We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good stays in a superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Honors Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Consistently good stays in a superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've stayed here for business dozens of times over the past 20+ years, though I haven't stayed here since the Hilton takeover. (My last stay with in the Spring of this year.) This place is invariably clean and efficiently managed. Consistently value-priced as well.

The location can't be beat. It's at the end of a shopping center that has a large supermarket, numerous restaurants/take-out places, and various other stores. The hotel is right off of Lincoln Blvd., which goes everywhere (albeit rather slowly most of the time), and is about 500 feet from the road that leads to the Marina Freeway (a connecting highway with very little traffic most of the time).

A resort it's not, but it's great for a business stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Your continued returns through our transition are greatly appreciated. Our renovation will begin November 1 with a completion around the middle of Feburary. We look forward to inviting you back again to see our transformation.

Michael Kapoulis
General Manager
Hotel MdR - A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    298
    161
    61
    33
See reviews for
228
157
56
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I are touring the west USA for five weeks and wanted somewhere to get acclimatised following the flight from the UK, reasonably close to LAX, but close enough to the Los Angeles beaches. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Nothing fancy, but good value for money, just across the street from the Marina ( cut through Ralph's car park and you're there). Room was clean, quite spacious, staff friendly and helpful, good breakfast options. We hired bikes from the hotel and cycled around the Marina, up through Venice Beach and on to Santa Monica - great way to see the coast. Only small criticism would be that the rooms do not have safes (boxes are available at the front desk, but not as convenient). We would use this place again when returning to LA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting the area! We appreciate you letting us know about your experience. We look forward to seeing you again when visiting.

Michael Kapoulis
General Manager
Hotel MdR - A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stay here frequently, normally have a very good experience. This last stay was disappointing; noise coming from the street. When I investigated, I found the sliding glass door had a large gap where I could put my hand between the sliding and stationary parts. Could only sleep with ear plugs...bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us as well as your continued returns. I'm sorry to hear about your experience while last visiting our hotel. It is not acceptable to have the issues you experienced with the sliding glass door. I have communited this to our Engineering department to ensure that the problem is rectified.

We look forward to inviting you back again.

At your service,
Michael Kapoulis
General Manager
Hotel MdR - A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed at this gem of a hotel long before it was a Doubletree (Marriott Courtyard - 25 years) and it is just as good, if not better, under it's new incarnation.

It is somewhat hidden in Marina Del Rey next to the most versatile shopping center you could ask for, to include many fine, affordable restaurants, a Barnes & Noble, two movie theatres, a CVS and two grocery stores. What more could you want?

The MDR Doubletree is not fancy, but it is clean, comfortable and predictable. The only negatives are:
1. A rather small bathroom that will only accommodate one person at a time; and
2. The Hilton group has instituted a $15 parking charge even though there is a large adjoining lot with plenty of parking. This is not a valet parking charge, but for self-parking your own vehicle.

They would be better served calling this $15 charge a resort fee as it is in a resort area and includes free wi-fi, hot chocolate chip cookies at checking in, and free bottled water.

This hotel is perfect for families as it has a wonderful secluded swimming pool, laundry service and all the shopping mentioned above.

The predominately Hispanic staff is wonderful, efficient and friendly.

There is also a very nice $16 breakfast buffet with great fresh fruit and all the other usual breakfast dishes to sart your day.

We have stayed here the past 25 years and have lived through all the remodelings, refurbishings and upgrades (TV) and still come back because of how well run the facility operates as well as the great location to freeways and shops.

The added bonus is that it is less than 15" from LAX. You can do a lot worse in LA and pay a lot more.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a pool-side room versus the parking lot. Ask for even numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your continued returns over the last 25 years! We look forward to welcoming you back after our renovation that will begin on November 1. The early part of next year we will be completed reinvented and transformed.

We look forward to accommodating you for another 25 years.

At your service,
Michael Kapoulis
General Manager
Hotel MdR - A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at Hotel MdR as our L.A. location on a California coastal drive trip. The hotel, pool, lobby, and rooms were very nice, however there are some difficulties we discovered. The location being advertised as close to the marina is deceptive. As a family of walkers, we were disappointed with the distance and traffic difficulties in how far the walk is to the restaurants surrounding the marina. The front desk staff was friendly, yet not very informative about local restaurants and the immediate area. For example, walk out the back door of the hotel to cross a parking lot to get to the grocery store, pharmacy, and some chain restaurants. We had a view of the roof of this grocery store and shopping center from our 4th floor room with a balcony. It is nice having a balcony, yet hotels typically offer chairs on a balcony to use as a respite from the room. If you are using tour services to get to L.A. destinations and dining at the hotel or immediate chain restaurants, this is a good location. If you want to explore the marina restaurants, go to Venice Beach or Santa Monica, then have the front desk call a cab for you. We made the best of this hotel with the pool & local amenities, and took cabs to get where we wanted to go, since it is a half hour walk (or more) to marina places & traffic/parking are challenging with a rental car when exploring the area.

Room Tip: Higher floor room, but ask for an interior view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I appreciate your feedback regarding your experience while visiting our hotel. I'm sorry that you were not made aware of the many restaurants and shops surrounding the hotel. Our location is key with the many things to do all within walking distance. If you are wanting additional transportation, we do offer bike rentals for $50 per day. The bikes are available on a first come first serve basis. The bikes definitely help when wanting to get to the Marina or the beach.

I have passed your feedback along to our Guest Services staff so they can be more familiar with their surroundings. Thank you again for staying with us!

At your service,
Michael Kapoulis
General Manager
Hotel MdR - A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is currently undergoing a rebranding to Hilton Doubletree. It is a little dated, but hopefully it will be freshened up under the Hilton brand. The location is excellent and convenient to all the sites we visited during our vacation. The staff is warm and friendly. Would consider staying here again if we are in the LA area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are going to begin our renovation on November 1. We invite you back the early part of 2014 in order to see our reinvention within our lobby, bar and restaurant.

We appreciate you staying with us!

At your service,
Michael Kapoulis
General Manager
Hotel MdR - A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is nice and the location close to the Marina Del Rey bay made it a benefit for relaxing and enjoying the area. Would fell more secure if they somehow put some safety features in the parking lot as it is open to a mall lot where sometimes you wondered if your car was safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding you stay at our hotel. I'm pleased to inform you that when our renovation begins on November 1, there will be a wall built around our parking lot to improve security. The entire entry will be changed as well as the lobby, restaurant, bar and pool area.

I invite you back in order to experience our hotel early in 2014. It will be completely reinvented and different from what you experienced during your last visit.

At your service,
Michael Kapoulis
General Manager
Hotel MdR - A Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuji Beach Cruisers Available for rental on property to enjoy the 22 mile Bike Path along the Coast; please visit the Front Desk for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Courtyard Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Marriott
Marina Del Rey Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.