We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, old school hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Bridgend, Wales
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice, old school hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Nice location, right on Mothers beach (has been used in CSI Miami as a Miami double!).
We got a warm welcome on check in and the place has a nice relaxed feel. We had a room overlooking the car park, but would book a harbor view next time if we'd know how good the view is. There are books/DVD's to borrow if you're spending time at the hotel, a liquor store/market at the front of the hotel open until 11pm and a Cheesecake factory right next door.

Self service breakfast was included and pretty good with toast/bagels/burrito's, coffee/tea/juices, muffins/danish and cereal, yogurt and fruit, so pretty much something you'll enjoy. We ate breakfast out in the patio area overlooking the beach. There was also a nice sitting area just passed reception. The public areas are decorated in nice bright colours that work well with the beach theme, but the rooms in comparison are a bit more sombre and basic. The beds were OK, but some money spent on new beds and a lick of paint in the rooms would go a long way to complete a very nice homely place to stay, close to LAX.

Although the room furniture may be a bit passed it's best, everything was very clean and well presented. We were also staying elsewhere in California in a 4 star and 5 star hotel, but the Foghorn is a nice change from the sometimes sterile corporate hotels and is a nice relaxed, easy going place to call home for a couple of days.

Finally, free Wi-Fi & parking makes this hotel good value at this location.

Room Tip: Upstairs Marina/Beach view if you plan to spend some time in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We appreciate your thorough review of our hotel. Thank you for your visit and enjoying our many complimentary amenities. You will be glad to know that we have just about completed getting all new pillow top mattresses. We are constantly touching up the paint and décor. During our busy season its hard to get a vacant room to paint or rehab.

Our staff will like your remarks about your friendly welcome. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    95
    41
    8
    15
See reviews for
59
80
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Been trying to find the time to write this since we got home! My husband and I stayed for three nights at the end of February and it was another fantastic experience. Perfect location right on the beach! The rooms are incredibly comfortable and really well appointed- and spotlessly clean.The view from the upstairs balcony rooms over the harbour- twinkly lights, boats pottering around is so pretty +watching the world go by endlessly entertaining! The Foghorn is so convenient to LAX, so a really easy drive after a transatlantic flight.All excellent but what really is makes the Foghorn extra special is the fantastic and welcoming staff- professional, efficient and friendly- they make you feel right at home and clearly take such pride and care in their work. A Huge thank you to all the staff for making us feel so welcome- to Graham, Eileen and Rachel and all! We loved it so much, we just booked again last night for the summer!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend an upper floor bay view room- fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are grateful for your rave reviews on your February stay at our hotel. I know how busy life is & how hard it is to find time for extras. Sometimes it takes me longer to respond to the reviews and it doesn't feel good.

The Marina View side rooms are the best, as you recommend. I will make sure the staff (especially the ones you mentioned) read your review. Thank you so much and we look forward to your summer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Foghorn Harbor Inn last week - I had a King Room on the 1st floor, with a balcony overlooking the beach and found it very comfortable. I thought it was good-value-for money - it felt small enough to be homely, in a good location, within easy reach of Venice Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel comfortable and homey.
Hope to see you again, if you travel this way. Thank you for taking time to review your visit at the Foghorn Harbor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

A strange hotel with some rooms in the basement with enclosed patios overlooking the beach. Our room was one of these and although spacious with comfortable beds, the whole thing was just a bit shoddy and downmarket, as if it needed some money spent on it. The furniture looked home made and cheap, the lock on the patio door was just a hook, a sturdy hook it's true, but a hook none the less. And it is disconcerting to have people walking along the path just outside the glass wall of your patio. No privacy. Some of the staff on reception were very helpful, some were not. The hotel is in a great situation and surrounded by five star establishments, but I would only give this two and a half.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and comments. We are an older, smaller hotel. The way we compete is by offering clean rooms, a decent continental breakfast, free parking and numerous other complimentary amenities. We also offer a much lower price than the 5-star hotels you are referring to and have one of the very best locations in Marina del Rey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We parked our car in the free parking lot, and explored nautical Marina del Rey and Bohemian Venice Beach by foot. We took a second floor, marina-side room, which is our strong recommendation. It was clean and nice. The view was tremendous. We were right on uncrowded Mother's Beach, with a view down the yacht harbor. We entertained our 20-something, LA-living kids on our room's balcony. We walked the paths of the Venice Canals. In the morning, the Venice Pier is a fishing pier, very restful and calming. The Foghorn Hotel (no foghorns!) is probably 15 minutes from LAX, with easy access to the 405 and Orange County. It's a great location. You should be able to tell from the name that it's not a franchise hotel. It's a California one-of-kind.

Room Tip: As I said, get a second floor, marina-facing room, for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We love your comments about our great location - it is hard to beat. We're glad you chose the beachside balcony room, the views are fantastic; fun for people watching and relaxing. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Location is nice, free parking, and terraces in all rooms, friendly staff, bad free breakfast but still, great for visiting friend and family nearby. Would stay again. Try the cheese cake factory close by super cozy with a nice atmosphere, but bad beds...

Room Tip: Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for staying at the Foghorn Harbor Inn while visiting friends Sorry you didn't find the beds comfortable (hope you complained to the management). We strive to improve, so if things are not satisfactory, please let us know. Can't say much about the breakfast, we do not have cooking facilities and the County keeps very close tabs on breakfast items - somewhat limits what we can and cannot offer. Anyway, we hope you come back & enjoy the many good things about our little Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We usually stay at the MDR but wanted something a little smaller and near the water. Foghorn was just what we were looking for. Decent rooms, great staff, excellent fluffy towels, little older 'Bates Motel' type place, I loved it. Nice breakfast places nearby, which is good because (sorry guys) the free breakfast was sad. Will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We are glad you were able to experience our hotel (older) and acknowledge some of our great qualities, Obviously, breakfast was not one of them. We don't have room for a kitchen. Our manager offers a large variety but is always open for suggestions. We thank you for your review and do hope you come back to enjoy our location, friendly staff and fluffy towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location & finest city & Marina views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free shuttle from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.