We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Lodge to your Saves list
Mariposa Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First Rate Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent property. Very clean, comfortable beds, lovely grounds which looked lovingly cared for. Easy access with parking right in front of your unit. Spacious room with sliding glass door and balcony. No breakfast, but there is a fantastic restaurant a short half block away. (Sugar Pine Cafe) Great breakfast there. Good value for your money. The town is cute, as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    209
    85
    24
    13
See reviews for
106
192
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent an hour in Mariposa looking for a room to stay for one night in our way to Yosemite. We saw 4 different rooms in for different hotels. We chose the Mariposa Lodge.
It was very good: clean, spacious, quiet (avoid rooms facing the highway!) and inexpensive.
For some reason, the first room they gave us to check was dark and uninviting. We asked to see another room which was perfect!
A very good place to spend the night on the way to or from Yosemite. If I ever get a chance I will stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was a little nervous about these reservations, but was I surprised! Great value, super location in a fabulous small town. Room was clean and neat when we arrived, we parked car and walked to everything! Staff gave good advise on dinner and drink suggestions. Would stay again, great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just checked in, busy saturday night for a little town and the weather is amazing. The Hotel is right in the middle of town which makes it perfect to walk around to the restaraunts and shops. Got honest reccomendations for dinner and breakfast from the very nice young lady at the front desk, made us feel very welcomed, and helped alot with the area.The room is super clean and spacious with wonderfully kept gardens out front. The pool and spa are very small, but nice and the bed is super comfortable. We will definatly keep this place in mind! Im only rating the fitness center as terrible because there was none...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hmmm...my husband and I found this to be a clean place but not great for a solid night's sleep - which is our top priority.
We ended up in a room near the street, but the very loud A/C unit (which we don't mind so much) did a pretty good job drowning it out. The main problem for us with the loud A/C unit was that it would totally shut off when the room finally got cool. So we went from loud white noise to zero white noise - very disruptive for sound sleep.
The night we stayed as on a warmer day, so the room was very warm when we got in about 9 PM. It took hours to cool down the room.
The mattress was too saggy for us. With the warm room and the saggy mattress pushing up around me, I ended up sleeping on the floor for a few hours till I could stand the heat the mattress put off. Then we both got cold on top with having to run the A/C at the lowest temp possible to keep it from shutting off. Last part of the night was disrupted with being hot on the mattress and cold (even with the duvet) on top of us...ugh....
The internet connection was a bit of an issue at first. Try a couple of the extra connection options for a better connection.
The service we experienced was tired after a long day and a little apathetic. The office smells very clean.
Won't be back. We'll stick with better accommodations in Oakhurst.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room in the back to get some distance from noise from loud vehicles on the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Not 'cheap' but probably one of the best value places within 1 hour drive of Yosemite. Beds are exceptionally comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi and pool but it looked very clean and pleasant. Very easy to walk to a couple of great places to eat in less than 5 minutes. This gives better food options than staying closer to or within Yosemite NP.

Room Tip: It is on the main road, so you may want to request a room away from the road. Although we certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a great find cheap and cheerful but staff knowledge about area was great outdoor pool and jacuzzi and we definitely needed this after a long walk ay in the park great restaurants in walk distance and great little shop opposite for breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
17.4 mi away
Wawona Hotel
Wawona Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
20.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
0.6 mi away
Miners Inn Motel
Miners Inn Motel
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
3.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.