We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner response”
Review of Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Honors Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey
“Owner response”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marina Del Rey.

It was nice to hear that the staff, provided you with exceptional service.

They work very hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    296
    160
    61
    32
See reviews for
226
157
56
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in late November. The staff was nice and the rooms were very clean. We asked for a baby crib and we were surprised that it arrived a couple of minutes later, and it included a special trash can for diapers and a toy for the baby. The staff really wants to "go the extra mile". There is some construction work going around, but it happens when you are outside the hotel, so noise is not an issue. There is a Ralph's and a Barnes & Noble within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floors or not facing the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marina Del Rey.

It was nice to hear that the staff, provided you with exceptional service.

They work very hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Expected the noise that was reviewed , but experienced on noise, disappointed the mall across the road was in total construction, thought we might get some food there. Bathroom looked a little tired but it was clean. The restaurant could do with a little updating and putting a menu in the room would help.
On the total plus side very close to Santa Monica pier which for our one night stay was on our list to do.
We try to stay at the Marriott chain just because we like the consistency and this was a average stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy some of the restaurants across the street. However, there are several other restaurants within walking distance. Please stop by the front desk on your next visit and we would be delighted to provide you with a list and some recommendations.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights there and had a great weekend.We were close to the Marina and many restaurants.room was clean and nice not a luxury but we used points so great value so close to the beach.Lots of construction around but quiet on the weekend.would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you, many of our guests stay with us because of our location.

There are plenty of activities for couples to do; rent bikes (which you could use to ride to Venice Beach - only 2 miles from our hotel), catch a movie at one of our 2 movie theatres with in walking distance, or enjoy a great meal at several of the restaurants nearby, or simply enjoying a relaxing day of no worries at our outdoor pool and jacuzzi.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had two rooms at the Courtyard Marriott for Parent's Weekend at USC. The hotel was very clean, the staff very pleasant and efficient, and the rooms were comfortable. We used Marriott points for our stay. We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Marina del Rey and and other high end hotels in Santa Monica and although they are higher rated hotels, the Marriott was every bit as clean, the services as good and the room was just as nice. The only difference was a name and the perceived distinction. This is a very good value hotel. This is a very busy area and some construction is present. Marina del Rey and Santa Monica are easliy accessible by car.

Room Tip: Choose a room over the courtyard if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
The team at the Courtyard by Marriott – Marina Del Rey thanks you for rating us excellent during your stay here in November, we are glad you raved about our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel.

The staff takes pride in their work and we are glad that it shows!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Another Priceline bid when we wanted a hotel in Santa Monica. We ended up in Marina del Rey. We were hoping to be closer to the beach. But this is a decent hotel witha friendly staff. The location is perfect for getting to and from LAX without having to get on the highway (and this is a big plus in Los Angeles). It was also an easy location to get to Venice Beach and Santa Monica. But be aware this hotel is not on the water.
There was some construction nearby at the time of our stay. There are 2 grocery stores and a gas station very close by.

Room Tip: Some rooms face a parking lot while others face a courtyard with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Marina Del Rey.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We purchased one night here through Priceline. It is near the marina and not far from Venice beach, but not within walking distance. It is in a congested area off the main thoroughfare. The hotel is standard. The room was clean and comfortable and suited our purpose well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the beautiful Courtyard by Marriott Marina Del Rey. Like you, many of our guests stay with us because of our location. We are only 4 miles north of LAX, 4 miles south of Santa Monica, 1.5 miles away from Venice Beach, and easy access to the major Los Angeles freeways. Our guests also take advantage of the walking to the shops, restaurants, and movie theaters.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuji Beach Cruisers Available for rental on property to enjoy the 22 mile Bike Path along the Coast; please visit the Front Desk for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Courtyard Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Marriott
Marina Del Rey Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.