We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal outside Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mariposa Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best deal outside Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are looking for a great price on a motel less than 45 minutes outside Yosemite look no more. Although looking at this motel from the street I was worried as its really old school...the inside however was very updated with flat screen TVs and updated rooms. Being originally an older hotel the rooms are extremely spacious and clean. The front office person, she was very friendly. Don't forget this time of year chains may be required to enter Yosemite or you will be turned back so get them outside the park as they are $70 and $40 to put them on in the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    160
    63
    19
    12
See reviews for
75
148
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Mariposa Lodge is located in the middle of Mariposa. Perfect for walking to various places after being on the road. We stayed after an all day Yosemite tour. Our room was clean and spacious. The bath has been upgraded with tile. A great place for the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Spent two nights and days in this charming little Sierra Foothills town about 45 min out side of Yosemite. The museum is charming and has incredible local history all the way back to John C. Fremont who lived nearby, old buildings restored, Art galleries, good restaurants. The Mariposa lodge has lots of rooms basically all are on one level, very clean and was quiet since we were there just after Thanksgiving. The lodge is in the middle of Mariposa and you can walk from one end of town to the other. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: recommend rooms in back, or balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice motel located on the main highway in Mariposa, rooms are clean if a little small (particularly the bathrooms), motel was quiet enough. Can't say anything to recommend it over any other hotel or motel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is an America's Best Value Inn property, and the one we stayed in near Groveland was better than this one in Mariposa. The woman at the front desk was not friendly and initially insisted that we had booked a king room, when we had actually booked two beds. She only believed us after we showed her our printed out confirmation email.

The exterior of the hotel is well-maintained with flowerbeds and chairs in front of each room door, but the rooms definitely need updating. Decor is outdated and the room smelled musty, despite the number of windows (one in the bathroom, one in the back hallway, and two in the front). The shower was a small cubicle with a curtain and no light inside, and the only place to put toiletries was very high up. The counter space near the sink was also very limited. The beds are definitely comfortable, though.

The walls are pretty thin and we could hear people on either side of our room.

The location of the hotel was its best asset. It's an easy walk to some great restaurants (Savoury's and Sugar Pine Cafe) and right near a gas station.

Note that if you're looking for convenience to enter/exit Yosemite, Oakhurst is closer to the gate and much larger. Mariposa was a really quirky town though, and I'm glad we got the chance to see it.

Room Tip: If you're able to get a room at the very end, you'll only have 1 neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent property. Very clean, comfortable beds, lovely grounds which looked lovingly cared for. Easy access with parking right in front of your unit. Spacious room with sliding glass door and balcony. No breakfast, but there is a fantastic restaurant a short half block away. (Sugar Pine Cafe) Great breakfast there. Good value for your money. The town is cute, as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent an hour in Mariposa looking for a room to stay for one night in our way to Yosemite. We saw 4 different rooms in for different hotels. We chose the Mariposa Lodge.
It was very good: clean, spacious, quiet (avoid rooms facing the highway!) and inexpensive.
For some reason, the first room they gave us to check was dark and uninviting. We asked to see another room which was perfect!
A very good place to spend the night on the way to or from Yosemite. If I ever get a chance I will stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.