We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for espresso and croissant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canali Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Canali Cafe
123 Washington Blvd, Marina del Rey, CA 90292
(310) 822-5379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 117 Restaurants in Marina del Rey
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
los angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good for espresso and croissant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

great location, food so so, I will reccomend this place just for coffe and croissants.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“European-feel Cafè:authentic, good quality food in Er”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The owners, a real Italian chef and his wife, an excellent baker, care about food. They have been adjusting their menu to local tastes, but it's all good. In the last year or so they've added pizzas that look wonderful on the menu but I've yet to try them.There's a large, high-ceilinged inside room with a European bakery display case. The baked goods are made with good quality ingredients and are wonderful There are also 2 flat screen tvs (on mute) on opposite walls so sports fans don't have to miss their games. The outdoor seating is nice, but occasionally bus exhaust can spoil things for a few
moments. Breakfast is better than usual fare: ricotta blueberry
pancakes and a combination bowl of oatmeal & some other grain along with omelets & fritattas. Salads are good too. I love
their onion soup which seems to be "just right" with the right touch of salt, but hands-down my favorite thing to order is their fish, particularly the Filet of Sole (Soglio Mugnaia?) and the Organic Salmon. At $16 and $17 respectively, I think it's a deal for the quality and fine taste. Have also had the Chicken Piccata & loved it, and I just recalled the Beet & Arugula salad with walnuts....delicious. The atmosphere is usually calm and friendly. I love good coffee, so when I first saw " Lavazza" I
knew I found my cafè. There's also a big assortment of teas both organic and non. The only cons I'd mention is that it seems there's a constantly revolving staff -- only the
busboys seem to be more or less permanent. I've also experienced a kind of brittleness by a blonde at the register.
Recently we brought 3 European friends to the Canali, telling them it was the best quality food on the block but since it was
about 9:30 and close to closing time (10pm?) we were turned
away. I can understand it, because only one couple was lingering over dessert on the patio and they wanted to close down the kitchen, but I don't know if the owners would have liked to know another $75 bucks or so was turned away.
But aside from these fixable issues with employees, I do recommend the Canali for good quality, healthier food
served attractively, and usually by friendly and attentive
servers.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

They make a great granola, excellent pancakes and top-notch coffee. A good place to watch people go by, and the free wifi is reliable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great but dark and sexy Beach Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a cool place to meet - your friends or new players in your life.

Thehuge piece of art by Derrick Van Nimwiggen is worth the trip!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

A great place for lunch or dinner. We stopped by on a trip down the coast. This intimate restaurant is just far enough away from the beach to be away from the tourist crowd. It has a nice local vibe to it. We had an angel hair pasta dish that was absolutely delicious, and topped it off with a walnut banana cake that was the best we've ever had. Service was fantastic, and the owner came out and personally thanked us coming to the restaurant. Turns out she is the one that bakes the desserts. We had a great time and will go back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canali Cafe also viewed

Marina del Rey, CA
Marina del Rey, CA
 
Marina del Rey, CA
 

Been to Canali Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canali Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.