We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky charming town, average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mariposa Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mariposa Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky charming town, average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is an America's Best Value Inn property, and the one we stayed in near Groveland was better than this one in Mariposa. The woman at the front desk was not friendly and initially insisted that we had booked a king room, when we had actually booked two beds. She only believed us after we showed her our printed out confirmation email.

The exterior of the hotel is well-maintained with flowerbeds and chairs in front of each room door, but the rooms definitely need updating. Decor is outdated and the room smelled musty, despite the number of windows (one in the bathroom, one in the back hallway, and two in the front). The shower was a small cubicle with a curtain and no light inside, and the only place to put toiletries was very high up. The counter space near the sink was also very limited. The beds are definitely comfortable, though.

The walls are pretty thin and we could hear people on either side of our room.

The location of the hotel was its best asset. It's an easy walk to some great restaurants (Savoury's and Sugar Pine Cafe) and right near a gas station.

Note that if you're looking for convenience to enter/exit Yosemite, Oakhurst is closer to the gate and much larger. Mariposa was a really quirky town though, and I'm glad we got the chance to see it.

Room Tip: If you're able to get a room at the very end, you'll only have 1 neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    144
    56
    18
    10
See reviews for
64
133
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent property. Very clean, comfortable beds, lovely grounds which looked lovingly cared for. Easy access with parking right in front of your unit. Spacious room with sliding glass door and balcony. No breakfast, but there is a fantastic restaurant a short half block away. (Sugar Pine Cafe) Great breakfast there. Good value for your money. The town is cute, as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent an hour in Mariposa looking for a room to stay for one night in our way to Yosemite. We saw 4 different rooms in for different hotels. We chose the Mariposa Lodge.
It was very good: clean, spacious, quiet (avoid rooms facing the highway!) and inexpensive.
For some reason, the first room they gave us to check was dark and uninviting. We asked to see another room which was perfect!
A very good place to spend the night on the way to or from Yosemite. If I ever get a chance I will stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was a little nervous about these reservations, but was I surprised! Great value, super location in a fabulous small town. Room was clean and neat when we arrived, we parked car and walked to everything! Staff gave good advise on dinner and drink suggestions. Would stay again, great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just checked in, busy saturday night for a little town and the weather is amazing. The Hotel is right in the middle of town which makes it perfect to walk around to the restaraunts and shops. Got honest reccomendations for dinner and breakfast from the very nice young lady at the front desk, made us feel very welcomed, and helped alot with the area.The room is super clean and spacious with wonderfully kept gardens out front. The pool and spa are very small, but nice and the bed is super comfortable. We will definatly keep this place in mind! Im only rating the fitness center as terrible because there was none...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hmmm...my husband and I found this to be a clean place but not great for a solid night's sleep - which is our top priority.
We ended up in a room near the street, but the very loud A/C unit (which we don't mind so much) did a pretty good job drowning it out. The main problem for us with the loud A/C unit was that it would totally shut off when the room finally got cool. So we went from loud white noise to zero white noise - very disruptive for sound sleep.
The night we stayed as on a warmer day, so the room was very warm when we got in about 9 PM. It took hours to cool down the room.
The mattress was too saggy for us. With the warm room and the saggy mattress pushing up around me, I ended up sleeping on the floor for a few hours till I could stand the heat the mattress put off. Then we both got cold on top with having to run the A/C at the lowest temp possible to keep it from shutting off. Last part of the night was disrupted with being hot on the mattress and cold (even with the duvet) on top of us...ugh....
The internet connection was a bit of an issue at first. Try a couple of the extra connection options for a better connection.
The service we experienced was tired after a long day and a little apathetic. The office smells very clean.
Won't be back. We'll stick with better accommodations in Oakhurst.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room in the back to get some distance from noise from loud vehicles on the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Not 'cheap' but probably one of the best value places within 1 hour drive of Yosemite. Beds are exceptionally comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi and pool but it looked very clean and pleasant. Very easy to walk to a couple of great places to eat in less than 5 minutes. This gives better food options than staying closer to or within Yosemite NP.

Room Tip: It is on the main road, so you may want to request a room away from the road. Although we certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa
Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.