We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay close to LAX” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jamaica Bay Inn to your Saves list
Jamaica Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay close to LAX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Warm and welcoming staff from the moment we arrived, very helpful too. The room was great, clean, modern and spacious (great black out curtains meant we all got a great nights sleep despite the time difference). Good restaurant attached too, with a nice selection of food to choose from. The marina itself was lovely, clean beach and perfect for walking along for weary travellers and young children. Short distance to a good restaurant with a playground situated outside too. A short walk (20 mins) to Venice Beach although this seems to be something the locals don't do much of (walking that is!). Overall this worked really well for our family travelling to London from New Zealand and would definitely stay again and have already recommended it to our friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    199
    49
    14
    7
See reviews for
247
227
34
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Jamaica Bay inn is a hidden gem right on the marina and close to Venice Beach. I have stayed twice and it's now my hotel of choice in the area. Get a marina view room it's worth the extra cost. Rooms are spacious and have balconies, maid service is slow but room service is very quick. Nice bar that attracts a few locals, food is excellent, not what you would expect from a hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great hotel. Beautiful room with fireplace. Very quiet, well built hotel on the water. Beautiful views out the restaurant windows of the lagoon. Had a problem with getting coffee in the morning. I went downstairs and waiter wanted my coupon or he said he would charge me $5 for coffee. I said I would bring coupon down in an hour when I came down for breakfast and he said he wanted me to bring it down "right now". I just ignored him and nothing happened but it made me feel uncomfortable. Other than that the stay was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed for a week at the hotel and had a great time. Whilst its a bit out of the way if you dont have a car its an easy walk to Santa Monica pier (I usually did it in about 50 mins) along the beach. Its quiet and clean and the rooms are spacious. The staff at reception were really helpful and always had good ideas of things to do. I'd stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Jamaica Bay has evolved from a beachy motel to a lovely welcoming resort. Located on Mothers' beach, it is a short walk to Yacht Clubs, restaurants, and the quirky Venice Beach. Not a 5 star resort, but personal and comfortable with accommodating staff and clean, well appointed rooms. Great for the business traveler too with easy in and out parking and a friendly restaurant with waterfront/poolside seating and a great happy hour too. Just booked several rooms for folks attending a meeting in MDR. Great rates and everyone was happy too. Very gracious about early and late checkin...not like the big fancy hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alden, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I chose this hotel based on price, it was about $25 less than the Marriott across the street. It was very new, clean, with all the latest amenities and when I checked in I recieved a complimentary upgrade to water view. My only regret was that I did not have more time to spend here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I picked this hotel based on other reviews in Trip Advisor and I could not have been more happier.
The staff are extremely helpful (upon arrival after very long flight from Melbourne, we were given a room straight away even tho we were early..) and very courteous and a pleasure to deal with. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean.Location was superb and within easy walking distance of Venice beach and a only a short bike ride to Santa Monica. I would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to this hotel again and I urge others to try it also. Well done Jamaica Bay Inn !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Bay Inn

Address: 4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamaica Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy onsite dining at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, serving up California coastal cuisine with marina views, take a swim in our heated year-round pool and enjoy our location near Mother’s Beach, Venice and Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jamaica Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Bay Hotel Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.