We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Marina del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Marina del Rey to your Saves list
The Inn at Marina del Rey
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in August for a family wedding in Santa Monica. We had about 10 rooms in the end. We called ahead and weren't able to officially get a group rate but the manager was very accommodating and gave us a discount for a short period of time when we called in May.

Rooms were perfect for what we needed. Beds and linens were very nice and comfortable. There were coffee makers and small fridges in all of our rooms. Bathrooms were nicely appointed.

Breakfast in their lounge was very nice. Hot items varied between eggs, bacon, sausage, and the like. They always had a waffle maker that you could make your own waffles. The staff was always refilling the station and were very helpful. There was cereal, bagels, muffins, etc. each day along with hard-boiled eggs. Some fruit was available

This hotel is about a mile from the beach. Each morning many members of my family had a very nice walk down to the beach and back. It's not close but it's flat and we all wanted some exercise. One day we also walked to a bike shop about 2 blocks from the beach and rented 17 bikes for a fabulous ride up to Santa Monica and back. Very fun. Overcast most of the time which was perfect.

The staff at the hotel was very accommodating to our needs. They were able to let us bring in pizza and use a common area when we got back from our wedding.

The pool is small but very nice. The jacuzzi is very inviting and integrated into the pool area very nicely. There is a very nice outdoor gathering area by the pool as well.

All the rooms are enclosed inside a street front but the hallways, interestingly, are open to the air. It is very secure but at the same time open to the elements.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very similar, updated and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I’m so glad the group discount worked out for you, and I’m thrilled you enjoyed our free breakfast and friendly staff. Please come back to see us again soon!

Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    360
    90
    22
    5
See reviews for
323
277
35
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The good stuff:
a) less expensive than other hotels in the areas e.g. Jamaica Bay Inn
b) nice retro architecture
c) seriously big rooms with good bathrooms
d) clean
e) great staff (Francisco was amazing on the front desk - knows all the cool restaurants and routes to get around)
f) no overnight parking charges of compulsory valet
g) the beds are large and comfortable

The not so good:
a) a very long way from Venice Beach
b) lots of tattooed guests which you don't get at the Jamaica Bay Inn
c) breakfast is self service, narrow selection of budget food and often a line to get a table

If you need a place to stay for a few days which is clean but not very expensive then this is a great place (I would stay again) - but this is not a place you should consider for an anniversary or a first overnight date!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, cleanliness and friendly front desk. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights on our Los Angeles vacation. The rooms were nice, large and clean but not more than other motels we have stayed in. It is not so close to the beach as we had expected and had to walk a long way to get there. The vicinity is beautiful next to Venice canals and the marina. Good service from front desk but they could be a bit warmer.
At first we got a room facing the street and it was very noisy so we asked to change the room, which they did.
Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of fruit, cereals, eggs an waffles, which were great.
The price -280$ per night was too expensive for such a place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our free breakfast and large guest rooms. Please come back to see us again soon! We genuinely appreciate your business.
Warmest regards,
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were more than satisfied with our stay at The Inn. The room was large, quiet and comfortable. Good breakfast with both hot and cold foods included, but the breakfast room tends to be crowded.
The little pool area, including spa, was nice to relax in after a day in busy LA. Being able to park the car in the garage (no extra charge) felt safe.
Nice perks: Free coffe and cookies in the lobby.
What we appreciated most at The Inn was the staff. Jason at the desk, houseman Antonio and all the rest were extremely helpful, always greeted us with a smile and had knowledgeable answers to our questions.
The Venice Beach boardwalk is only 1,5 kilometers away - don´t hesitate to walk! You´ll get exercise and save parking money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Washington Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We greatly appreciated your review, and thank you for choosing the Inn at Marina del Rey. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly service, and close proximity to Venice Beach.
Please come back to see us again very soon. We’ll have the cookies ready for you!
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Convenient secure self parking at no charge. Staff (Jason and Francisco) very knowledgeable of LA area. Great home baked oatmeal raisin cookies at check in. Wonderful breakfast. Cleaning staff courteous and helpful. Even the other international and local guests were friendly. Great location for restaurants: Cucina for Italian and Eva at Akbar Indian cuisine. Jason recommended both. Loved the patio firepit and exceptionally reasonable room rates for the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our knowledgeable staff and nearby restaurants. Please come back to see us again soon! We genuinely appreciate your business.
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Inn at Marina del Rey for 4 nights, from the 14-18th of August.

