We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Unhelpful, Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cheesecake Factory Pkg.
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Marina del Rey
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dirty, Unhelpful, Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had a car booked through the hotel to collect us from the airport.
It didn't show up, and the night-attendant at the desk was rude about it - no apology.

The room was not pleasant - I've put up photos for you all to look at. We had a bathroom which was falling apart, an AC which didn't work and a fridge which was very noisy. Mattress was from the 70s. It felt like I was lying on about four springs total.

The lovely view was of the bins outside, full of trash, and a ladder before leading up to the car parks.

Breakfast was a few plastic wrapped muffins and some travel sized packet cereal.

Don't stay here - it's horrible and the people are very unfriendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
So sorry you had such an unpleasant experience. Hope you notified the manager or staff regarding your concerns (and the name of the rude desk clerk.)

You were staying in the only room w/o a view. We will look into improving what we are able to in that particular room. We have 3 other room types with views & patios.

You commented on our breakfast offerings, what would you suggest? We have quite an extensive selection without having the option of a kitchen for cooking.

We are always trying to do better so please let us hear your suggestions.



d.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    103
    43
    8
    15
See reviews for
66
89
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night after flight into LA before moving on. Excellent location as only short drive from LAX and perfect for Venice Beach. Welcoming staff which was appreciated after a long flight. Basic room but overlooking the marina. Free coffee 24 hours and very good self service breakfast included.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Please come again and take advantage of our breakfast, competitive prices and many free amenities. The surrounding area has many fine restaurants (including the Cheesecake Factory next door) and plenty to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had to be near the airport after an overnite in LA. This place was one of the cheapest places I could find with 2 beds and a balcony near the water last minute. I would agree that it is a slightly aging motor inn BUT it is well managed with very friendly, helpful staff and is very clean. It had free wifi and tea and coffee were available 24/7 We left before breakfast but were told by others that it was decent. We had an upstairs room with view on the marina. Paid 200. all up but I couldnt find anything--even nearer the airport for less at the time. It was a quiet location.

Room Tip: I'd take an upper floor room. Beach side rooms on lower level have enclosed patios and though la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel recently. Your positive review is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon. We hope it will be a longer stay in the future so you are able to take full advantage of our amenities and the many area attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed on business trip. Comfortable room, friendly staff, great view of marina. Appreciated fridge and microwave in room. Only complaint, and pointed out by others, weak wifi signal. Sign of today's reality: was on wifi a lot and never turned on tv once.

Room Tip: Rooms at southern end are close to dish room of Cheesecake Factory next door. Was a little loud afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Foghorn Harbor Inn and for your nice review. You mentioned a return visit; we hope you take advantage of our many free amenities and the area attractions and great restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Found on the Internet, great little motor lodge, a bit dated, but that made it even more charming, had a lower level room, wonderful patio with harbor view and nice little harbor beach, beach access was just a few steps away (bring your own beach chairs, and stuff). Beds were very nice, room was small, but did to plan to spend much time in room, staff was very friendly, food was close. I would recommend booking directly with the hotel, not a reseller. We are planning to return for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor room in the center of inn,some rooms are facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Sorry, I thought I responded to your message. It was not indicated by Tripadvisor. Thank you for staying with us and paying nice compliments to our little hotel. We are always eager to please and always trying to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked this 2 story hotel via Hotwire because it looked decent and was in a good location. However, it's barely a 2 star hotel at best. It's old and needs some updating. Once we arrived and asked for an upstairs room with a marina view, we were told that would be an extra $30.00. If we didn't take that, we'd be in a low level, parking lot view room that has the ambient light of a dungeon. The room was clean, the towels were clean. The TV is upgraded. However, it has the appearance of a dorm room, complete with freestanding mini-fridge and a microwave placed on a table. The beds were okay, but the linen is showing some age. The rest of the room seems stuck in an early 60's style. We were told the room came with free wifi, but could never get it too work with either a laptop or ipad. Breakfast is an assortment of items you're college student would buy at the grocery store if you gave them $20.00 and told them you need to feed 50 people. Coffee, juice, milk, individual muffins wrapped in cellophane, yogurt, small boxes of cereal and fruit. I give it a C-. Actually, make that a D+ because the coffee creamer was a packet of whitener. Really?
The staff were nice and friendly. We walked to Venice Beach (about 3/4 mile away.) There is a liquor store that shares the same parking lot, so that was a plus! There is also a Cheesecake Factory that shares a common wall on the south side of the property (which abutted our room in fact.) The noise didn't bother us, but a light sleeper might be affected. At least getting a desert was easy...just walk around the liquor store and treat yourself to great cheesecake.
Overall, if I needed to stay on the westside, I'd probably spend the extra money to get a better property. This place was still over $200.00, which is pretty high for me. In most places, I'd expect to pay $75 for a similar room.

Room Tip: Upper level, beach view. It costs more, but if you're staying there, you might as well get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at our hotel, although quite negative.

The Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel is "older". We are the lowest priced hotel in Marina del Rey, including those located on Washington Blvd., away from the beach & marina.

We offer free amenities (not offered by other Marina Hotels): Parking, shuttle service, DVD use, lobby computer with a printer, 24-hr coffee & snacks, an upgraded continental breakfast with microwavable hot food and a host of other food and beverage choices. We are aware of the issues with the WiFi and are diligently working on changing carriers for more reliable connectivity.

We strive to do our best. We upgrade our bedding, towels, decorations, etc. to keep our premises clean and welcoming. Disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed the night in the hotel as I was passing through on business. The room I had was in the front of the hotel facing the street. Not a big deal as I wasn't there for the view. However while the room looked clean - it wasn't. The blanket on the bed was stained - I promptly asked for a replacement. That gave me pause and I slept on top of the bed. The room had a dank odor. It was not dusted. The patio was filthy. It was long overdue for a pressure wash, especially since it faces the street. The Internet did not work. The breakfast is made up of pre-packaged items all wrapped in plastic. The beach patio is nice at least. Competitively the place is outdated. The decor is something straight out of the 80's. The carpet probably needs a good cleaning, which is probably where the smell came from. And the "sanitized for your protection" wrapper on the toilet seat was laughable.
When I told the GM in the morning, he pointed to his 4 starts from TA and said everyone loves them. When I pointed out that may be the case but my room was not cleaned well. His excuse? "It's the busy season, we've staffed up and we try to do the best we can". If it is your busy season, then wouldn't you be working 3x harder to keep the rooms in tip top condition?
Customer service here is questionable. The fact that all he could do was apologize yet continuously praise his TA ratings makes me now VERY suspect about TA ratings in general.
Avoid this hotel - spend a few extra dollars and get a nice clean room with better service. Otherwise be forewarned.

Room Tip: Considering the other reviews, ask for one facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siri O, Guest Relations Manager at Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We apologize the room was not up to standard during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We will use it as an example for the GM & the cleaning staff for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel

Address: 4140 Via Marina, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina del Rey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marina del Rey
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marina del Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, but big on details. "Diamond in the rough". Great location & finest city & Marina views. Cheesecake Factory Restaurant next door (package available). Close to Venice Boardwalk. Extensive complimentary continental breakfast, 7:00 am to 10:00 am. Coffee in lobby 24/7 with snacks. Free shuttle from LAX, on-site parking,free WiFi in all rooms, DVD's & desk-top computer with printer in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foghorn Harbor Hotel Marina Del Rey
Hotel Foghorn Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foghorn Harbor Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.