We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud White Noise to Zero White Noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mariposa Lodge to your Saves list
Mariposa Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Loud White Noise to Zero White Noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hmmm...my husband and I found this to be a clean place but not great for a solid night's sleep - which is our top priority.
We ended up in a room near the street, but the very loud A/C unit (which we don't mind so much) did a pretty good job drowning it out. The main problem for us with the loud A/C unit was that it would totally shut off when the room finally got cool. So we went from loud white noise to zero white noise - very disruptive for sound sleep.
The night we stayed as on a warmer day, so the room was very warm when we got in about 9 PM. It took hours to cool down the room.
The mattress was too saggy for us. With the warm room and the saggy mattress pushing up around me, I ended up sleeping on the floor for a few hours till I could stand the heat the mattress put off. Then we both got cold on top with having to run the A/C at the lowest temp possible to keep it from shutting off. Last part of the night was disrupted with being hot on the mattress and cold (even with the duvet) on top of us...ugh....
The internet connection was a bit of an issue at first. Try a couple of the extra connection options for a better connection.
The service we experienced was tired after a long day and a little apathetic. The office smells very clean.
Won't be back. We'll stick with better accommodations in Oakhurst.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room in the back to get some distance from noise from loud vehicles on the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    181
    75
    22
    13
See reviews for
91
164
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Not 'cheap' but probably one of the best value places within 1 hour drive of Yosemite. Beds are exceptionally comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi and pool but it looked very clean and pleasant. Very easy to walk to a couple of great places to eat in less than 5 minutes. This gives better food options than staying closer to or within Yosemite NP.

Room Tip: It is on the main road, so you may want to request a room away from the road. Although we certainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a great find cheap and cheerful but staff knowledge about area was great outdoor pool and jacuzzi and we definitely needed this after a long walk ay in the park great restaurants in walk distance and great little shop opposite for breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Large comfortable room with table and chairs. Balcony with two chairs. Super comfortable bed. Although on the main road the place is set back and my room was very quiet. The room was very clean and the staff pleasant. Walking distance to shops and diners in town. Allow an hour and a quarter for the drive to Yosemite park. One quibble. They could put more than one coffee satchet and two tea bags in the room like all the other places I stayed on this trip.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony facing the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was large and clean and the bathroom was modern. The grounds were nicely appointed and there were tables for sitting outside. The location is such that you can walk to local restaurants and a couple of taverns. Service was friendly, helpful and efficient. I would definitely recommend staying here while in Mariposa. If you are looking for a Yosemite base, the drive along Highway 140 is extremely scenic and takes approximately an hour. Our only complaint was that the wifi was not always reliable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 14th September 2012. We stayed here as hotels in Yosemite are a bit hit and miss. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. The rooms are big and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the swimming pool and spa ( although small) is beautiful in the evening and is a good spot with a beer. The court yard has free and secure parking and there are lots of summer seats around for a sit down in the sun.free wifi also. Got up the the next morning fully refreshed for a day at Yosemite. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Staff was super helpful and friendly, giving honest dining recommendations like you were a friend from out of town. Clean room with nicely maintained grounds; was pleasant to walk around the place. About an hour to the park and excellent value. Altogether a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariposa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Lodge

Address: 5052 Highway 140, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariposa Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mariposa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Mariposa
Americas Best Value Inns Mariposa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.