We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wharo Korean BBQ

Wharo Korean BBQ
4029 Lincoln Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292-5613
310-578-7114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 117 Restaurants in Marina del Rey
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: W. Washinton Blvd.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Willing to try some Korean food and this been so close to my house I was willing to give a try ,almost to quit in the last moment reading the reviews online .
But in the end wasn`t so bad ... few pointers ;
take reservations,
actually the service was good..
The food was very good , the meats was great
The value is depends how much you eat and how much you want to spend ..
atmosphere ;need a lot of work ,I was felling like a was in the movie Mash with that décor .
Imagine romance with that décor . Also lots of family's with a bunch of kids so seems is a friendly place .
Overall I will go there back special for wagyu beef ....
Yes for recommendation ..list to try it ...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Korean dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This little restaurant serves real good Korean food, especially my favorite is Bim Bim Bub, rice cooked in hot stone pot, which I always ask for extra crispy rice! This place is better than many Korean places downtown LA.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“For an evening where the meal is the entertainment & the protein.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Well laid out Korean BBQ dining room. This is a great way to spend an evening, especially if you like meat. The marinades are gorgeous. Everything is delicious!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre prices and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We went on a Tuesday night around 7pm and it wasn't too busy. There were four of us. The service, while certainly not horrible, left something to be desired from time to time considering how empty the place was. The prices were a smidge on the higher side

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shockingly bad treatment - wouldn't consider returning.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

We book on Opentable after watching a movie nearby. The booking was confirmed, but when we turned up, exactly on time, we were told that the kitchen was closed. Once we told them that we'd booked, the manager simply repeated what had been said about the kitchen, with absolutely no regard for the fact that we'd specifically driven there. Making matters worse, the manager told us not to worry about cancelling the reservation with Opentable. He would do it. And sure enough, I receive an email 5 minutes later. So he didn't let us have the Opentable points - charming. He owes us at least for the gas! We didn't even get an apology. Customer service clearly isn't something they care about. Unacceptable and shambolic.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharo Korean BBQ also viewed

 
Marina del Rey, CA
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to Wharo Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharo Korean BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.