We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Jamaica Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jamaica Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Marina del Rey
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a spur of the moment decision and was simply found by googling.

The staff were pleasant but the real star was the room - extremely comfortable, great bed and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was very difficult to leave as it was such a nice place to be, and the hotel itself was in a great location.

My only quibble was the parking charge, which seemed a bit mean for the Hotel guests, but otherwise a great place...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    188
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
224
205
32
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We didn't know what to expect of this hotel. We arrived after 10 hours in the car from the Grand Canyon and were really pleased with what we experienced. The location is great, on an inland beach (one within a marina), only 10 or 15 minutes walk from Venice Beach and yet away from the noise of downtown LA. Lots of things to see and do in the vincinity, some really good restaurants nearby and in the hotel itself. It had a real Carribean feel (hence the name I guess) and the staff were geat. Would recommend this little gem

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shighland, General Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear GLondonHerts,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize the staff at Jamaica Bay Inn and recommending us to other travelers! We all take a great deal of pride in providing our guests with the warmest, most genuine service in LA and to hear that we made such an impression on you is delightful. We do hope that when next business or pleasure finds you in Los Angeles we would have the opportunity to welcome you back! Warmest regards.
Shawn Highland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Jamaica Bay Inn is a clean, comfortable and relatively well-located hotel. Despite this, it is not value for money, even for a 3-star in the Venice beach area.

Positives first. A warm welcome and great service from the staff on the front desk. We did not like our first room (ground floor), but arrangements were made to move us the following morning. This was achieved without fuss and our bags were moved for us. Rooms are spacious, clean bathroom with a strong shower and excellent products. The bed was perfect from our perspective – we enjoyed a good night’s sleep across our 3 days at the hotel. Wi-fi is very strong throughout the hotel. Nice touch also with a small refrigerator in rooms for the use of guests.

Our main negatives – apart from the price – was the very small pool area and bar/restaurant. The bar and restaurant became very unappealing to my wife and I. They have a deal for ‘locals’ which is openly advertised (10% off food and drinks) meaning you feel a little bit second class when you are in this part of the hotel. I understand the place needs to make money but we felt staff time, attention and priority was directed at the ‘locals’. When we asked questions about lunch on the Sunday we were told lunch had finished (at 2.15 p.m.?) and we would have to come back at 3.30 p.m. for Happy Hour. We took our money and enjoyed happy hour elsewhere. We also requested a late checkout and were only given 30 minutes to 12.30 otherwise we would have to pay 75% of the full day rate. We only needed the room until 3.00 or 3.30 so we did feel this was poor customer service (the hotel wasn’t full – we asked).

Overall, it is a good 3 star hotel. It was too expensive for what we paid. However; with hindsight, we could have paid a few dollars more for one of the 4 star hotels in Marina del Rey and had the benefit of the chain hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms do not feel secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

When we got there the Hotel was nice. but the elevator was extremely slow plus when we got in the room there were 6 flies in the room and 10 outside on the porch which made the porch unusable. But I went there for a fencing tournament and did not spent a lot of time in the room.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed in 3 different hotels trying to find a beachy base to stay at when visiting our daughter who is in school in LA. Jamaica Bay was the winner! We also stayed at The Beach House (2nd) and Portofino Hotel.
Everyone we dealt with at Jamaica Bay was helpful and friendly. We arrived an hour early and our room was not ready. The staff offered to store our luggage while we went for a walk and they came out to collect our bags and let us leave our car in the valet parking area, even though we hadn't valet parked! We had a great room (307) some people might not like it because it overlooks the restaurant so could be a little noisy with people talking and laughing, but we loved it, great people watching! The Marina is pretty we watched collegiate row teams going out to practice early one morning and lots of paddle boarders, just pleasant to sit and watch the goings on!
The very best part of our stay was happy hour in the restaurant.We were outside, and even though it was August it was breezy and I was cold. The staff quickly brought over a tall heater right next to our table to make it more comfortable. Skye our waitress brought our wine and then recommended her favorite menu items "fish tacos", "calamari", "hummus" and "roasted brussel sprouts and chiles". We had all of them and they were all totally declicious and about $5 each! Great value, great time we will definitely go back to this hotel!
The only negative I can think of is that the walk to the beach, about 15 minutes, is along a fairly busy street so not particularly relaxing, but the hotel makes it worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and had a great stay.

Arrived just after midday and thought we may be too early but were checked in to room quickly. Jonathon on reception was very helpful. Hotel also has free Wifi so easy to plans trips etc.

The food here is wonderfull. The service is great also although appeared to dip at weekend. Special mention to Whitney who was excellent.

Room was superb with large walk in shower. King room also had huge comfy bed. Balcony looked out onto Marina. Hotel was very clean throughout and staff look happy to work here. An excellent hotel and much enjoyed stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shighland, General Manager at Jamaica Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear GlasgowVegas,

Thank you so much for the kind words! Please come back and see us again soon!

Warmly,

Shawn Highland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed four wonderful days. The fantastic greeting from Trema at reception so warm & sincere. The food at the Beachside Restaurant was great, best turkey burger ever! Our server Bryan was very attentive. The room was clean and the beds very comfy. We highly recommend the Jamaica Bay Inn to our family & friends and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with marina view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jamaica Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Bay Inn

Address: 4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamaica Bay Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy onsite dining at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, serving up California coastal cuisine with marina views, take a swim in our heated year-round pool and enjoy our location near Mother’s Beach, Venice and Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Jamaica Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Bay Hotel Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.