We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel by the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Marina del Rey

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Marina del Rey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Marina del Rey
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Marina del Rey
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel by the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We picked this budget-friendly hotel to be close to the beaches. We had four suites booked for our extended family reunion trip. Each was comfortable and clean; the staff even accommodated our early arrival at the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the beach. The free parking was great and the continental breakfast was decent. I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area!

Room Tip: Look for a suite - it was great for a family trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    335
    82
    21
    4
See reviews for
301
258
34
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We passed up Marina del Rey's pricier hotels to stay in this reliable budget hotel, booking a suite for three days. The location is excellent, parking is free, and while the rooms are small the layout gave each of us a fair amount of storage and privacy. The staff was helpful and the breakfast is reasonably good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was a good deal and close to Santa Monica area (pier). Staff is friendly and helpful, service is good. On the other hand, being an older property, the rooms are small if you have accompanying children or teenagers. Bathrooms are small as well, although I liked the idea of having the sink outside the bathroom. Another major drawback: if you are on any level but the top level (third floor) you may not be able to sleep well if you have people above you walking around all night long and early morning! If you complain, nothing can be done! Avoid staying in a room near the jacuzzi because you will be unpleasantly and undesirably be entertained by little kids screaming and running around in the morning. In short, this hotel has the "too close for comfort" feel that makes me definitely not want to repeat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Famalicao, Portugal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'd never considered staying in Marina del Rey before my recent trip to L.A., but when I return not only will I again, but I'll be at this hotel, which I found online. There is always someone friendly and efficient at the front desk, where hot coffee is available. In the computer area there are also couches, fresh apples, water with lemon slices, and a stack of USA Today newspapers. The free breakfast includes scrambled eggs and oatmeal in a chafing dish--not little packets of dried cereal--accompanied by fresh cranberries or raisins, brown sugar, and slivered almonds.

I lucked out the first time and was given a suite for the price of a regular room, but even when I returned the following week and spent a second three days here in a traditional room, I was totally satisfied. The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds, and huge flat screen TVs. The design of the building affords attractive open air seating, and there's a small outdoor pool and hot tub on the second floor. The covered parking garage is right by the front desk and the street. The place was quite busy (at Christmastime) although I was told it's REALLY busy in the summer, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very nice budget hotel. Rooms, staff, service and parking was very satisfactory. Breakfast was ok, though the diningroom was to the small side, there can be a queue - so be early.
The exterior and the nabourhood isn't anything to boast about.
We can recommend this value for the money hotel. It isnt charming but it works.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Although we weren't sure what to expect when we saw this place from the street, we were very pleasantly surprised the minute we stepped into our room. The layout of the place is smart, with open courtyards/walkways that keep the hallways fresh and the whole space inviting.

Room fixtures and layout are nice and comfortable. The breakfast on offer is great and full of options (although the staff monitor watching everyone take/eat is unnecessary and nervous-making.)

And the location is really pretty good - a short drive to Venice and Santa Monica, very close to the airport for morning flights, and the streets around the hotel are pleasant residential ones that make for a nice walk.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were staying here for 3 nights and have only good things to say about the place.
We were 4 people in one room, the room was big so there was one grand lit and one sofabed for the boys. The room had bright colors and was very nice.We came with a car and they had the parking garage at the same floor as the reception which was very good.They hade a very good breakfust with plenty of choises to eat.
If coming back to LA we would gladly stay here again.
We think it should have another star.
Recommended ;)
The family from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Marina del Rey

Address: 737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Marina del Rey 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay near the legendary areas of Venice Beach and Santa Monica within easy access of Fisherman’s Village and the Ballona Wetlands. Enjoy the onsite pleasures of our open-air courtyard with comfortable chaise-lounges, fire pits and a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.