We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location - just a few gripes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey

Save Saved
You added Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Extend your stay in LA
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Marina del Rey
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location - just a few gripes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding over Labor Day weekend 2012. The hotel is in an ideal location - a short, pretty drive from LAX and in the lovely Marina del Rey area. The hotel grounds back onto a pedestrianised walk along the length of the marina, and there are two shopping complexes within walking distance. The hotel had several weddings on that weekend, so was quite busy, but the receptionist staff were pleasant and helpful. On arrival in our room, the hotel had distributed wedding welcome bags (put together by the family organising the wedding) - but instead of two bags we only had one. Similarly, our friends staying in another room were given 3 bags instead of 2. Minor detail, probably because the hotel had so many weddings that weekend and the hotel sorted it out very promptly.
The pool area was very nice, but because it was such a busy weekend all the loungers were 'taken' - some occupied and some with personal belongings thrown over them to reserve them so when we came down there was nowhere to sit. The staff around the pool said they couldn't put more chairs out so we would have to wait until someone left. They did take our name to put on some sort of waiting list, but we never heard back and eventually someone let us have two of their loungers until their friends arrived, which worked out well (they had reserved 5 but only 2 of them were there at the time).
The room was everything you'd expect from a Ritz, plush, comfortable and clean, with a small balcony and good room service.
My major gripe was that our party had arrived by car which was valet parked. We had just had an electrical issue with the passenger window which we hadn't had a chance to fix before the wedding, so we had temporarily fixed the window shut with tape (quite obviously!) and told the valet not to try to open it. When the car arrived after we had checked out, the valet had managed to roll the windows down (presumably to cool to car down / get some fresh air?) and of course the window had stuck, potentially leaving us with an exposed passenger window on our 3hour drive through the desert that afternoon. At this point we were annoyed that the valet had not listened or taken note of our instructions, but what was even more disappointing was that other hotel staff came out to assist, and were very unhelpful, telling us they could do nothing to fix the problem, and it was not their fault. We weren't expecting them to fix the electrical problem, as that was already an issue before we got there, but we were expecting the to fix the problem they had caused by jamming the window open i.e. fix it shut for our drive home. But no, they expected us to just get in a drive away with an exposed passenger window! After another 45 minutes, though a lot of insistence on our part, between another wedding guest and the valet, we managed to get the window un-jammed and physically pulled back up again and got some tape to once more fix it in place, but I was certainly not impressed with the attitude of the staff! It was a shame as the rest of our stay was very pleasant. I do think this issue was a one-off and would still recommend the hotel as a great place to stay - and would even go back again myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    218
    103
    35
    19
See reviews for
159
183
37
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When i read some other reviews i was expecting a real outdated hotel. The style of this hotel might be seen as outdated, but i think it's just the ritz style. The check in erc was friendly and efficient. Unfortunately our room was not really clean. A lot of things were laying on the floor, glass on the bathroom floor, a lot of dust in the cabinet. It was quickly resolved, so i will not let this influence my review in a negative way. Rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable. the pool area is fine, the gym is well equiped. The prices of food and drinks are pretty high. The lobby is cosy with an open fireplace. and also the bar is nice. The hotel is located in the marina. You can go for a nice walk easily and there is a small public beach on walking distance. Close to the hotel you will find some good restaurants. Santa monica and venice beach are just like 2 and 4 miles away. You easy get there in 10 mins by car. Dowtown LA is like 30 mins. Beverly Hills/rodeo drve can be reached in 15 mins.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

clean nice hotel.well suited to exploration nearby. concierges knowledgeable .nicely decorated.
cosy , fireplace equipped bar.
rooms reasonably spacious,quiet. great views of marina,pool.

while the valet parking was expensive, it was convenient.
there is a plaza within walking distance with a Ralph's grocery, and a Starbucks.

Room Tip: maruna view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the first time my wife had been to a Ritz and she's hooked. The service at the Ritz is always something to remember. The Price is never cheap, don't come to a Ritz expecting cheap. Breakfast was mediocre at this one, I've been to some Ritz where the breakfast was much better. Still not a bad value but not as big of a selection as others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was there for a course at USC and stayed here because I had a great rate. I went early for a couple of days of vacation and brought my mom along. Everyone we met on the staff was fantastic. The hotel is expensive. We ate our meals elsewhere because I did not feel the hotel food was a good value - we ate here a couple of times and the food was just so so and overpriced. The hotel room was nice, pillows were great, but our keys never really worked in the room. We had trouble with this all week. they finally comped a part of our room but it was a bit of a hassle and not expected at the Ritz. Overall the hotel is nice but the staff and the service are what make it the Ritz. Go to the grocery store get some snacks and eat other places and you'll be happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to get a special deal for my stay at the Ritz Marina Del Ray. I had a marina view room on the 9th floor. Service was second to none from the front desk to the gift shop. They have a salt water heated chlorine free pool and a large work out room that overlooks the pool. If you are looking for a relaxing stay near Venice or Santa Monica, this is your place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Working in the hospitality for almost a decade from 4 star hotels to 5 star hotels, moving from countries to countries, heard so much about the Ritz but this was the 1st time I stayed at the Ritz and absolutely loved it.
The hotel and the room were not as grant or luxury as some other 5 star hotels I have stayed, but the room we had had a good view of the pool and marina, small balcony that you can go out for some fresh air.
And the service was definately the best.
After the horrible experience in NY Roosevelt, we were indeed glad to be at the Ritz. We were greeted by a good looking and friendly gentelman (Donald? Darnell? I m sorry if i spelt your name wrong) upon check-in. He was very helpful with the directions and recommedations in regards where to eat and where to shop. lol
We had room service twice and a light snack & drinks at the bar, the food was really tasty and to my surprise it was not expensive at all.
We had a pleasant stay, just wish that we could stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey

Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Ritz-Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel
Ritz Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Ritz
Marina Del Rey Ritz-Carlton
Marina Del Rey Ritz Carlton
Address: 4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz-Carlton Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.