Breakfast was included and you could get tea, coffee, and cockies for free in the lobby. There is this cute little pool area, which is open 24 hours a day. It is located near the beach, and the beach Broadway is lively and filled with small stores, which is well suited for tourists!
Room quality overall was perfect, there was a small kitchen area with a microwave, a fridge and a coffee machine. Our room was cleaned every day, we got new towels, the staff made our beds and fulfilled all of our needs.

Service was REALLY good! One of the Staff members named Jason, was exceptionally friendly - he helped us finding the best places to eat, what to see while we visited LA and how to get around safely. We needed a new suitcase, and he told us where it would be cheapest.
They let us check out an hour later than we were supposed to, and they kept our luggage while we were waiting. The common areas were nice with free Wi Fi, we even stayed there for 4 hours after we checked out because of our late flight departure, they didn't mind that at all and were still
friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We greatly appreciated your review, and thank you for choosing the Inn at Marina del Rey. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed our friendly service, and swimming pool. Please come back to see us again very soon. We’ll have the cookies ready for you!
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a recent visit to LA.

It was a $25 cab ride from LAX.

The rooms were nice & clean. Also very spacious. Although we did not spend a lot of time in the actual hotel, as we were out seeing the sights.

The breakfast was good, with lots of various hot & cold foods available (oatmeal, cold cereal, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruits, juices, coffee & teas) The attendant was filling up foods that needed to be replenished, very quickly. The breakfast room was average size, but was full both days I was there. You could also take a plate to various other spots around the hotel. Just make sure you're down there before they stop serving, or you'll be out of luck!

The second morning I was there, I arrived to breakfast a little late & had to wait in line for food! Some people that were already eating, decided that they did not need to wait in line again to get seconds & this really upset me. Jerks!

I stayed during July, so I guess it was very full of people vacationing during the summer. Seemed like a lot of European travelers (as I heard many different languages being spoken). Not that I have a problem with this, just pointing it out.

They had underground parking, which was nice. They also rented bikes, which you could ride down to Venice Beach. The hotel pool was very small, although I did not go in, it looked very clean & well looked after. There were nice places to sit & have a drink or just relax, around the hotel as well. They had a nice electric fire pit. You could also just sit & relax during the day, to catch some rays, in various spots around the hotel.

There was a few restaurants close by, which was convenient, as this was my first time in LA & I had no clue how to get anywhere. We arrived around 8 pm & went next door to the burger restaurant. The burgers were great! They did also serve other foods.

We were able to walk to Venice Beach. Although it was a 25 min walk, but it was doable. But just don't expect to walk out the hotel door & step onto the beach. If you want closer to the beach, it is available, but I'm sure you'll pay a little more for the convenience. Also don't be afraid (if you're not familiar with the area) to walk toward the beach, there is many more restaurants & stores along the way. I feel like the hotel employees kind of discouraged me from walking toward the beach, in search of food. Maybe because they want you to eat at the restaurants within a block of the hotel, or possibly because they don't want to be responsible for sending you on a hike to eat!

If I ever went back, I would stay at the Inn at Marina Del Rey again, it was a nice place to stay & the staff was also very nice & helpful.







  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We greatly appreciated your review. It’s nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the local area attractions as well. We hope to see you again very soon!
Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Marina del Rey

Address: 737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Marina del Rey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay near the legendary areas of Venice Beach and Santa Monica within easy access of Fisherman’s Village and the Ballona Wetlands. Enjoy the onsite pleasures of our open-air courtyard with comfortable chaise-lounges, fire pits and a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.