We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable, clean, hardly bothered by construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“reasonable, clean, hardly bothered by construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the end of September 2012. The room was nice, and there was free internet and parking. The hotel also had a swimming pool outside which we could see from our window, and it looked good, but we didn't use it. Before booking we saw a series of reviews complaining about the construction in the area, but it didn't bother us at all. The restaurant downstairs serves breakfast/brunch and they have a very good buffet. For the star level, it was very reasonable, albeit considering there are options like Priceline out there it ends up being severely overpriced when compared to a 4-star W you could get for the same amount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
The team at the Courtyard by Marriott – Marina Del Rey thanks you for rating us excellent during your stay here in September, we are glad you were able to view our pool. It's too bad that you didn't get to enjoy it during the hot September month. It will be a good reason to come back and stay with us again!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    355
    178
    64
    33
See reviews for
266
174
67
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I guess maybe its the area but I was pretty amazed at how much the nightly rate was. I don't picture average Courtyards to be quite this expensive. Maybe I just got a bad week or maybe a pretty high premium because its in Marina Del Rey.
The room was fine. The gym was nice with 4 nice treadmills.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hote, we are glad you raved about our fitness center equipment.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for two-nights on November 12 &13. We were a little hesitant to stay here due to the reviews about the construction noise, but we were not distributed by the noise at all. The hotel decor was modern and very vibrant and the staff was very friendly. We were provided with water and Pepperidge Farm cookies as Marriott Rewards members and they also provided complimentary cookies for guests. I have stayed at many Marriott's and Courtyards and never had such wonderful service.

We walked to a local restaurant J. Nichols for dinner and ended the night with stroll to the coffee bean. Also, for shoe fanatics there's a DSW across the parking lot.

Room Tip: I required a room away from the elevator and pool to ensure quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marina Del Rey and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Marina Del Rey.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and the restaurant food is okay. I have stayed at this property seveveral times over the last few years. The parking is free and the hotel is clean. However on my last stay, I kept getting itchy and noticed several bite marks. I thought maybe there was a flying bug in the room but to my surprise, I caught a flea on my foot. I am severely allergic and when mentioning this to the hotel that they might want to get the room fumigtated, all they could say was "sorry". Very disappointed that nothing more than an apologie was offered. I would still stay at this hotel, but only if something had been done about the fleas in the room I stayed in. Not sure if the entire hotel has them but my room did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel.

I appreciate you following up with me offline about your specific incident so the situation with your bed may be investigated. We pride ourselves on our pest preventative program and take it very serious. We train our staff to detect them early and have routine check up with our pest elmination company.

Again, thanks for the feedback, and we all look forward to your return. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recently stayed here for the weekend while attending a wedding with my wife and 8-month old. We had a king room and they provided a pack and play for our son to sleep in. The rooms are clean and furnishing were in good shape, paint colors were dark and somewhat depressing. On check-in I was offered a 1st floor room, which I wouldn't recommend because of the meeting rooms on this level and for rooms facing the parking lot the 1st floor rooms have sliding glass doors which will offer a headlights beaming through your room as people park at night. Instead we were moved to the 3rd floor, but the desk person did not mention that it was a disabled room, which they should have because it means there is no bath tub for bathing a baby. The surrounding area provides a grocery store within walking distance, a coffee bean, and other shops in case you need to grab something.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We read your review and are happy to know you enjoyed your time at our hotel. and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Marina Del Rey.

We will re-train our associates to make sure that they explain the room types for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in late November. The staff was nice and the rooms were very clean. We asked for a baby crib and we were surprised that it arrived a couple of minutes later, and it included a special trash can for diapers and a toy for the baby. The staff really wants to "go the extra mile". There is some construction work going around, but it happens when you are outside the hotel, so noise is not an issue. There is a Ralph's and a Barnes & Noble within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floors or not facing the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marina Del Rey.

It was nice to hear that the staff, provided you with exceptional service.

They work very hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Expected the noise that was reviewed , but experienced on noise, disappointed the mall across the road was in total construction, thought we might get some food there. Bathroom looked a little tired but it was clean. The restaurant could do with a little updating and putting a menu in the room would help.
On the total plus side very close to Santa Monica pier which for our one night stay was on our list to do.
We try to stay at the Marriott chain just because we like the consistency and this was a average stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy some of the restaurants across the street. However, there are several other restaurants within walking distance. Please stop by the front desk on your next visit and we would be delighted to provide you with a list and some recommendations.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuji Beach Cruisers Available for rental on property to enjoy the 22 mile Bike Path along the Coast; please visit the Front Desk for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Courtyard Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Marriott
Marina Del Rey Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.