We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you expect from the Ritz....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 4th Night
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What do you expect from the Ritz....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

It's the Ritz-Carlton, it's obviously going to be nice. The service and friendliness of the staff is not to be surpassed, the level of service from the house keeping crew alone is the best I've ever seen. But I'm a firm believer that, that type of service shouldn't come at such a high price. And it was a high price. Being the self admitted cheap-o that I am, I'm not sure if the value (in all it's greatness) is worth the nightly room rate of $350+. I ordered two Pena Coladas to be delivered to the pool, it cost $52. It was a good Pena Colada, but I don't want to spend my time drinking it thinking about the $52 it cost for the two. They charge for parking which I think is ridiculous for guests, especially when paying that much for the nightly rate. The room was beautiful and so was our view overlooking the Marina. The lounge at night was very nice, great atmosphere, food and of course service. The hotel is located a little more than a mile from Venice Beach, I walked one day and rode a bike the next, wasn't far at all, but of course that's relative. BEST THING about the hotel, the pool and hot tub are open 24 hours!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    261
    117
    39
    21
See reviews for
189
215
45
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lanmiller2
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend, 2011. The location of the hotel is great and service is excellent (as you would expect from a luxury hotel). The actual hotel itself is in need of some work.

To begin with, the walls are paper-thin. The first night we could hear our neighbor's television, and we were unable to sleep due to loud conversation from our other neighbor. I complained the next morning and was told that the entire building has thin walls, and they've apparently received this complaint in the past. Thankfully, the room next room they gave us was relatively secluded and allowed us to sleep the following night.

My other main complaint is the hotel lacks any water pressure to speak of. Rain shower-heads are of no use if you don't have water pressure. The showers in both rooms were barely a trickle.

In all, the hotel is not what I have come to expect from Ritz-Carlton, and it certainly is not worth the money we paid. There are plenty of other properties in the area which would be better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

It is a traditional "old" Ritz with the European styling. The staff was just OK. Twice I asked for a ride in the complimentary car service and was told no with no explanation or alternate suggestion. When I would go to the front desk, they were helpful, but not very friendly. The hotel staff in general came off to me as snotty, except for the staff at the pool, which were nice. Because it sits right on the harbor, there is a bad sulpher smell in the morning in the meeting space. The rooms were nice. I loved being on the first floor and having a balcony. I sat out there every free minute I had. It is in a good location - restaurants to walk to, etc. I loved the fireplaces at night out on the patio. In the end, I liked it, but was not overly impressed.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask to be on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel and the room were all nice. That is exactly how I would describe it. I have stayed in better properties in other cities, but there was nothing at all "wrong" with this property. It is located within walking distance to Washington Blvd and Venice Beach. It is a 5 minute drive from LAX and maybe 10 Mins from Santa Monica, which makes it super convienent. The room was very clean, the view was beautiful, the staff were all helpful. Jer-ne had good food, and the service was fine. So basically, this property is very nice, not the best place you will ever stay probably, but not at all bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A nice hotel for sure, but not even close to the standard of a Ritz. Small rooms that were loud. A staff that wasn't particularly engaging. Pricey for what amounts to a Westin quality hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Convenient to the 405 and the 10 and streets in all directions if the freeway traffic is unbearable. Public areas, including pool, are beautiful. Club level is wonderful for the all-day snacks and, especially if you are traveling with friends or family for providing a "living room" to gather. I usually like to stay on the same floor as the Club Lounge, but here the floor above is also convenient because of the "back stairs," no need to use the elevator. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had a very disappointing experience at the Ritz. First, the positive: The grounds are nice and our room was very nice. The pool area is very pretty. The food servers, especially poolside, are also very nice and polite. The staff is friendly enough overall. The local "water taxi" made it fun to get around in the tiny little Marina area.
But none of this made up for the negatives. The spa was unexpectedly closed. The food was just god-awful. We tried it several times and were disappointed every time. The pool was picturesque from a distance, but there were grungy little flower things floating in it which got stuck in everyone's hair and bathing suit. This caused our kids to pronounce it "gross." The jacuzzi also looked like it could use a good cleaning as parts of the step were yellowish... (ewww). The towel lady at the pool was grumpy and admonished our kids for getting more than two towels after they got out to eat. (They were getting them for their parents as well, and it was FREEZING once we got out to eat in the later afternoon.) Finally, the Marina location in general is a little dicey, so I do not suggest women/kids walk around the Marina area unescorted at night.

Although we still had a fun time with family and friends, it was not because we loved or even liked this place. If you want a nice, high end hotel experience with top notch food and service, do yourself a huge favor and stay in Santa Monica at someplace like the Fairmont. They provide amazing service (the customer is always right there), the property is much nicer, and there is much more to do. Or try Shutters on the Beach or Casa Del Mar, also in Santa Monica. These hotels are worth a minor price jump as they will far exceed the level of service you will get at this Ritz. Or, if you need to be in the general South Bay area, Terranea in Palos Verdes is truly a beautiful property in a safe, clean, beachside setting. Marriott truly missed the mark on this stay, and we will not be back. Los Angeles has much more to offer at this price point -- enjoy it from another coastal hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey

Address: 4375 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly perched on one of the largest man-made marinas in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey is a hotel that offers guests easy access to Los Angeles, as well as a tranquil seaside hideaway to escape the city pace. Enjoy the warmth and laid-back lifestyle of Southern California from one of Los Angeles’ only AAA Five Diamond luxury hotels to call the waterfront home. Here, guests enjoy ocean, marina or city skyline views from soothing guest rooms and suites; a restaurant that source local ingredients from the neighborhood farmers market; a spa that paves the way to well-being; two lighted tennis courts; and LA’s only waterfront pool. Minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, Santa Monica and Beverly Hills, our distinctive Marina del Rey hotel will ensure the memories will linger long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Ritz Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Ritz Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Marina del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.