We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Marina del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Marina del Rey to your Saves list
The Inn at Marina del Rey
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and found the experience to be pleasant. The rooms are comfortable and nicely apppointed. The staff is friendly, courteous, and helpful. The hotel is located on a busy street although there are rooms at the back that are quiet but the view is not great.We appreciated the free parking and complimentary breakfast. Nearby is a very nice restaurant: Sunny Spot that I would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter but view is not great. Rooms on front have a view of the street but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed a comfortable stay in your room, and received terrific customer service. Your satisfaction is our #1 priority. Please come back to see us again soon!
– Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    385
    96
    24
    6
See reviews for
354
297
37
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. We were very satisfied. Room was clean, comfortable, and had fridge and microwave. Staff was helpful. They offered bike rentals which we indulged in, and rode around Venice Beach. It was so close to Venice Beach, what a delight. The breakfast was great and FREE! The pool is tiny, but they had a nice jacuzzi, and a nice outdoor sitting area which was real comfortable. The room was a bit small, but big enough for me and my wife. FREE parking. We were very satisfied, as opposed to staying a half mile closer to the beach and paying much more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are honored that you chose this hotel for such a special occasion.
It’s great to see that you enjoyed our free breakfast and bike rentals. Thank you for your comments about our friendly Front Desk team and cleanliness. Please come back to see us again soon!
– Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Although this Inn looks very small, on a kind of busy street, once inside it is quite the oasis. Well-heated pool and hot tub, a small workout room, the room and bathroom were modern, clean and very comfortable. They make great use of their space, with lots of sitting areas and a courtyard. Great for enjoying the sunshine - eating lunch or dinner outside, etc.
Easy 1 mile straight-shot walk to Venice Beach. I planned on renting a bike from them, but found the walk just fine. Also, they offer a car service to the airport ($30 for one person, not sure how much for more than one). Since a cab ride costs at least $22, well worth getting the "upgrade."
Check out their website specials. I stayed 3 nights instead of 2 and got 25% off the room rate. I would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for the time you spent offering us your valuable feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our swimming pool and outdoor patio. Thank you also for your comments about our rooms and on-line specials. Please come back to see us again soon!
– Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here with boyfriend week of June 1st through the 7th. Great price for location, just a 15 minute walk from Venice Boardwalk, although if you rent the bikes that the hotel offers ($18 for full day) it's only a 5 minute ride. Didn't have any problems, but I'm sure if we did, the staff would have been more than happy to help.

Good points
- Great location
- Very clean
- Full complimentary breakfast
- Quiet, despite busy road right beside
- Excellent, friendly staff (offered a lot of tips for sight seeing)
- Hot tub/Outside fireplace seating area

Bad points
- Pool, size was no bigger than two bathtubs, more of a waiting pool.
- Breakfast got repetitive, same things served daily.

We're rating this a 5 because the only two negative points were hardly enough to mark the entire experience down. Overall, lovely and would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Inn at Marina del Rey! It’s great to see that you enjoyed our free breakfast and clean accommodations. Thank you for your comments about our friendly Front Desk team. I apologize for the small size of our swimming pool. Please come back to see us again soon.
– Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Marina del Rey for 5 days in May 2013. It was a great find, in a quiet neighborhood near the beaches. We had a Queen suite, which was lovely. We had a decent size bedroom that closed off from the room, a good size sitting room, and a small fridge/microwave. The free breakfast was decent though repetitive (cereal, eggs, sausage, oatmeal, pastries). The desk staff was also very friendly and seemed genuinely helpful. The only complaint I have is with the parking; due to the ways it was set up, double parking was necessary but they didn't always have the keys to move the other cars. I would totally stay there again. It was a really good value too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us in May! Thank you for your comments are about our free breakfast and friendly Front Desk team members. I apologize for the tight parking situation. Looking forward to meeting you during your next stay!
– Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hard to describe - fairly non-descript on the outside, really classic on the inside with some rooms in an interior courtyard. Nice pool, small, warm, but protected from the winds and with a fair amount of afternoon and evening shade. Adjacent hot tub nice as well. Rooms nicely furnished. Ours faced the street, but not too much traffic noise. Covered parking. Standard Best Western continental breakfast, with waffle maker, etc. Nice touch.

They also rent bikes. We rented three and headed down to the beach (easy 10 minute bike ride if that) and then headed north along the ocean trail to Santa Monica. And biked around the Marina del Rey marina. All flat, not too much traffic (though a fair amount of bike traffic on the bike path!).

And then less than a 15 minute drive back to LAX. For sightseeing along the coast, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would actually ask for a street-front room - sounds weird I know, but I'm not sure I would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your feedback.
It’s great to see that you enjoyed our scenic area and our bike rentals. Thank you for your comments about our free breakfast and swimming pool, as well. Please come back to see us again soon.
– Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights last week of May. We got a really good deal online and the reviews on tripadvisor was excellent so we thought it was a win win. First thing, they have a large garage that is free for hotel guests to park in which is great. The hotel staff was very nice upon check in. The rooms are average, though large, the deco is slightly dated as expected. The reason my review gets an "average" rather than "very good" or "excellent" is because we had a couple issues with the cleanliness during our stay. The housekeeping staff left a half empty water bottle on our counter which they tried to charge us for even after I spoke with the front desk about it. Also, I don't know what happened but our 2nd roll of toilet paper which was fine when we left the room the 2nd day was dirty and looked as if someone cleaned up something gross with it. When we brought it to their attention it was fixed right away, but it's hard to believe that it was an accident that nobody noticed upon leaving. And last, there is a courtyard with a pool and sitting area in the middle of the hotel which is amazing during the day, but I don't think they lock the doors at night. There was a group of very loud men at 3am one night who stayed out there for at least an hour, and it was impossible to sleep through. If you're willing to sacrifice cleanliness for a good price, this place is great, but if you're ocd with germs and etc, stay away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternInnatMDR, General Manager at The Inn at Marina del Rey, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are thrilled that you and your husband chose to stay with us! Thank you for your comments about our large, free parking garage and friendly Front Desk team members. I apologize for the bottle of water and toilet paper situation. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Thank you for your feedback. – Stacey Martines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Marina del Rey

Address: 737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#7 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Marina del Rey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay near the legendary areas of Venice Beach and Santa Monica within easy access of Fisherman’s Village and the Ballona Wetlands. Enjoy the onsite pleasures of our open-air courtyard with comfortable chaise-lounges, fire pits and a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Inn at Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.