleasantly surprised. The Lodge was cute and had very pretty flowers all around the property. The rooms are all exterior and you pull your car up to your door. Our room was very large and comfortable. What matters the most to me and my family is how clean everything is and it definitely was very clean. The shower worked great and we were able to relax and watch some TV after a long day in Yosemite! We didn't use the pool but even though it was small it wasn't crowded. The office staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet and we really didn't hear any street noise or neighbor noise. There are several good places to eat nearby and the town is old fashioned cute! Yosemite is about an hour's drive away but it's a nice drive and we didn't have any traffic ( we went early). I would definitely recommend a stay at the Mariposa Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    181
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
91
164
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grand rapids mi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights based on reviews & location & were very satisfied! We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was. The bed was extremely comfortable & we slept like rocks! The room was very clean, which is key to getting a good review from me. Plenty of restaurants to choose from in the town & the front desk has a book with menus from each. We enjoyed our meal at Happy Burger so much we got takeout the next night as well (try the teriyaki chicken sandwich, I had it 2 nights in a row).
Now for some tourist tips. We arrived mid afternoon on a Wed and had to leave town by mid afternoon on Friday so we stopped to the visitor center to find out how we could maximize our time there. The woman that helped us said there are 2 MUST SEE destinations: Mariposa Grove of the Giant Sequoias (not in the town of Mariposa) and Glacier Point. She was dead on with this advice. We drove to Mariposa Grove the evening we arrived. We took 49 to the grove...a little over an hour drive. Amazing place to visit....LOVED it! Barely any crowd that late in the day. The next morning we set out for Yosemite Valley. The drive is very twisty & I did not like it. We left at 8:00am and barely encountered any traffic, which was great. Took under an hour to get to the first stop of Bridal Veil Falls (very easy, short paved hike). In the valley we used the free shuttles to hop on & off a few stops then headed towards Glacier Point. It is about 1hour 15min from the valley floor. Again, hated the dizzying drive but when the scene unfolds before you it takes your breathe away. LOVED this place too! We then drove back to the valley & went to the stops we still wanted to see. We really got a lot in, everything we wanted to see. We left the valley around 7:15pm because I did not want to be on the roads after the sun set. Again, very few cars on the road.
Stay here, stop at the visitor center & enjoy your trip. The whole experience was more than we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this motel for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite. Usually I like to stay within the park when visiting our national parks but the poor quality and high prices of in-park accomodations lately has me leaning more toward these hotels on the edges of the parks instead. This hotel was about an hour from Yosemite valley driving one path and an hour from Wawona via Oakhurst driving the other path. So a fine location for a full day visit to park but not really practical to go back to in middle of the day or anything. We were happy with the room and beds. Pool and hot tub are small but we used them both evenings to cool down after hiking at the park and were satisfied. Several places to eat and shop within easy walking distance of the motel. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose to stay here versus paying the higher prices for places within Yosemite or very close to it. We have learned (the hard way) that very often you are not getting what you pay for at these places. Many times they are overcharging and not bothering about taking care of the lodgings because they know they have you over a barrel and that you will pay it regardless.

When we arrived, we went to check in at the office. The lodge is obviously a family run operation, as there was a mother with her kids in the office. She had a little trouble finding our reservation, which made us a bit anxious, but she did locate it and gave us a room away from the other occupants. This made for a quieter stay, which was much appreciated.

We inquired about laundry facilities and while the hotel didn’t have any for the lodgers to use, she gave us directions to one in town. As it was a rainy afternoon, we figured it would be a good time to do it.

The room was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but you could tell by the stale, musty smell that the previous occupants had smoked quite a bit in there. I sure hope they were charged the hefty fine the sign stated violators would incur for breaking the rule. Opening the windows helped vent the room, but, as anyone who has had to deal with cigarette smoke knows, it is quite near impossible to totally get rid of. It is because of this unfortunate detail that I had to rate the cleanliness lower than I might have otherwise.

The room came equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, TV, and Wi-Fi. While the lodge didn’t serve complimentary breakfast, we went to the grocery store in town and got our own breakfast items.

The town of Mariposa, while small, still has a number of restaurants and other essential services, so you should be able to find anything you need.

This was a fine alternative to paying the high cost of staying closer or within the park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My brother, elderly mother and I, stayed for 4 nights midweek at the Mariposa. The room was large enough for 3 adults with all their luggage and a rollaway bed, too. I was surprised at how spacious the room was for being a motel. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the size of the pool and the hot tub; both were small. On the other hand we went to Yosemite every day, so we really didn't have a lot of time to just hang by the pool. Overall, we had a good experience there, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We really fell in love with this place, on our way to Yosemite ! Hotel is very nice, rooms are spacious and clean, we felt like at home ! The pool is not big but ok for the kids since it was very hot. Girl at front desk is ok.
Had a terrific diner at Happy Burger !

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I don't have a bad review about the hotel. However, the young lady that attended us when we arrived on June 20nd at 11 am-ish, were almost yelling at us for arriving before the cheking-in hour, she was very impolite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.