We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Calm Relaxing and Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Nice Calm Relaxing and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed at several Ritz properties but this is my best for many reasons. The staff is excellent. The location and the extras are so great. Free Internet in the Lobby. I would park across the street unless you don't care about the expensive Valet Parking fees. The Swimming Pool, Hot Tub/Jacuzzi, the Steam Room are all great and open 24 hours a day. A basketball court also. The fitness center is superb! Get a room facing the swimming pool. You can still see the Marina. There are few places to eat within walking distance also there are some nice walking and running trails and bike paths. If you can splurge stay here! Warning, the rooms are small! This is a good place to people watch also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    273
    123
    44
    21
See reviews for
200
228
45
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Service outstanding as you would expect. The rooms are nothing special at all, I was rather underwhelmed, maybe it was me but I thought Ritz and expected to be wowed. It's a perfectly lovely hotel, just don't expect to get the wow factor on the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we had valet parking which made parking very easy. As we walked into the building all the staff were amazingly lovely. We had someone to check us in straight away and was offered water which was a great idea as we had just traveled 7 hours. We were staying on the club floor which was very nice, the rooms where nice and comfortable and the club lounge was comfortable and homely. The staff in the club lounge were amazing and would do anything for you!!! Zonia, Edgar, Alexande and someone else (can't remember name) where lovely they made the experience so much better! They would do anything we asked them and they would come and talk to use for ages if not busy which I thought was good. The pool was lovely and well maintained. The only bad thing that I can say about the hotel is that the funishing is very dated and worn and the hotel could do with a freshen up to make it less worn, for example the carpet in the lobby lounge is very worn, fraying around the edges and marked, this is from it being down a long time. So to make the hotel better they ritz Carlton company should re decorate and re furnish the hotel! Apart from this the hotel is lovely and the management should be VERY proud of all of the staff as they are so lovely and kind!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just arrived from our 3 nights four days holiday in Los Angeles, we chose Ritz Carlton as we don't travel often and wanted to make it special. When we arrived we had a warm welcome from the bell boy, a really nice guy who gave us some advice. Then a nice lady came and made a dog with a balloon for our daughter and offered a lollipop. The reception was a bit annoying,. the guy barely smiled and when we asked for a cot, he said it was going to be 35 dollars per night extra...(yes, after paying more than 300 bucks for night) we agreed, and went out for a stroll and buy some milk for the babies, when we arrived, the cot was not ready and it was time for the baby to sleep. We finally got the cot after requesting it via operator who called later to see if it was delivered. It came with a nice bag of baby amenities. (shampoo, night light, cream etc) The next day in the morning, my 3 years old daughter was watching the boats and I realized how torn are the curtains in the room, so I agree with the reviews that the hotel is a bit dated, not to mention the rugs in the lobby, dirty and torn.

We wanted to take a taxi to do some shopping and when we jumped in, the taxi driver did not want to take us because of the children (no car seats) and the porter, a nice guy, offered his niece seat in order to help us, this was a super nice gesture but we ended up hiring a car through the concierge Amanda, she was amazing. The car ended up being expensive due to the very high rate for valet parking (40 dollars per night).

The fitness room is good, the steam room is fantastic, the amenities there are great and the service is good. The water in the outdoor spa is really hot. It depends on how you like the temperature of the water, but for me it was a bit too much, I felt like my head was going to explode, so I left the spa and jumped in the pool which is really nice.

Tha last day, we requested a late check out because our plane wouldn't leave until 11 pm, the housekeeper was fantastic and offered help if the key would not work after noon, she was amazing with my one year old and really friendly. I love how my husband left all the coins in the desk, and we came back, the cleaner put all the quarters in one side, and all the other coins in another.

I would say, in the end that hotel is dated and expensive, but the staff makes it great and really makes the difference, (not the reception guy though)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The service at this hotel is outstanding and the cleaning ladies do a great job. It is close to many great places to eat like Tony P, Warehouse restaurant, Beachside, El Torito, Cheesecake factory, Mendocino Farms and the Mariott restaurant. The restaurant inside this hotel is very lousy though-----limited menu and very high prices. The people working at the restaurants here are very polite and professional. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are very wide for easy maneuvering. It is close to the airport (LAX) and the Hop on Hop off bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Valet parking was $40 which is quite expensive compared to other first class hotels and the internet is $12.95 per day. We got to know the reception girl, Natasha who was outstanding as she made sure our stay was fantastic by giving us cards as well as wine and fruits and asked what else she could do to make our stay great. To upgrade and eat a big breakfast makes no sense because then one gains a lot of weight eating a lot of carbs. Just a one plate breakfast at the nearby IHOP or Beachside restaurant did the trick.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible and facing the west to get a better view. If you give the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just outside of Pittsburgh,PA in Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights in August 2012 before going to a conference in Vegas. We had a very nice stay here. If you can upgrade to to include the 11th floor by all means do so. It was well worth it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was too expensive but Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a delightful overnight stay! I was so impressed with each and every staff member at the Ritz--every interaction, from the valet to the front desk attendant to the housekeeper, was superb.

Trina, in the 11th floor lounge, ensured I had a hearty morning breakfast, complete with a bowl of muesli and a steaming cappuccino, before suggesting fun places to visit on my way to Santa Barbara.

The hotel itself is gorgeous! Located in the heart of Marina del Rey, the view in and around the hotel is spectacular. The Ritz gets five stars for attention to detail--the grounds are beautifully maintained, and the lobby and lounge areas are luxurious yet relaxed with a low-key, Southern California vibe.

My room overlooked the pool and tennis courts, and of course, the marina itself. At night I opened my balcony door to allow the fresh salt air to filter into my room. And of course, the plush terry robe and "purple water" bath gel made my nighttime bath a sublime experience. (I love a hotel with a really nice tub!)

My only (very minor) complaint was the in-room coffee, which wasn't at all robust. The Ritz is all about creating a superior guest experience, so perhaps a contract with Peets might create a win-win for both guests and coffee company? Just a thought! :)

Despite the minor quibble about coffee, I didn't want to check out, thanks the stellar staff and to the hotel's So-Cal charm. If I'd had the option, I'd have passed up my trip to Santa Barbara just to lounge at the Ritz all day!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room overlooking the marina. The salt air will ensure a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Address: 4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly perched on one of the largest man-made marinas in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey is a hotel that offers guests easy access to Los Angeles, as well as a tranquil seaside hideaway to escape the city pace. Enjoy the warmth and laid-back lifestyle of Southern California from one of Los Angeles’ only AAA Five Diamond luxury hotels to call the waterfront home. Here, guests enjoy ocean, marina or city skyline views from soothing guest rooms and suites; a restaurant that source local ingredients from the neighborhood farmers market; a spa that paves the way to well-being; two lighted tennis courts; and LA’s only waterfront pool. Minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills, our distinctive Marina del Rey hotel will ensure the memories will linger long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Ritz Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.