We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy in the mornings and bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Noisy in the mornings and bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff was friendly and Great. The rooms were also very nice and there is free parking which is very good. However, the hotel is located in a place that without a car you cannot walk anywhere... We thought its near Santa Monica but its really not... It takes a 10-15 min drive to get there. Also - near the hotel there are constructions, so every morning we woke up from these sounds. We could not sleep late because of it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the location of the hotel. Many of our guests prefer our location due to the walking proximity of all the restaurants and shops in our area. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    355
    178
    64
    33
See reviews for
266
174
67
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and two kids stayed here for 4 days in August 2012. Great value, free breakfast, clean and walking distance to food and shops. Construction was not as bad as I had read on the net. Glad we stayed here. Thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: About 30 minutes to Universal Studios and Hollywood under normal traffic conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marina Del Rey.

It was nice to hear that the staff provided you and your family with exceptional service.

They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us in August and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have stayed here mutiple times. There is STILL construction going on everywhere around the hotel (shopping, condos, etc). Easy access to freeways, Santa Monica, etc. Well-equipped hotel with nice pool area. Room was not as clean as usual this time. There a Ralph's (market) really closeby for snack, beverages, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear that the room was not up to par on this stay. We have addressed this issue with the staff. I can assure you that our team prides itself in the cleanliness of our rooms. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

It was quite noisy at the time we were there, as heavy construction was being done on two sides of the hotel. It was a bit far from attractions and dining, however very handy to LAX. We were told we had a fridge so could go to the very local supermarket, however I bought cereal and milk, which I would have been quite happy to eat out of the plastic cups provided if there were any spoons! The little coffee machine was great, but lucky I got the milk as no creamers were provided, then housekeeping replaced with decaf coffee pods, two decaf and two proper coffees were there to begin with, the two I used were replaced with decaf, pretty useless and disappointing for a 4am start.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the location of our hotel and its amenities. We do replenish the coffee and decaf coffee in the room daily. Our housekeepers might have delivered the wrong coffee packet. I am sure that they meant to replace the regular coffee with regular coffee and not the decaf. However, we do have plenty of the regular coffee at the guest service desk. Also, we have plastic utensils at the market, located next to the guest service desk. Please allow us to assist you on your next visit by calling the guest service desk. We have addressed this issue with the staff. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our room was clean and quiet and the hotel has free parking. Even though we were close to the stairway and ice machine, I didn't hear any extra noise. The fitness room had a lot more equipment then most hotels. Upgraded treadmill. Well maintained. I saw a lot of people using the room early in the morning before work. Most of the guests I saw seemed to be there for business. The pool was outdoors. We rented bikes for only $5.00/hr (not very good bikes, but OK) and rode to the beach where there were a lot of restaurants. Staff was friendly and very helpful when asking about the area. Breakfast was overpriced and we ate elsewhere. My only real negative was having a room with only a window when so many had doorwalls and balconies. I definitely would request that change if I were staying again, but that is a personal preference. We were staying as a free reward night and I think they gave us one of the least desirable rooms (note location and type), but is still was a great room. However, it is nice when the hotel gives their loyalty customers one of the better rooms - which I have experienced.

Room Tip: Ask for a doorwall if you like to step outside from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at tour hotel in Marina Del Rey. We were pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the plethora of amenities we offer (ie. outdoor pool, bike, and fitness center). Our guests also take advantage of the walking to the shops, restaurants, and movie theaters.

We take care of all our guests regardless of the type of reservation. We will keep an eye on your next reservation. Otherwise, please let us know when you return and we will do our best to assign a room for you with your preference.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

It was a quick stopover on our way to San Diego, with a brief walk by Venice Beach, but this was a lovely stay. Friendly, helpful staff in a very clean, neat facility. Our room was great and we had a restful sleep in an extremely quiet environment. The parking was free. Just a few minutes from the beach. They had an on-site restaurant which we didn't try but there was a coffee kiosk outside the restaurant for the morning caffeine. Very nice workout room plus a small 'market' near the front desk that has a microwave and 24-hour access. Overall, a very pleasant stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Courtyard by Marriott in Marina Del Rey and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Marina Del Rey.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night in August during a visit to LA. This is a typical Courtyard so you know you will get a good value for the money. One thing to note that it is not in the Marina del Rey but across the highway so you don't have any views. There is a Marriott hotel located directly in the Marina. When we were there there was a construction of a new building going on outside but it did not bother us. If you are mostly planning on visiting the Beverly Hills or Hollywood area this is not a convenient location but it is very close to Venice and Santa Monica beach areas so if that is what you need then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard Marri... M, Manager at Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about our hotel in Marina Del Rey. Many of our guests stay with us because of our location. We are only 4 miles north of LAX, 4 miles south of Santa Monica, 1.5 miles away from Venice Beach, and easy access to the major Los Angeles freeways. Our guests also take advantage of the walking to the shops, restaurants, and movie theaters.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 13480 Maxella Avenue, Marina del Rey, CA 90292 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#6 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuji Beach Cruisers Available for rental on property to enjoy the 22 mile Bike Path along the Coast; please visit the Front Desk for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Marina Del Rey Hotel Marina Del Rey
Courtyard Marina Del Rey
Marina Del Rey Marriott
Marina Del Rey Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MdR-A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.