We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location - just a few gripes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LAX Lavish Layover
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location - just a few gripes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding over Labor Day weekend 2012. The hotel is in an ideal location - a short, pretty drive from LAX and in the lovely Marina del Rey area. The hotel grounds back onto a pedestrianised walk along the length of the marina, and there are two shopping complexes within walking distance. The hotel had several weddings on that weekend, so was quite busy, but the receptionist staff were pleasant and helpful. On arrival in our room, the hotel had distributed wedding welcome bags (put together by the family organising the wedding) - but instead of two bags we only had one. Similarly, our friends staying in another room were given 3 bags instead of 2. Minor detail, probably because the hotel had so many weddings that weekend and the hotel sorted it out very promptly.
The pool area was very nice, but because it was such a busy weekend all the loungers were 'taken' - some occupied and some with personal belongings thrown over them to reserve them so when we came down there was nowhere to sit. The staff around the pool said they couldn't put more chairs out so we would have to wait until someone left. They did take our name to put on some sort of waiting list, but we never heard back and eventually someone let us have two of their loungers until their friends arrived, which worked out well (they had reserved 5 but only 2 of them were there at the time).
The room was everything you'd expect from a Ritz, plush, comfortable and clean, with a small balcony and good room service.
My major gripe was that our party had arrived by car which was valet parked. We had just had an electrical issue with the passenger window which we hadn't had a chance to fix before the wedding, so we had temporarily fixed the window shut with tape (quite obviously!) and told the valet not to try to open it. When the car arrived after we had checked out, the valet had managed to roll the windows down (presumably to cool to car down / get some fresh air?) and of course the window had stuck, potentially leaving us with an exposed passenger window on our 3hour drive through the desert that afternoon. At this point we were annoyed that the valet had not listened or taken note of our instructions, but what was even more disappointing was that other hotel staff came out to assist, and were very unhelpful, telling us they could do nothing to fix the problem, and it was not their fault. We weren't expecting them to fix the electrical problem, as that was already an issue before we got there, but we were expecting the to fix the problem they had caused by jamming the window open i.e. fix it shut for our drive home. But no, they expected us to just get in a drive away with an exposed passenger window! After another 45 minutes, though a lot of insistence on our part, between another wedding guest and the valet, we managed to get the window un-jammed and physically pulled back up again and got some tape to once more fix it in place, but I was certainly not impressed with the attitude of the staff! It was a shame as the rest of our stay was very pleasant. I do think this issue was a one-off and would still recommend the hotel as a great place to stay - and would even go back again myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    293
    135
    49
    23
See reviews for
218
254
52
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

When i read some other reviews i was expecting a real outdated hotel. The style of this hotel might be seen as outdated, but i think it's just the ritz style. The check in erc was friendly and efficient. Unfortunately our room was not really clean. A lot of things were laying on the floor, glass on the bathroom floor, a lot of dust in the cabinet. It was quickly resolved, so i will not let this influence my review in a negative way. Rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable. the pool area is fine, the gym is well equiped. The prices of food and drinks are pretty high. The lobby is cosy with an open fireplace. and also the bar is nice. The hotel is located in the marina. You can go for a nice walk easily and there is a small public beach on walking distance. Close to the hotel you will find some good restaurants. Santa monica and venice beach are just like 2 and 4 miles away. You easy get there in 10 mins by car. Dowtown LA is like 30 mins. Beverly Hills/rodeo drve can be reached in 15 mins.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

clean nice hotel.well suited to exploration nearby. concierges knowledgeable .nicely decorated.
cosy , fireplace equipped bar.
rooms reasonably spacious,quiet. great views of marina,pool.

while the valet parking was expensive, it was convenient.
there is a plaza within walking distance with a Ralph's grocery, and a Starbucks.

Room Tip: maruna view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the first time my wife had been to a Ritz and she's hooked. The service at the Ritz is always something to remember. The Price is never cheap, don't come to a Ritz expecting cheap. Breakfast was mediocre at this one, I've been to some Ritz where the breakfast was much better. Still not a bad value but not as big of a selection as others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was there for a course at USC and stayed here because I had a great rate. I went early for a couple of days of vacation and brought my mom along. Everyone we met on the staff was fantastic. The hotel is expensive. We ate our meals elsewhere because I did not feel the hotel food was a good value - we ate here a couple of times and the food was just so so and overpriced. The hotel room was nice, pillows were great, but our keys never really worked in the room. We had trouble with this all week. they finally comped a part of our room but it was a bit of a hassle and not expected at the Ritz. Overall the hotel is nice but the staff and the service are what make it the Ritz. Go to the grocery store get some snacks and eat other places and you'll be happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was lucky enough to get a special deal for my stay at the Ritz Marina Del Ray. I had a marina view room on the 9th floor. Service was second to none from the front desk to the gift shop. They have a salt water heated chlorine free pool and a large work out room that overlooks the pool. If you are looking for a relaxing stay near Venice or Santa Monica, this is your place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Working in the hospitality for almost a decade from 4 star hotels to 5 star hotels, moving from countries to countries, heard so much about the Ritz but this was the 1st time I stayed at the Ritz and absolutely loved it.
The hotel and the room were not as grant or luxury as some other 5 star hotels I have stayed, but the room we had had a good view of the pool and marina, small balcony that you can go out for some fresh air.
And the service was definately the best.
After the horrible experience in NY Roosevelt, we were indeed glad to be at the Ritz. We were greeted by a good looking and friendly gentelman (Donald? Darnell? I m sorry if i spelt your name wrong) upon check-in. He was very helpful with the directions and recommedations in regards where to eat and where to shop. lol
We had room service twice and a light snack & drinks at the bar, the food was really tasty and to my surprise it was not expensive at all.
We had a pleasant stay, just wish that we could stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Marina del Rey
#7 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 34 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Address: 4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly perched on one of the largest man-made marinas in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey is a hotel that offers guests easy access to Los Angeles, as well as a tranquil seaside hideaway to escape the city pace. Enjoy the warmth and laid-back lifestyle of Southern California from one of Los Angeles’ only AAA Five Diamond luxury hotels to call the waterfront home. Here, guests enjoy ocean, marina or city skyline views from soothing guest rooms and suites; a restaurant that source local ingredients from the neighborhood farmers market; a spa that paves the way to well-being; two lighted tennis courts; and LA’s only waterfront pool. Minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills, our distinctive Marina del Rey hotel will ensure the memories will linger long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Ritz Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.