We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Marina Del Rey
2 reviews
“Great location and nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location is a 5! If you stay you need to spend a couple extra dollars and stay in the rooms directly overlooking Mother's Beach in the Marina. I thought it was a little overpriced though as my room needed painting and minor maintenance. It's an older style motel but you can't beat the location. The staff is friendly, although they said no when I asked about a late check out. Complimentary continental breakfast, with a nice patio overlooking the Marina. Free parking. I would give it more stars but my room could have used easy maintenance.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We had a very busy summer so our maintenance fell a bit behind. We hope to catch up soon. We are glad you were still able to enjoy the friendly staff, complimentary continental breakfast, free parking and the great views from your patio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    95
    41
    8
    15
See reviews for
59
80
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at hotel for 3 nights when first arrived in LA. Nice quiet location with great views from room across marina. Stayed in an upstairs room with balcony. Ideally located next door to the Cheesecake Factory, which is great to walk for a meal and a convenience/liquor store also next door. Also, 5 mins walk to Venice Canals and Venice Beach. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful and were accommodating with our early arrival by allowing us to change clothes and store our bags for the day until our room was ready. Tea/coffee and snacks available in lobby all the time . Room décor is a bit dated, but rooms were clean and bathroom was a reasonable size. Downside was the double beds which I found to be a bit small if you are tall. Hotel offers a great complimentary breakfast selection each day. Free parking at front of hotel was also ideal. We didn't have any issues with noise from other guests.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with balcony overlooking Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are delighted to hear that your first stop in L.A. was at our hotel and you had a great experience. Our location is one of the best in the Marina. We take pride in our small, comfortable environment. Our staff will be happy to hear your comments. They strive to make your stay as welcoming and pleasant, as possible. Please come again, Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Perfect place to stay with beautiful beach/marina views. Comfortable room, with large windows and balcony with the constant view. Hard to make the effort to actually go out sometimes, as just enjoyed being there seeing everything from our room. Very clean and comfortable. Also, being small, was quiet and did not have a hotel feel.
Impressed with the fact that the price to stay included free bus from airport. The fact that the price also included breakfast was a real bonus. This was very good, plenty of choice. The breakfast room never too busy - again due to being a small place. Lovely peaceful spot to eat, looking right onto the beach and water.
Always someone at reception willing to offer advice about area and how to get about.
Right next door to an excellent place to eat out - The Cheesecake Factory.
As we did not have our own transport, really good that the water bus was running for most of our stay and we got all around the marina easily and cheaply - free bus available too!
Would definitely stay again - would consider no-where else if stopping at LA!

Room Tip: We loved having the upper floor room - a small bit extra to pay, but good to have view looking out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and were happy with the room, the 24-hr. staff, extensive continental breakfast,(our manager puts a lot of effort into providing variety and keeping things fresh) and of course, our great location! Apparently not having a car didn't prove to be a problem because of the available transportation and proximity to The Cheesecake Factory and other fine restaurants. Thanks so much for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's not a fancy shmancy hotel BUT location location location. The rooms directly overlook the Marina del Rey ocean bay beach and yachts. That is, you're on a beach. The front parking lot is shared with a small market which is soooo convenient. Next door is a Cheesecake Factory and it's just off Washington Blvd. Turn left and in one minute you're at the ocean boardwalk and restaurant row. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We like your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. You thought the location was great, enjoyed the convenience of the market,The Cheesecake Factory next door and the accessibility of the local attractions all at a good value. Thanks for taking the time to rate your stay. We hope you come again and tell your friends about our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larvik, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotels in this area are quite pricy, or so we thought. With this in mind, The Foghorn is a clean, nice and value for money place to stay. The breakfast included was simple - make it yourself style , but still we were impressed with the number of choices supplied. Eyleen and the rest of the staff gave good advice and directions and were in general very helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of Venice beach, and the rest of LA you'd probably need a car or taxi to reach anyway. The only 'con' we had was that the AC didn't work and although it was a 'quiet' room, opening the terrace door would let traffic noise straight into the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
You traveled a long distance, so thank you for choosing our hotel. We are very glad that you thought our price fair and enjoyed the location and breakfast. I hope that you let the manager or desk clerk know that you air conditioning wasn't working. We try to stay on top of everything so our guests can be comfortable. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A welcome haven after long flight! ...and welcoming friendly staff too. Our comfortable room on upper floor, with balcony and almost directly over the sand seemed paradise to me. Lower floor rooms had large, sheltered patio areas at front. Complimentary self-serve breakfast was more than adequate with good choice; and coffee with snack available all day in Reception. Wish I were there now!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your very welcome comments about our hotel, location and our staff. We wish you were here too! We will share your review with our manager & staff, they always love to hear good remarks; they work hard at being helpful and friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location & finest city & Marina views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free shuttle from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.