We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of old California...ala 1960's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Marina del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Marina del Rey to your Saves list
The Inn at Marina del Rey
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Sarasota, Fl
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A bit of old California...ala 1960's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

While visiting Son and family, we chose the B/W+ Marina Del Ray as our "home base". It was a pleasant surprise. While located on a busy street, the Hotel itself was very quite, laid out in a court yard style with all entrances facing in. The staff was excellent and very helpful and the room (and hotel itself) was immaculate! Parking is free, but fills up at night and to the parking configuration you may have to leave your keys at the desk. Somewhat of a pain, but it's FREE (most places in this area charge). A continental style breakfast is provided, but the dining area was very busy (no place to sit)...that was the only inconvenience our entire 4 day stay. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Washington Av are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    359
    90
    22
    5
See reviews for
323
276
35
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Rooms are spacious, comfortable with microwave/mini-fridge, fitness room is great, but pool is tiny - more like a giant hot-tub size with seats all the way around - no room to do laps. They did offer free use of a large pool in a sister hotel nearby. Breakfast was ok, but if you don't get there before 7:30/8am, you wait in a long line both to get food and also to get somewhere to sit (the eating area is tiny).
All in all a nice hotel, but the Best Western in Long Beach is much nicer.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room not facing the main street if you don't want to listen to traffic al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We came to LA for a week's vacation and decided to stay near Venice Beach because of the affordability and the fact that we like the more unusual stuff. This hotel is an easy 1 mile walk to the beach and all the infamous activity of Venice Beach. Along the way are shops, places to get sandwiches, burritos, convenience stores, etc.

The hotel itself is nothing fancy. But it was very clean, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and it felt safe. It's also a decent location in terms of easy access to LA, Santa Monica, a local movie theater, plenty of restaurants, supermarket, etc. The breakfast buffet included fruit, yogurt, make your own waffles, eggs, sausage, dry cereal, oatmeal... basically enough to make anyone happy. The sit-down space is limited and there were times that we took our breakfast back to the room, or to one of the outside seating areas.

There is a really nice area by the outdoor pool with tables, chairs, a fountain -- all really lovely. The pool and hot tub were clean and well kept. But I have to laugh. The pool is small. No, actually, it's tiny. It's more of a puddle than a pool. A place to cool off, but you really can't swim in it. It would take you all of 2 strokes to go from one end to the other. But this is a minor complaint. We enjoyed it and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Only 3 floors. The second floor has the pool area and the outdoor seating areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at The Inn at Marina del Rey for one night. The hotel has a good location about a mile from Venice beach. If you are fit it is an easy walk. The hotel was clean and quiet with spacious rooms. It also has a cute outdoor seating area and a small pool that is nice to sit and relax in. The free breakfast was decent but the breakfast room was small so we had to take our food back to our rooms because there was no where to sit. I would recommend this hotel to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is easy to drive to LAX (approx 15 minutes to car rental return, then airport shuttle), even at busy times because you don't have to get on a freeway. It is on the street that divides Marina del Ray from Venice Beach and is about a 15-20 minute walk to the waterfront. There are not a lot of appealing restaurants at the waterfront but we had a wonderful dinner at Tajrish, a Persian Kabob House, at 507 Washington Blvd, about a 5 minute walk from the beach, towards the hotel. The hotel itself is freshly renovated. It had good indoor parking, good internet and TV, a varied complimentary breakfast although the space is very limited at the busiest times. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a longer trip and we were happy with our choice. It is only about a 10 minute drive to Santa Monica where we spent a great day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Good points
1. 15/20 min (non rush hour) drive from/to LAX using Lincoln Boulevard
2. Quite close to Venice Beach area (20 min walk)
3. You can hire bikes from the hotel or a nearby hire shop, cycle around area or to Santa Monica (25 mins) along the ocean front.
4. Breakfast provided - see below.
5. Good sized, very clean bedroom
6. Free parking
7. Helpful and pleasant staff

Not so good points
1. If you get a front facing room (Washington Blvd) and are a light sleeper, buy a pair of ear- plugs for traffic noise, incl. Police sirens passing at 3am if they're having a busy night!
2. Double glazing not the best for noise reduction.
3. Compact breakfast room, if you get the timing wrong you can expect a reasonable wait at busy periods which may lead you to take your food up to your room instead.
4. Swimming Pool only comes in a petite size.

All in all, quite acceptable and in terms of its proximity to LAX, Venice Beach and the surrounding area, it's well placed for quick access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice suite, a little bit expensive. Nice walk to Venice beach (15-20mn). Breakfast ok but room to eat it very very small! We had to wait every mornings for seating. Staff very nice and helpful. Swimming pool not for swimming, very small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Marina del Rey

Address: 737 Washington Boulevard, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Marina del Rey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay near the legendary areas of Venice Beach and Santa Monica within easy access of Fisherman’s Village and the Ballona Wetlands. Enjoy the onsite pleasures of our open-air courtyard with comfortable chaise-lounges, fire pits and a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast every morning and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Holiday Inn Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Venice Area

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.