We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, location is a little lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, location is a little lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Had a business event at the Ritz out in LA. The hotel is wonderfully accomodated and service was abosutely stellar. The front desk helped me track down the best noreabang in the area which we didn't end up doing, but I appreciated their efforts. The food was great, the room was great, the location is a bit lacking. That said the fitness center was very nice and the pool was just right. Overall if someone else is picking up the pricey dime I'd go for it again.

  • Liked — pool was very nice and so was the fitness center
  • Disliked — general location was a bit crowded
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    264
    117
    40
    21
See reviews for
191
222
45
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Basically I used this as a glorified airport hotel (arrived in the evening with an outgoing flight LAX-LHR due after 4pm next day). Travelled alone. I booked this through a favorable Amex Platinum FHR rate.

I booked the cheapest deluxe room and got a very nice upgrade to a Junior Suite, King Bed, with a view straight over the marina. Delightful welcome from the front-desk staff. Immaculately prepared huge room, great furnishings, Bulgari toiletries. My only quibble (as at any hotel nowadays) is why have large flatscreen LCD TVs when the signal delivered is grottyvision 4:3?

I must say I really enjoyed my brief stay at this property, continental breakfast (room service) and $66 lunch at Jer-Ne (including alcohol and tip) all covered by the FHR rate. Just what I needed to chill after a hectic business trip before the long journey home.

No trouble transferring to and from LAX (about $20-25 each way).

Strongly recommended as an alternative to the LAX airport hotels.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel three times now, in 2004, 2005 and 2006 and can not fault anything at this hotel. If you're on a family vacation it's probably out of your price range and you need to drive to most things, but I stayed for business and everything was managed to perfection!

Check in was really good. Each time I stayed here it was part of a group, although we all arrived individually. The man at checkin remembered me from the time before each time which I though was a nice touch. He probably looked through the hotel records in advance to see who had stayed as part of our group before, although I was one of the few people to be there each time, but it was a nice touch nonetheless. After checkin I was personally shown to the elevators and told about the hotel features and services.

The food and drink in the hotel was really nice. I didn't sample their full menu but I ate at the breakfast buffet and couldn't fault it. I've also had a couple of Pizzas from their main menu and these were really nice, as were the drinks in the bar - even something as simple as Orange juice.

The rooms are large, spacious and come with everything you need - however if there is something you need extra all you need to do is call the front desk and it will be done quickly for you. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was large and the views were really good. Every room has a balcony or terrace and many of them look out onto Marina Del Rey, which the hotel borders. If your room is on the other side you overlook the hotel entrance, but you have great views across the city all the way to the mountains behind Hollywood.

Location wise the hotel is a little far out from things and if you are staying here for anything but business you will most likely need to drive to it or get a texi, which can be expensive ($25 to airport and $60 to Hollywood). However if you're staying in LA for a vacation you are almost certain to have a car anyway as the city is very large so this doesn't present a problem. If you're looking for nightlife in the area there probably isn't much. There are a few restaurants and a couple of bars within walking distance but not a huge selection and I've never eaten at them so can't really comment. However if you're looking for more of an atmosphere at night just get a taxi to Venice Beach if youre there in summer and there's plenty to do there.

The thing I praise the most is the service. Every staff member prides themselves in doing everything they can to make your stay more pleasurable. The staff at the front desk are very efficient and friendly, the concierge will drop everything to help you, the parking people outside are VERY good and the restaurant / bar staff are quick and friendly.

A point about service that really stands out. Last time I stayed at the hotel a group of us got a taxi to the conference we were attending. However when we got out he rushed off to another call without letting me get my bag out of the back which wasn't good. I had all the essentials on me like passport and tickets but most of my money and everything else I needed was in the bag. Aaron at EA, who coordinated our group and Alan at the hotel (he's one of the people outside on the taxi / parking desk thing) did everything they could to sort it out and the bag was there waiting for me when I woke up the following day. Not bad service considering how many taxi's there must have been in the city and all we could remember was the colour of the taxi.

To conclude - this is a VERY nice hotel with great views and an extremely high standard of service. It's probably out of the price range of the average family on a vacation but if you can afford it or really want to stay here then you will not be able to fault anything at the hotel. It's not really near anything other than a couple of restaurants and the Marina itself but Los Angeles is so spread out nothing is really near anything else.

I would highly recommend this hotel to people who have it in their price range!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed one night at the Ritz Carlton in Marina del Rey, and I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. The best part about the hotel is the amazing service. Every hotel staff person that we met was friendly and went out of his or her way to make our stay so enjoyable. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

I stayed here for business on the concierge floor and the staff was the best part. While I would not recommend this hotel if you are vacationing in LA due to its remote location, it was pleasant overall. The spa is average at best and in need of an update. The beds are probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in. And the restaurant is not bad - if your company is paying. Again - the staff was great but other than that I would not stay here unless it's a business trip and you have no choice.

  • Liked — Service/Staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

We only stayed one night before boarding our cruise liner but what a glorious place to stay. The atmosphere from the first greeting was one of relaxed hospitality and after our flight and usual 2 hours standing in immigration it was a joy! The rooms were spacious and tastefully furnished with wonderful views over the marina. The bathroom didn't skimp either and the Bulgari toiletries were an added bonus.

Breakfast was a plentiful feast without breaking the bank and could be taken either inside or on the terrace. On top of all this the staff were helpful, friendly and some the most professional we have come across. We were part of the T5 debacle and reception provided everything we might require for our immediate needs and the concierge team worked through the night to secure any hope of recieving at least some of our luggage (something BA were not even interested in!)
I hope if you get the chance to stay here it will be for longer than one night.

  • Liked — Stylish, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and great views.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

The rooms are large and clean, but I've always had something go wrong every time I stay....once I was there for 10 days and didn't have a hot shower the whole time I was there despite complaints about the water temp to the front desk and concierge. Also, if you're at all interested in nightlife such as dining or bars, there's nothing but a sports bar anywhere near the hotel. Since I don't like to drive after even one drink, I always end up ordering room service when at the Ritz since there's really no other option. Nice pool, but is crowed with children during the summer (locals can by a country club-type membership to the pool). I guess it's a good place for those who like an ocean view, and quiet surroundings, but not great if you want anything beyond that.

  • Liked — Clean, large rooms.
  • Disliked — Location, Location, Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Address: 4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly perched on one of the largest man-made marinas in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey is a hotel that offers guests easy access to Los Angeles, as well as a tranquil seaside hideaway to escape the city pace. Enjoy the warmth and laid-back lifestyle of Southern California from one of Los Angeles’ only AAA Five Diamond luxury hotels to call the waterfront home. Here, guests enjoy ocean, marina or city skyline views from soothing guest rooms and suites; a restaurant that source local ingredients from the neighborhood farmers market; a spa that paves the way to well-being; two lighted tennis courts; and LA’s only waterfront pool. Minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills, our distinctive Marina del Rey hotel will ensure the memories will linger long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Ritz Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.