We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely stay...can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Jamaica Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamaica Bay Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
central coast, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a lovely stay...can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This lovely Inn and the outstanding staff far exceeded our expectations, since this was a last minute trip on Fathers Day weekend. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent customer service, cleanliness and upscale ammenities. We were even offered warm robes on Fathers Day morning as we enjoyed a soak in the hot tub. The front desk staff were all so helpful, especially Erica, and the bellboy who assisted us to our room was outstanding. We look forward to our next get a way to Marina Del Rey!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    197
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
243
220
33
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Jamaica Bay Inn is a top notch hotel with a great staff and a beautifully kept modern hotell. But the real star of the show is the on location resturant the Vu, it has a menu that promises a great deal, and delivers even more. The reason we chose to stay at the Jamaican Bay Inn was the dinner menu for the Vu.
The Vu's chef Kyle Schutte shines among the greates such as Gordon Ramsey, Marcus Samuelsson of Aquavit NY or many of the top resturants in San Francisco. Please pay the Vu a visit, it is a culunary treat that you only come across a few times in your life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Jamaica Bay Inn accepted us on the fly after another area hotel, Foghorn Harbor Inn, could not find our reservations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Starting with the negative... hidden fees... $14/night for self parking - $22 for valet?! Really? Was told "that's actually not bad for this area," by the receptionist. Why not just include it in the advertised price instead of blindsiding customers? I mean, it's the buildings parking lot - it's not like we're parking down the street on some other property's parking lot. I probably won't stay here again specifically for that reason. Why not charge separately for electricity and water as well?! Sheesh. Keep it up travel industry - keep it up... see what happens. :P

Anyhoo... Everything else pretty great though. Restaurant ("Vu") was pretty decent - barmaid was the best - awesome service. Food seemed a little bland though, tiny portions, a bit expensive for the taste.

Room was impeccably decorated though. I had a pretty decent view of the tiny bay. Great sleep. Pretty close to LAX.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

It looks like an average hotel from the outside, but once you leave your car, the entryway and layout takes you far away. The rooms were truly high quality, stylish, comfortable, and eco-friendly.
We felt that the hotel was far better than a 2-3 star rating, yet the price was very good, which is exactly what i look for in a hotel.
The restaurant was fantastic. Each dish was very amusing and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed at the JBI from June 9, 2011 to June 14, 2011. Stayed in the "newer" section. This hotel was wonderful from the front desk Staff, the housekeeping staff, to the Valet staff. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was very good. Also had drinks and appetizers in the afternoon which were wonderful!
The view is also very nice. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed here twice for business: first time was mediocre, the second was really irritating.

The rooms are nice and the staff seems pleasant, but here are the two beefs that have caused me to not go back to this hotel:

1) Came back to the hotel after a long day to discover that the room cards for both my coworker and me had been deactivated (flashing yellow, not red). We had to wait 15 minutes (we were third in line) for the slow desk to help us. And then... she blamed us for deactivating the cards. Seriously? She could have said, "I'm sorry that happened," and just left it at that. But she had to add insult to injury. (By the way, in my experience flashing yellow means "see the front desk" -- which equates to: the hotel's issue, not ours.)

2) I was on the first floor and heard what sounded like water buffalo running above me all night. What can you do about noisy people above you? Not much. Except the situation reminded me an awful lot of staying in motor lodges with my parents on road trips in the '70s. Construction and sound proofing has come a long way since then... except at the Jamaica Bay Inn. Holy cow! It reminded me of the flimsiest type of apartment construction. And I'm still confused at how that could possibly be the case. But some people walk loudly, or their kids run around and a structure has to be built with that in mind. This hotel was not.

So, after this two trip experiment, I'll be going back to the Ritz a half mile down the road where the staff is friendly and helpful and I've never had the need to wear earplugs while trying to get some sleep...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamaica Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Bay Inn

Address: 4175 Admiralty Way, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Family Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marina del Rey
#1 Business Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jamaica Bay Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While here, enjoy onsite dining at Beachside Restaurant & Bar, serving up California coastal cuisine with marina views, take a swim in our heated year-round pool and enjoy our location near Mother’s Beach, Venice and Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Jamaica Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Bay Hotel Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.