We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location funky old motel style accommodations right on the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location funky old motel style accommodations right on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a 2 night stay and this was within our budget For $179 a night you are directly on the beach. We had a lower room with outdoor patio which is boxed in by a plexiglass window. There was a volleyball net about 20 feet away and you have access to the public beach. Despite my concerns about noise it was very quiet at night and safe. Wet for an early am walk around the Marina
Which is quiet. The staff couldn't have been nicer and breakfast with includes hard boiled eggs cereal, yogurt and some fruit bagels coffee is included. The room was fairly clean but the rugs in all the public areas and rooms need shampooing. Fat screen tv microwave but no coffee
Pot in the room. The best part about our stay was the location. Very close to Venice and Whole foods and many restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Foghorn Harbor Inn. It is not new and lacks some of the advantages of the bigger hotels. We make up by offering lower prices and a large selection of complimentary amenities not available at the other hotels. We have one of the best beach front locations in Marina del Rey

We are in the process of having all the carpets cleaned.

We appreciate your time in reviewing our Hotel. All comments help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    95
    41
    8
    15
See reviews for
59
80
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I traveled to Marina del Rey on business in April of this year and was put up in this hotel by my company. I was underwhelmed when I first saw it as it is fairly low key. My opinion changed very quickly the minute I checked in! The staff was WONDERFUL. Very friendly and helpful upon my arrival. The room was a little older in style but the back patio and views were amazing. The location allowed for access to just about any of the local attractions and a ton of great bars and restaurants.

This definitely a place I would stay again even with my family. The lobby area has a library of DVDs you can check out free of charge as well as unlimited free snacks. Also, right outside the hotel is a beach area with volleyball and other activities. My kids would love it!

Room Tip: Request the bottom floor, the patio is large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for the comments regarding your April stay at our hotel. We appreciate the time our visitors take to post on Trip Advisor, especially when they are good. We hope you will come back. Look into our package offer and treat your family to The Cheesecake Factory, next door. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Absolutely brilliant hotel/motel, only 10min walk away from Venice beach and only a short drive away from Santa Monica.
The rooms were lovely and there is a store right next door.
The breakfast in the morning is lovely, and there is a great selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our little hotel. We try to keep it fresh, clean and with many complimentary amenities to choose from. Our manager takes great care in the breakfast choices. If you haven't tried the Cheesecake Factory next door you should look into the package we offer. Their menu is fabulous. We look forward to you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We used to live in Marina del Rey and have stayed at the Foghorn a number of times since moving away. On our most recent trip, we were more impressed than ever by this modest 1970s-style motel for its cleanliness and the customer care. First, you are right on "the beach" (even though Mother's Beach is among the most polluted in L.A. because there is not enough tidal outflow). Second, you can walk or bike to interesting places like Venice and Santa Monica. L.A. is a difficult place to be without a car, but from this location, visitors can cover quite a bit of territory West of Hwy 405 by foot, bike or bus. Third, even though this is in no way a deluxe facility, it is clear the management and staff are trying hard to make guests feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: In this two-story motel, all rooms have either beach-level enclosed terraces or balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Foghorn and your review. We are very glad that you noticed the improvements and that you have stayed with us and choose to return. All of our staff try very hard to please the guests. The maids put a lot of effort into keeping the hotel clean (which is harder to do with an older establishment). The manager is constantly working on keeping the breakfast varied, fresh and bountiful. We are fortunate to have one of the best locations in Marina del Rey. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My fiance and I are from Vancouver, BC, Canada and had traveled to Disneyland at the beginning of July - from there we went to Marina Del Rey and stayed in the Foghorn Inn. It surpassed our expectations by far! It is intimate but spacious for an inn, has a GORGEOUS location, attached to a market with a deli and liquor, right beside the amazing cheesecake factory, and only a five - ten minute walk from Venice beach!

The hotel isn't brand new but it is far from old. Extremely well maintained, aesthetically pleasing and outstanding location. Our room was large, with a King bed (I had the best sleeps of my life there) and spacious balcony on the marina side (we paid $30.00 a night for an upgrade and it is oh so worth it). There was a fridge, microwave and wall mounted TV, free DVDs to borrow in the lobby, a large variety of breakfast is provided downstairs, and the staff is sooo friendly. We were so sad to leave and will definitely go back. Free parking was included but we didn't have a car and used their free shuttle vouchers to and from the airport (which is nearby). Santa Monica is also a short and insanely beautiful bike ride away. The overall atmosphere of the hotel is a 11/10!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the ocean view room for sure - priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. What we lack in size, we try to make up for by offering other incentives like our many complimentary amenities. The view is probably one of the very best in Marina del Rey. Thank you for staying with us, posting the pretty pictures of the Marina view and your wonderful comments. Please hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent location! Had a second floor room overlooking the bay. Room was adequately furnished with comfortable beds, refrigerator and microwave. Loved watching the sunset from the balcony. Hotel also has free parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. The sunsets are wonderful from the patio. If you are an early riser the sunrise is amazing, as well. Location, location, location, that really speaks for itself. We do take pride in our comfortable rooms, friendly staff and many free amenities. We hope you visit us again and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just checked out of this hotel today (6/2) and immediately came home to write this review. This hotel is not as modern as some of the others close by but that was not an issue for me. A friend of mine booked this hotel on a whim and we are sure glad things worked out that way! I stayed on the lower lever with an epic marina view. The rooms were clean and the staff was by far the most helpful I have ever experienced when staying in a hotel. The front desk clerk (I wish I could remember her name) went out of her way to make sure we were happy. This hotel has the best access to the beach in comparison to its neighbors. The Cheesecake factory is literally next door and only about a 40 second walk, which was great because their outdoor patio section is full of heat lamps and beautiful fire pits with lounge seating if you just want to sit out and look at the marina while having a cocktail as the day ends. I am already planning my next trip back to stay here. It was also only about four miles to the Santa Monica Pier and even closer to Venice Beach which is where we spent our time when we chose to leave the hotel. Great location!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower level facing the marina if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
It makes us so happy when our guests are pleased with our hotel, location and staff. We try very hard (owners, management and entire staff) to offer clean, friendly and comfortable accommodations for our visitors. Thank you so much for your timely and favorable review. We welcome your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location & finest city & Marina views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free shuttle from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.